Please Assist Renal Kitty w/E-Tube & Lantus Dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren & Roy

Member Since 2012
Thank you for this great resource!
My cat Roy, a "miracle boy" survived 5+ hour double/stent surgery for his single blocked kidney in late June 2011.
Been doing great all year and posted near perfect creatinine.
Recently Dx'd 2.5 weeks ago w/diabetes. Lantus dosing w/numbers very high & up and down. No ketones.
Original decision for kd food to protect his one kidney; now switching to kd/dm combo to stabilize numbers.
Willling to be tight or lose protocol -- whichever gets him in remission/well.
Any recommendations so greatly appreciated.
Thank you all,
New: Lauren & "Rock Star" Roy
 
Hi Lauren-

I just wanted to say "welcome" to the group. Unfortunately I personally don't know much about renal or e-tube issues, but I know there are people here who are well versed, so sit tight...I'm sure someone will be along shortly.

Roy sounds like a very lucky kitty to have you, and we look forward to getting to know you better!

Amy (& Trixie)
 
Welcome, Lauren.

I want to make sure I'm reading your spreadsheet (SS) correctly. Usually, we put the Lantus dose in the columns labeled "U" (for units). It looks like you're putting your dose in the "Remarks" section. If I'm reading this correctly, you are giving a different dose at AM and PM shot times.

Lantus likes consistency. You tend to get less than desirable numbers if you give different doses at each shot time. Lantus is a depot-type of medication. As such, if you give a different amount of insulin at each shot, the dose never has time to stabilize, you lose the benefit of the overlap between shots, and numbers just get weird. Given what Roy's numbers are looking like, I would consider giving him 1.0u at AM and PM shot times.

The K/D diet is not helping matters. It is very high in carbs (29%). DM may be better (7%) but it is a very poor source of quality protein (the prescription diets are mostly animal by-products vs. muscle meat) and is high in phosphorus. You may want to consider switching to low phosphorus foods which are better for renal health.

As you switch over to a lower carb food, I'd encourage you to monitor carefully. Changing over to low carb food can cause blood glucose numbers to drop.

Please let us know how we can help. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge.
 
Welcome, Lauren and Roy,

The "Welcome to the Group" informational "Sticky" at the top of the forum has a section on low-carbohydrate canned foods (dry foods are not recommended for feline diabetics--or for any cats, for that matter). Most of us feed the commercial brands, since the prescription foods are of generally poor quality. "Janet's and Binky's List" in the Welcome to the Group sticky lists the carb content of many brands. We focus on low-carb foods (up to 8% carbs) and use medium-carb and high-carb foods as aids to raise blood glucose levels if they get too low. This is important reading.

If you have not already done so, you might visit the extremely informative internet site dealing with Chronic kidney disease:
http://felinecrf.org/index.htm

There is also an assisted feeding group on Yahoo that many people here have joined and found to be extremely valuable.
http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/Feline-Assisted-Feeding/
Karrie (Maverick) may be along later to give you some good information on assisted feeding.

There's a lot to learn, but you will find help here. We all want the best for Roy,

Welcome again,

Ella & Rusty
 
Newbie Roy-Thank You All & Better Numbers-Dosing Info Reques

Thank you All!
Roy's numbers somewhat better and appreciate your assistance.
I realize now the Lantus dosing shouldn't be variable.
However the highs and lows were concerning.

Why dramatic swing this morning between +10.5 @ 167 and pre-shot +12@441?

Roy's food is now 50kd/50dm and we will switch to better quality food, wellness, etc. but wanted this stabilized.
Roy is strong with e-tube one functional kindey, so I was wondering is it better to stay @ 50/50 to protect kidney?
Or should we continue food transition to 100% dm type food; wouldn't insulin need to be adjusted per fewer carbs?

Want to keep him as stable as possible yet really wanted to be in the good colors consistently.

Any of your experienced suggestions very welcome. Appreciation to all your collective wisdom. Thank you All!

Lauren & Roy


Lauren & Roy.
 
Lauren:

Welcome to Lantus Land! I was wondering if you could please open a new condo for today....that way it will catch more eyes. Just click on "new topic" and in the subject line put:

5/13 Roy +10.5 167 +12 441 ???

If you could perhaps copy/paste your question abvoe into the new condo, I can link condos for you and we could go from there. We do one condo per cat each day....if we let them continue day after day, it gets to be too much.

Thank you so much. See you in a new condo!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top