Please Advise, Shooting Options for Harley

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone,

I'm looking for advice/options on dosing for Harley. For those who have been following my threads, he's on mini doses of PZ (a skinny 0.2 bid) and holds nice medium-lower blue numbers. His BG drops off sharply between +2-4 and then starts to climb. (He also appears to get hypo symptoms in the low 60s, so the range I have to work with is rather limited.) Around +6 he's usually on his way up to his PS number. Seems like the insulin is not lasting the full 12 hours.

Right now I'm working with adjusting the % carbs. for his pre-shot meals to see if I can keep him from dropping so sharply. But I'm also trying to keep an open mind and explore other ways of shooting. I've read a few posts on +6 shots and/or tid dosing.

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts/suggestions whether or not he's a good candidate for either approach, and if so, how to do them.

Thanks!
 
The problem I see, Laura, with TID testing is that you need to divide your dose into thirds. So, if you are giving 0.4 a day (0.2 twice daily), that would be around 0.1? Really hard to measure consistently. What you might consider to measuring out a "drop" - literally a drop and try that every 8 hours. I would only do it on a day I was going to be around all day. It might be what he needs to finally get OTJ, but who knows?

The other idea is the carb deal. Have you sent a pm to Hillary & Maui? She manipulated the carbs with a cat she was catsitting who was on PZI. It worked for her. I am not sure of the details, but am sure she would be glad to share.

Somewhere there is an explanation of how to measure a drop - seems like it is a Levemir Mom. Maybe Johnna will know.

I do think his hypo symptoms are interesting - that he acts like a hypo in the 60s. Never heard of this before.


Edited - not every 6 hours but instead 3 times a day instead of twice. sorry, said it two different ways.
Not much help, I'm afraid. Hope others will have suggestions.
 
Resounding NO to +6 shots. I don't know of anyone who does that on a regular basis, IMO it is fairly risky.

TID is an option, but the rule is to be sure you always have a rising #, which means you need at least 6 tests in every 24 period. Might not sound like a lot if you are already testing a lot, but I tried it briefly and found it exhausting. Especially the nighttime cycle. As well as hard to get the dose right. But some have done it successfully (I think Hope & Ari and Michelle & Pru, both in the Recent Remissions thread I think), and might be able to advise you. I'm not saying I think that's necessarily a good route for you to try, I really don't know, sorry.
 
Ok, looked at his #s and have a couple thoughts:

- Might be worth trying a lower dose and seeing what happens. I'm thinking since you are getting a good drop, you may still see a good nadir. When you know their pancreas works some, the goal I've been told is to support their pancreas without overwhelming it. I'm wondering if maybe the 0.2 is overwhelming? Maybe a .15 or .1 is worth a try?

- I have a hard time when looking at his #s distinguishing lack of insulin duration from just normal trending. I mean, sometimes he is flat from mid-cycle to the next PS - when it's in those low blues, it's hard to know if that is good or bad really. For most cats it would be awesome, but since for him those are higher #s, hmmm.

Well, sorry that's probably not much help. :roll: Wish I had some answers for you.
 
Joanna: Inquiring minds want to know, what is unadvisable about +6 shots? I'm not disagreeing with you (too new and don't know enough) but would like to understand the thought process.

I'm on board with the dose reduction. After my third night of keeping watch, I came to the same conclusion that this is not a good dose for him too stressful for body and pancreas. The new dose will probably end up being the one that I can measure the easiest, 0.10 or 0.15. Very scientific. :lol:

Sue: Jannelle of Janelle and Nomad posted within the past few days an update on her guy in Health and she mentioned in her post that he too is carb. sensitive and exhibited hypo symptoms in the 60s. It's probably pretty rare though. For some reason, Harley's body seems to like to work at higher numbers, that's why I wasn't sure if this was just him or a side effect of the disease that needed to be worked through - like liver training. I'm learning a lot about my boy.

I've been checking out Alexia & Blue's SS and will check out Hillary & Maui looking at their food combinations. I've also been looking at the remissions thread and the SS's which is where I saw that some have done tid with PZ. If I'm going to try it, I'm on vacation from work next week and could give it a whirl.

You've both given me some great things to think about, thank you!!! If I have to give him insulin for the rest of his life, I'm prepared to do so and won't regret it. But it'd be a shame if he didn't have every chance to get off of it and be a normal kitty.
 
You want to be sure you are past nadir, and though many cats nadir at or before +6, it's not really reliable. We have seen a lot with later nadirs, so you risk the shot you give at +6 taking effect while the original shot is still at nadir, and then it's a double whammy and you can have lows you don't want. The idea with shooting early is to have the second shot kick in once the #s are going up from the 1st shot so that you get good overlap. But you can only do that if you know you are truly past nadir and the #s are actually going up. Otherwise it is risky and you can get scary results.

When I think of TID I think of cats who get a pattern like say:

AMPS 400
+6 100
+8 250
+10 300
PMPS 400

When you see something like that you start thinking if you could give the shot at +8 or +10, you could head off those high #s, give them a longer ride in good #s, and keep out of a pattern of wide swings from PS to nadir. Since Harley's pattern is totally different from that it doesn't make me think of TID. Not to say it might not be a good strategy for him, just to say that it doesn't jump out at me that he doesn't get enough duration from BID. Typically if the PSs are 200 or below, that's considered good duration.
 
Ah, I see now. Yeah, +6 shots would be uber risky in his case. If my timing is off he could really dive. No thanks.

Guess I'll start with the dose reduction, tinkering with carbs in food and maybe those 29 gauge, 1/2" needles - and put tid on the back burner for now. :mrgreen:
 
Thanks for the link Sue! I may need that someday soon. I think someone (maybe you) mentioned practicing using water with food coloring in it. :idea:
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Yeah, lowered dose doesn't look like the ticket. Glad you raised back up tonight. :?

No it was not. At least today. Maybe earlier this week it would have been. I'm not sure why the higher #'s I wonder if it was too many carbs. too fast on a weak pancreas.

But, on the bright side - he's zooming so it gives me something to work with. Trying to see the glass half full.
 
Hi Laura,

Got your PM and wanted to reply in here. You may want to start a new topic as this one may grow.

Also before I get into anything I just want to acknowledge that I have not read all of you past topics and I do not want to mess up anyone else advice they may have given you with my psudo drive-by here.

In your PM you basically say that there are no other health things going on. Is the vet happy with Harley's teeth condition? Is Harley indoor only? I'm not particularly suspicious here but it's worth asking.

I'm big on free feeding [when possible] since it worked for H - that's just my slant. Does Harley ever run out of food - is there ever a period that he does not have food? Have you tried fee feeding? Any objections to that? Is your kitty obese/overweight or do you have a hoover kitty? Any reason the civie can't free feed? According to SACN, normal cats should eat 10-20 small meals per 24/hr. Free feeding helps approximate this.

I support using food to effect the curve. But I generally suggest people have run all the "easy" traps before adding more variables to the equation. I generally view the process as one of removing the variables though careful attention to detail. Then if you are still not achieving your goals then to make adjustments as needed. And in your case it seems you might be so close to not needing any insulin that adding carbs might be??

Mixing/timing in the different carb flavors - and getting that to work with free feeding is a little bit of a head scratcher but potentially possible?

IMHO free feeding is also optimal from a hypo perspective. Cats that have food available seem to try to self correct and eat food when they run low-ish. I think I would have gone crazy not knowing my kitty had food available for him to eat if he 'thought' he was running low.

Speaking of that what are your goals? You seem to be pretty darned well regulated.

On the dosing you seem to be doing a pretty good job. Your nadirs are not too low and you are keeping things remarkably under control. There are a time or two in there that I might have gotten a hair more aggressive in upping the dose when he was trending up from one PS to another but I think as time goes on and you gain more confidence that sort of thing might become more intuitive to you. You eventually develop a personal comfort level about things.

As far as the amount of insulin you are giving, obviously it is very little. The thought is that early nadirs with ProZinc tend to happen when the dose is not enough. I'm not saying up the dose to .4u or more next cycle or more or anything like that. I think you are doing good making the small changes you are making. Big picture wise it doesn't really matter where the nadir happens if you are happy with all the numbers. And I'm not sure how much too is from that and the pancreas working/sputtering & doing it's thing in conjunction with food.

I took H to see a specialist once and when he saw that H was on approx .4u and I asked about hypo they said something to the effect that they had never seen a cat hypo on .4u. I'm not saying a cat won't hypo on .4u, but I'm just sharing what I was told [and I disagreed with some of their other input]. I'll just say that with doses of .4u and less above 100 or so [and confidence he always had food available] I tended not to worry much with H. Again, I think your personal comfort level is just something that has to build up over time. ECID, and each cat changes over time too.

You seem to test a lot at night and during the day which is good if you can handle that. I had to sleep at night. I-) So I was more cautious in my PM dosing. If I wanted to have any confidence building exercises I would try to make them happen during the day and when I was ready to test. So I'm not sure when the best time for you would be, but my advice is to build up that confidence level hopefully on a time that works for you [although it doesn't always work out that way].

I think you mentioned something about Harley not liking re-heated food - and that's a good thing. Heating food in the microwave can destroy nutrients in the food. Personally I'm not a fan of the re-heating thing. Are you adding water to the food? If you left water out that was room temp to add to the food [I like using a $0.99 ketchup/mustard style squirt bottle from Wal-Mart for water] that might help to augment the cold temps of the fridge and also soften the food up if the texture is what might be a problem with the cold food.

When I see the super low doses like that I wonder if there is any way to squeak out any marginal improvements. It's almost like you are teetering on the on the cusp. I think Robin had mentioned to me recently that she had a marginal improvement with feeding raw. I ended up cooking for H making a "food improver" that lowered the carbs a little [and lowered the fat].

I think Lori has talked in the past about how it was recommended to her at one time when she was checking to see if Tom was wanting to go OTJ if she would not shoot until numbers got into the low-mid 200s. Another shooting strategy is as-needed dosing. But honestly I'm more for sticking to the 12/12 and keeping them low for a while then if you like checking every now and then to see how they do without insulin. It's can be a little bit of a bummer though because when it's clear they need insulin it can take a while to bring them back down slowly/over time.

I feel like I'm rambling and probably not making good points so I think I'm going to take a break for tonight. :smile:

All in all it looks like you guys are doing very, very well. You have a lot to be happy with. :smile:
 
Gator & H (GA) said:
Hi Laura,

Got your PM and wanted to reply in here. You may want to start a new topic as this one may grow.

Also before I get into anything I just want to acknowledge that I have not read all of you past topics and I do not want to mess up anyone else advice they may have given you with my psudo drive-by here.

Hey Gator, thanks for the drive-by. The car-hop mice on skates will be out to take your order shortly.

Gator & H (GA) said:
In your PM you basically say that there are no other health things going on. Is the vet happy with Harley's teeth condition? Is Harley indoor only? I'm not particularly suspicious here but it's worth asking.

Harley is an indoor only kitty. Overall his dental health is good. He does have 1 tooth that the vet and I are watching and it's his right fang - the tip is broken off. It's been like that ever since I adopted him and every time I take him in to the vet we have the same conversation: I ask her to check it out and ask if it's time for it to be removed. Whenever he has his teeth cleaned I always sign an extraction order so she can remove it if need be. So far each time she has examined it she says that the tip is gone but the dentin is not exposed and therefore she doesn't want to remove it since it's still a viable tooth. This is our one area of disagreement. I may seek a second opinion on that though. He does not show overt signs of pain when eating but we all know how good cats are at hiding pain.

Gator & H (GA) said:
I'm big on free feeding [when possible] since it worked for H - that's just my slant. Does Harley ever run out of food - is there ever a period that he does not have food? Have you tried fee feeding? Any objections to that? Is your kitty obese/overweight or do you have a hoover kitty? Any reason the civie can't free feed? According to SACN, normal cats should eat 10-20 small meals per 24/hr. Free feeding helps approximate this.


As I mentioned in my PM I feed my cats 4 times a day on a modified free feeding schedule. They have set meal times where I put out the food for them. My civvie Princess is a hover kitty and inhales her food in one sitting. She'd eat Harley's too if I'd let her. But Harley is a natural-born grazer and does not eat all his food when I set it out. He typically eats 1/2 to 1/3 of his food right away and then returns to eat the rest later. While on insulin, he's been using his uneaten food from each meal to regulate his blood sugar when it drops fast to avoid hypo. Smart cat. So the reason for the 4 times a day feeding is so he can always have fresh food available to him (he hates frozen, refrigerated and warmed up food, and dried up food that's been sitting all day - won't touch it.). I do add water to both cats food, between 3-4 tbs, each time I set it out. It helps to keep his food fresher.

Gator & H (GA) said:
I support using food to effect the curve. But I generally suggest people have run all the "easy" traps before adding more variables to the equation. I generally view the process as one of removing the variables though careful attention to detail. Then if you are still not achieving your goals then to make adjustments as needed. And in your case it seems you might be so close to not needing any insulin that adding carbs might be??

Mixing/timing in the different carb flavors - and getting that to work with free feeding is a little bit of a head scratcher but potentially possible?

The carb/mixing thing was an experiment to see if I could cushion those fast drops that his body just does not like. I'm dispensing with that now. I found out through trial and error that it tends to drive up the blood sugar and that may be what happened to him this week. Live and learn I guess.

Gator & H (GA) said:
IMHO free feeding is also optimal from a hypo perspective. Cats that have food available seem to try to self correct and eat food when they run low-ish. I think I would have gone crazy not knowing my kitty had food available for him to eat if he 'thought' he was running low.

I agree 100%. I work M-F (on vacation this week) and since he seems to nadir +3-4, I'm not home when he hits bottom and I'd go out of my mind if he didn't have food available to him when I'm not here. That's one of the reasons for the modified free-feeding plan I have going. He seem to do pretty well at bringing himself up so long as he has food in his dish. I do my monitoring and experimenting at night because I'm here to catch him if he should fall too far.

Gator & H (GA) said:
Speaking of that what are your goals? You seem to be pretty darned well regulated.

I guess I have two goals for him. 1) If it's possible to position him to go off insulin, I'd like to give him that opportunity. So my thought process to achieve that (or lack thereof) is to have him spend as much time as possible and safely in a range below 130, and for him alone, above 80. If there's a scientific name for that plan, I don't know it. I'm just observing one cat. :smile: In his case, I've observed that he seems to like to work at higher numbers than some cats. The 2 times that he's thrown me low numbers without provocation they have been in the 90s. He's also pretty comfortable in the low 100s. My working hypothesis is that those are likely to be his "normal" range.

On the low end of the scale, twice now he has shown me possible hypo symptoms in the low 60s and demanded food with an H-like yowl. In the 70s he's looking for his food but not yowling for it. I'm still not sure if it's the numbers themselves he doesn't like or the sharp drops that typically proceed them. But to be safe, I'm trying to avoid those numbers because that usually means avoiding the sharp drops too.

2) If it's not possible for him to go off of insulin then I'd like to give him a good quality of life and maintain him on insulin.

Gator & H (GA) said:
On the dosing you seem to be doing a pretty good job. Your nadirs are not too low and you are keeping things remarkably under control. There are a time or two in there that I might have gotten a hair more aggressive in upping the dose when he was trending up from one PS to another but I think as time goes on and you gain more confidence that sort of thing might become more intuitive to you. You eventually develop a personal comfort level about things.

As far as the amount of insulin you are giving, obviously it is very little. The thought is that early nadirs with ProZinc tend to happen when the dose is not enough. I'm not saying up the dose to .4u or more next cycle or more or anything like that. I think you are doing good making the small changes you are making. Big picture wise it doesn't really matter where the nadir happens if you are happy with all the numbers. And I'm not sure how much too is from that and the pancreas working/sputtering & doing it's thing in conjunction with food.

I took H to see a specialist once and when he saw that H was on approx .4u and I asked about hypo they said something to the effect that they had never seen a cat hypo on .4u. I'm not saying a cat won't hypo on .4u, but I'm just sharing what I was told [and I disagreed with some of their other input]. I'll just say that with doses of .4u and less above 100 or so [and confidence he always had food available] I tended not to worry much with H. Again, I think your personal comfort level is just something that has to build up over time. ECID, and each cat changes over time too.

Thanks for the encouragement on the dosing! I'm a bit of a chicken when it comes to flirting with hypo numbers. I've seen hypo first-hand, not with Harley but with a DC from my childhood we treated for 2 years on Humalin and I know what can happen.

The only way I see my way clear to increasing the dose in a safe manor and not put him as hypo. risk is to increase the dose by switching to tid shooting by adding in another shot with the same dose. (For those who are lurking and reading, this is not usually how tid is done! Do not try this at home.) I'm on vacation this week and can try it and evaluate to see how it is working.

Gator & H (GA) said:
You seem to test a lot at night and during the day which is good if you can handle that. I had to sleep at night. I-) So I was more cautious in my PM dosing. If I wanted to have any confidence building exercises I would try to make them happen during the day and when I was ready to test. So I'm not sure when the best time for you would be, but my advice is to build up that confidence level hopefully on a time that works for you [although it doesn't always work out that way].

When I see the super low doses like that I wonder if there is any way to squeak out any marginal improvements. It's almost like you are teetering on the on the cusp. I think Robin had mentioned to me recently that she had a marginal improvement with feeding raw. I ended up cooking for H making a "food improver" that lowered the carbs a little [and lowered the fat].

I've been toying with going with raw food but haven't had time to look into it. Do you have a recipie you could share? Or did you work with Dr. Lisa's and modify appropriately.

Thanks for all your help and feedback. I appreciate the drive-by. :mrgreen:
 
One idea on the raw food, Laura, is to try the ready made stuff. I think it is called Feline's Pride but you can search for it. It comes frozen and already has all the nutrients needed. You just thaw and serve. Might be good to try that before going through the whole process yourself?

If you try the TID, I would really encourage you to split your best daily dose into thirds and shoot every 8 hours, as long as the numbers are going up before you shoot. I am glad you can be home to do this and ready with your hypo kit. (It looks like you have tried every 6 hours and not had much improvement? or am I reading your spreadsheet wrong?)
 
Sue and Oliver said:
One idea on the raw food, Laura, is to try the ready made stuff. I think it is called Feline's Pride but you can search for it. It comes frozen and already has all the nutrients needed. You just thaw and serve. Might be good to try that before going through the whole process yourself

Thanks Sue, I was wondering what the coupon in the supply closet for Feline's Pride was. ;-) Yeah, I'm not a big fan of grinding and chopping meat even for myself.

Sue and Oliver said:
If you try the TID, I would really encourage you to split your best daily dose into thirds and shoot every 8 hours, as long as the numbers are going up before you shoot. I am glad you can be home to do this and ready with your hypo kit. (It looks like you have tried every 6 hours and not had much improvement? or am I reading your spreadsheet wrong?)

Yes, I don't think every 6 hours on a reduced dose is going to do much good. Yesterday, after a 0.2u dose in the AM, his numbers were rising at +6 so I gave an additional 0.1u (half the usual dose) just to see what it would do. The duration was pretty short. That's kind of why I don't think giving that dose every 8 hours is going to accomplish much.

I'm thinking if I give a skinny 0.2u (a dose he's shown to be able to handle safely) three times a day it would add up to a little less than 0.6u in total. A modest dose increase but not given all at once and hopefully not hypo. producing. It's a tad risky, and I'd be monitoring him closely to see that he is safe. No way would I try this without being around to test him.

EDIT: On second thought a fat 0.10 would be much safer - and give Mr. Pancreas a chance to show what he can do.
 
Here in SoCal a drive-by has a different connotation. :lol:

OK the feeding thing is making a little more sense [to me] with the addition of the hoover civie. Just keep in mind that I'm coming from the perspective that my less-worries about low doses is if the cat has food available. I had a feeling that the more carb thing would ultimately just push the numbers up for you - but only because you are at such a low dose and so close to the cusp. :smile:

On the goals thing I might have a multi-part for you on thins but I'll just share what's running though my head now.

The ultimate goal is important. But what is your current goal? If you had a goal to achieve tomorrow what would it be for him? Surely it would not be to keep him below 130? Between 130 and 80 are pretty tight tolerances for one the Ls let alone PZI.

What I usually recommend [and try to set for myself] are 'achievable' goals. Not say you can't achieve your ultimate goal but I'm the type who like to put one foot in front of the other rather than making the big leaps. I think this kind of goes back to my idea of "marginal improvements" too.

So this is what I suggest to help you get to your ultimate goal:
In your case, maybe pick a number like 190, 180, 170 or even 160 and see what kind of success you have with that - just keeping him blow a number like that. Don't freak if you cross your short term goal numbers - life happens and you will gather data and learn and be better the next time around. But what this will do is help you get more aggressive about numbers as he starts to go up. Then you can move that number down [perhaps in multiple steps] as you gain more confidence.

When I was working with H I kind of a multi-tier system set up. I had a "hard" ceiling I set of 300. So as those numbers started to go up and approach 300 I would get progressively more aggressive. I broke though 300 on a number of occasions but when I did having that set ceiling also helped me be more aggressive about getting the numbers back down. And when I say "aggressive" I'm talking more about making sure I was raising the dose [usually in smaller amounts] as the numbers went up - not making large increases in dose. If you are changing the dose every cycle you can get the dose up fairly quickly over a number of cycles.

Then I also had a soft ceiling of 200. My ideal was to keep him below 200 if that could work out. Occasionally when things were going right I set a super-soft ceiling of 150-160. :smile:

Dealing with H was different than many cats as he had appetite issues and we could go from eating great in the morning to full on multi-day food protest for days. So the insulin thing was a bit more of a roller coaster.

As for the low numbers and the yowling. Some cats just yowl. Some cat DO yowl when they are in hypo but yowling does not automatically = distress or hypo. It's kind of an ECID thing. I think it might have been you that said they tested their civie and it was like at low 40's? Whoever had that recommendation - that was golden. I think that will help you have a better idea of the "normal" and perhaps give you more confidence at the low end. 60-something is a great number if you can hit that every day and not end up having to intervene. But again we all have our personal comfort level and need to make the treatment work in our own lives as well as for the kitties.

I'm very happy that you are doing ".05u" increments. This is a big deal especially at the doe ranges you are in and will help you not make changes that get you into see-saw territory. You can make bigger changes if you like or you feel needed but just having that in your tool chest is a good thing. :thumbup

As for the home cooked you can read about it here. If you want more help with it I can provide. I ultimately did not go with Dr. Pierson's recipe mainly because the nutritional values are unknown and as you know I'm a little "detail" oriented. :smile: Also the raw with bones diets tend to be higher in P but Dr. P's recipe tries to deal with this but again the ultimate nutrient breakdown is unknown. That said, many cats [including her own] supposedly do well with it. One could take the approach I took with the cooked and use raw instead which would cut down the time to prepare it by a whole lot. And one would not have to de-bone chickens either which is a major time issue with the raw with bones methods. Anyway, this is like one of my fav topics so I'll be happy to add more if it is something you are really interested in. I'm always trying to get people to switch over to the dark side and start cooking for their kitties. I just suggest reading as much as you can get your hands on about feline nutrition. You seem to be the investigative type so that's good. I put some links in the PZI sticky that are good detail-oriented nutrition links. I've thought about buying the SACN 5th ed but I don't see a super cheap used price on one that I can be confident is the 5th ed on amazon.
 
Gator & H (GA) said:
On the goals thing I might have a multi-part for you on thins but I'll just share what's running though my head now.

The ultimate goal is important. But what is your current goal? If you had a goal to achieve tomorrow what would it be for him? Surely it would not be to keep him below 130? Between 130 and 80 are pretty tight tolerances for one the Ls let alone PZI.

What I usually recommend [and try to set for myself] are 'achievable' goals. Not say you can't achieve your ultimate goal but I'm the type who like to put one foot in front of the other rather than making the big leaps. I think this kind of goes back to my idea of "marginal improvements" too.

So this is what I suggest to help you get to your ultimate goal:
In your case, maybe pick a number like 190, 180, 170 or even 160 and see what kind of success you have with that - just keeping him blow a number like that. Don't freak if you cross your short term goal numbers - life happens and you will gather data and learn and be better the next time around. But what this will do is help you get more aggressive about numbers as he starts to go up. Then you can move that number down [perhaps in multiple steps] as you gain more confidence.

When I was working with H I kind of a multi-tier system set up. I had a "hard" ceiling I set of 300. So as those numbers started to go up and approach 300 I would get progressively more aggressive. I broke though 300 on a number of occasions but when I did having that set ceiling also helped me be more aggressive about getting the numbers back down. And when I say "aggressive" I'm talking more about making sure I was raising the dose [usually in smaller amounts] as the numbers went up - not making large increases in dose. If you are changing the dose every cycle you can get the dose up fairly quickly over a number of cycles.

Then I also had a soft ceiling of 200. My ideal was to keep him below 200 if that could work out. Occasionally when things were going right I set a super-soft ceiling of 150-160. :smile:

Ah, well then my short term goal is to avoid hypo! :-D Seriously though I'd say keeping him under 160 is a soft goal and under 200 is a hard goal. At about 160 is when the diabetes symptoms (PU/PD, anorexia and sprinting around the house to lower BG) return in him.

My dose toolkit pretty much currently consists of fat/skinny 0.1, fat/skinny 0.2 and 0.25u. The 0.25u has shown the ability to bring him down from climbing numbers so I only pull that one out of the hat when I really want to bring his numbers down, or stop them from trending upwards.

Gator & H (GA) said:
Dealing with H was different than many cats as he had appetite issues and we could go from eating great in the morning to full on multi-day food protest for days. So the insulin thing was a bit more of a roller coaster.

As for the low numbers and the yowling. Some cats just yowl. Some cat DO yowl when they are in hypo but yowling does not automatically = distress or hypo. It's kind of an ECID thing. I think it might have been you that said they tested their civie and it was like at low 40's? Whoever had that recommendation - that was golden. I think that will help you have a better idea of the "normal" and perhaps give you more confidence at the low end. 60-something is a great number if you can hit that every day and not end up having to intervene. But again we all have our personal comfort level and need to make the treatment work in our own lives as well as for the kitties.

I'm very happy that you are doing ".05u" increments. This is a big deal especially at the doe ranges you are in and will help you not make changes that get you into see-saw territory. You can make bigger changes if you like or you feel needed but just having that in your tool chest is a good thing. :thumbup

I forget - you missed out on the fun - it was in a different thread when we hit our first 64 Harley let me know about it by yowling, running into the kitchen, opening the cabinet door and dumping food cans on the floor! A pretty direct statement. I got the food out and let him start eating and then tested him. I was surprised it was only in the 60's. He is a little bit of a drama queen. cat_pet_icon

After it happened a second time, Joanna had the great idea to test my civvie as she was wondering if my meter was off. But my civvie does have a history of acute pancreatitis so thanks to your great reply to Snowball's thread I'm going to keep an eye on her. 43 is kinda on the low side even for a civvie.

Gator & H (GA) said:
As for the home cooked you can read about it here. If you want more help with it I can provide. I ultimately did not go with Dr. Pierson's recipe mainly because the nutritional values are unknown and as you know I'm a little "detail" oriented. :smile: Also the raw with bones diets tend to be higher in P but Dr. P's recipe tries to deal with this but again the ultimate nutrient breakdown is unknown. That said, many cats [including her own] supposedly do well with it. One could take the approach I took with the cooked and use raw instead which would cut down the time to prepare it by a whole lot. And one would not have to de-bone chickens either which is a major time issue with the raw with bones methods. Anyway, this is like one of my fav topics so I'll be happy to add more if it is something you are really interested in. I'm always trying to get people to switch over to the dark side and start cooking for their kitties. I just suggest reading as much as you can get your hands on about feline nutrition. You seem to be the investigative type so that's good. I put some links in the PZI sticky that are good detail-oriented nutrition links. I've thought about buying the SACN 5th ed but I don't see a super cheap used price on one that I can be confident is the 5th ed on amazon.

Yeah! More light reading. :razz:

Seriously, though, thank you for all this great information and advice. If it weren't for people like you, Joanna, Sue, Robin and Lori, we newbies would be floating on a boat in the ocean with no oars and no sail.
 
So he is running out of food then? Is he still running out of food or has that situation changed? If it hasn't, if you can find a what to free feed I think it will really help the situation. It will give you more confidence. Is there any way you can get creative with the hoover civie sitch? Sorry I don't have any ideas for you as I'm not there to observe/know the sitch.

I think that would be one of those marginal improvements that would really help him and you which help you help him better.

160 and the PU/PD starts again? Wow. I'll take your word for it but that seems low for that to start up. Talking about detailed I weighed H's water consumption and pee to the gram to know exactly what was going on there. This scale became my best friend:
http://www.google.com/search?q=kd-8000& ... p%3A1&aq=f
It's a fairly easy thing to do once you have the scale.

I know I'm being a little detail oriented here but just for the sake of consistency, why fat/skinny then a .05u increment? If you can measure a .25 then you should be able to measure a .15 right? I'm not so sure about an actual .05u dose - that's like not shooting anything pretty much :smile:

Variable is more about the trend of the PS numbers without sticking to a set tool kit per say. If you need to shoot a .3u or more then you need to shoot that. In my book, if you shoot a .25u and the next cycle he's still trending up then you need to up the dose. So variable is more about the change in the dose between cycles. Scale dosing is more about the set toolkit. Nonetheless I think I understand what you are saying. I just want to encourage you to break the mold if you need to.

As for pancreatitis I know I was talking about the numbers crashing when they aren't eating. I'm not sure I would expect that so much with a cat that is not diabetic. I never measured/tracked the BG of a non-diabetic cat with pancreatitis so... I'm not so sure a 43 is so low for a civie. The human meters run extra low at low numbers.
 
The first time the possible near hypo happened was an atypical day. He'd eaten all of his breakfast and I didn't know about it. Not until after the incident and I'd fed and tested him. Then I looked at his bowl. Since that day I've made sure he always has food in his bowl. Every time I leave the house I put food in it if it's empty.

As for the hoover civvie, she's small and can't jump more than about 2-3 feet so I always put Harley's food up on a high dresser. He's part Oriental or Burnese (I don't know my breeds) long, lean and loves to jump high. So I know only he is eating from that dish.
 
I'm impressed - most people try to pronounce it like Des Moines. This town was founded by Germans - we don't speak French. ;-)

Both s's are pronounced just as it is spelled. But some people do turn the first s into a z - must be a midwestern thing. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top