Please Advise!!Paula & kitty Michael

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Stalling Please help!!Paula & kitty Michael

Hey Paula,

I am too new myself to dispense advice, but would you be home to test him if you did shoot?

If you are worried what to do and in a time crunch, perhaps go back into your original post and use the 911 icon as it might be able to draw attention to you quicker. Once you get an answer to your question, you can go back into the original post and remove it.
 
Re: Stalling Please help!!Paula & kitty Michael

Scottersmom, thanks for the reply and suggestion.
I just tested him again and the bg was 192. So he came down 1 point. He is eating right now. Since he is under 200 I won't shoot.
Paula
 
A difference of 1 point isn't 'real', due to the limited accuracy of home glucometers. Please read my signature link Glucometer Notes to understand more about what they can and cannot do.

Also, adjust the dose to 0.75 units; this may enable you to shoot twice a day.
 
Hi BJM,
Thanks for the reply and suggestion. Can you look at Michael's SS and tell me if the bounces he had have cleared.
I don't know if I'm chasing bounces. It seems he is all over the place.
Paula
 
I think what is happening is that you have to skip shots because the dose is too high. When you skip, the Lantus wears off and the glucose goes high again. See if you can eyeball a 0.75 unit dose for the next time you shoot.
 
Hi again Paula and extra sweet Michael!!

If you link your prior post, it will help the "next guy" see what's already been said. Here's your Earlier Post from Health Just "copy" the address from your prior post, click on the URL tab and "paste" it ....it will look like this: YOUR LINK HERE[url] Remember, if y... do anything that might harm your sweet kitty
 
Hi Chris and a big thank you for replying.
Amps Bg 403 I gave 1u @ 5:15am. You are right he is high. ( really high) is that another bounce? Do I stay @ the same dose
(as long as it doesn't go below 50) until the bounce has cleared? How do I tell if a bounce has cleared?
I'm not that computer savvy and could not find "the address" to copy. I don't no how to make a link. Sorry.
Michael just keeps on bouncing! He certainly is a "Bouncing baby boy"!
Every time I think I understand all of this, I end up getting really confused. This is so frustrating.
Paula
 
Good morning Paula!

First, he's high this morning because you skipped last night's shot as well as him "bouncing" from the 103 yesterday.

Bouncing happens because Michael's body has gotten used to living in those high numbers, so when the insulin brings him down, his liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring him back up to where it's gotten used to being. It will just take time for the liver to re-learn that it's OK to be in those lower (normal) numbers.

Stay at 1 unit UNLESS he goes below 50 for at least 6-8 cycles. Lantus is a "depot" insulin which means it needs to "fill the depot" before you will see the full action of the 1 unit dose.
This is just an example to try to explain...you shoot 1 unit of Lantus...a small part of that goes to work quickly, while the rest goes "in the depot". The next shot repeats that...and the next..and the next...eventually, the "depot" is full. When the depot is full, that small part of each shot that goes to work quickly continues, but the depot "releases" the rest of the dose (so like if 1/4 of the shot goes to work quickly, the other 3/4 is released gradually from the depot over the rest of the 12 hour cycle). Until the depot is FULL, it can't release the full 3/4 so you're not going to see the full action of that dose.

If you skip, you drain the depot and have to start over. If you increase the dose, you have to wait until the depot "catches up" (fills to the "new full") before you will see the real effects of the new dose

Does that help make it more understandable? If not, please say so....there's more than one way to explain the depot and it can be a hard concept to grasp.

How do you tell if a bounce has cleared? Well at this point, it's easiest to let us tell you, but you'll eventually start to see what we see when we look at your spreadsheet, but basically, when they bounce, the number will go high and then we watch to see it start to come back down. It can take up to 72 hours to clear a bounce

If you look on China's spreadsheet (link below in Signature) on 7/21 you'll see a good example of a "bounce".....she dropped to 56 in the AM cycle, then "bounced" to 326...but then in that PM cycle she started to come back down and by 7/22 she was back down in green numbers....so she "broke the bounce" in about 18 hours. China's been at this awhile though, so she breaks her bounces fairly quickly....she used to take the full 72 hours

On the link....do you know how to copy and paste? If you do, I put together a little document on Linking your prior day's condo that might help explain.

A "condo" is just what we call our daily posts. Each day you start a new post (condo=condition report). When you move to the Lantus Tight Regulation forum it'll be more important for you to do a daily condo.

I'd like to invite you over to the Lantus Tight Regulation Forum now anyway. You have your spreadsheet set up, you're home testing and you know the basics, so by moving over there, you'll get the most experienced eyes watching out for you and Michael.

Each day you post a new "condo". The subject line will start out with The Date, Cat's Name, AMPS ##

In the "body" of the condo you give the WCR (Whole Cat Report)....basically how Michael is doing. Is his appetite good? Are the 5 "'P's" in place? (preening, purring, playing, peeing, pooping?) Any questions or concerns? Anything that helps us to get to know you and Michael better! You can also start reading other people's condos! You will learn a LOT from that as well as maybe making you think of questions you want to ask too!

You're not required to go to the TR Forum...you can continue to post here in Health if you want, but over there, you'll have the benefit of the years of experience of everyone here than uses Lantus. We become very much of a "family" there.

Let me know how else I can help you!
 
Chris, again thank you for all this info.You are truly dedicated!
This makes more sense now. If he isn't below 50 I know to shoot the 1u or .75, or .5
Because Michael is going to maybe have more issues down the road, I would like to stay in Health for now.
He also has Hyperthyroidism and the vet put him back on tapazole at a lower dose. Changed his food also.
Because of all the change, his tummy got upset and he wouldn't eat. He is now off of Tapazole until Wed. 7/29/14 and I will start him again on a lower dose. He was eating FF when he got the upset tummy.( Michael dosen't do well with fish.) I also read that FF can upset the stomach, so we don't know if it was the FF or the Tap.
Right now he is only eating friskies pate and we are not treating the HyperT. ( The vet saids its o.k. for the t4 to be high for a short period of time.) If this turns out to be the Tap, then we are going to try the transdermal Gel. Meanwhile he is doing fine.
(except for bouncing all over the place) He is more like his old self. If the gel doesn't work, He may have to go back to the y/d food which will make the "D" very hard to control. ( the 1131 treatment & surgery are not options, due to his & mine health issues. All I can do for now is treat the "D" the rest remains to be seen.
I hope this makes sense. It is really hard for me to explain.
I really appreciate you sticking by me on this.
Paula
Btw Great Pic of China! Beautiful girl! So sweet! So Happy! Nice to see!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top