PK was 38 amps

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa&Paul-Kyle

Member Since 2009
I was stunned...and that was +10.5 ( I forgot to shoot until late last night...forgot to feed dogs, too!)

Gramma went back to critical care today so I didn't have time to curve...I lowered dose to .4 ( from .55 ) and hoped for the best.

PMPS was 109.

I kept dose at .4 tonight.

Just FYI
 
Yowza! That would have freaked me out - and I would not have shot anything myself because it was +10.5. Do you assume he was climbing at that point?

Wonder why he was suddenly so much lower - or maybe he has been lower earlier for a while with nadirs at +11ish.

Yeah, just what you need, one more thing to worry about. Did you tell him he needs to go back to business as usual to give mommy a break?
 
I guess I should have been freaked out at the 38...But after 2 and a half years of this dance and nearly a year of lev, right?- nothing seems to faze me...not the lower numbers, anyway.

Besides, the KEY to this insulin is consitency, right? What is the point of a panic, missed shot and falling out of regulation? ...I DID lower the dose, so that was good, right?

Additionally, I know PK peaks at ps and I was feeding with that +10.5 shot anyway b/c I was getting back on the shot/feed schedule from forgetting until late the night before.

I did expect some rebound at pmps but got a 109 pmps....

this AM was TWENTY-EIGHT...28! ...even the meter I notice, had a little loaf of bread icon on it to tell me to feed him something, I presume. Which I did- it was feed time anyway. And I scootched out the insulin to about .3u

Historically after eating, PK goes to the 300's...I did expect a rebound number again today, but none.

So, now we have +8.5 of 48 right now.

No outward signs of hypo- in the past he has been darty and paranoid when that low- he is relaxed and acting normal- looking sharp...and I don't intend to change anything this moment and interfere with results ( like feed him). We've 2.5 hours to pmps and shot so will take another bg then, probably +11.5, and "decide".

I am toying with staying home tomorrow to do the office work that was intended for Monday when gramma ended up in the CCU and to help heal from all the body work today- PT AND Chiro at once! Gads!....IF I do stay home, I will make a concious effort to curve.

Will try for a before bed test tonight too....to make sure I get a rising number.....still intending to shoot the .3....( do you think if I play nice, the karma gods might give me a pancreas fairy and a "v*c*tion" near NY/Canada border? :shock: (knockwood, antijinx) )
 
Wow!

Well, he has given you two numbers below 40 - that means dose decrease, which you have done. The trick now is to find his high point, I guess.

This might be the deciding thing about staying home and catching up on work tomorrow. You will be able to see if he stays a little higher and/or what his highest number is.

The before bed check is a good idea.

Maybe he is going on sabbatical.... (knockwood, antijinx).

and, you meter actually has a loaf of bread icon? How funny is that!?
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
and, you meter actually has a loaf of bread icon? How funny is that!?

well- that, or it is a stripy cat poo.... :lol:

Wanted to mention that I got a week of 60's for ps before the drop....so it was not sudden as one would normally have, maybe that is why no rebound numbers...I'd taken the dose down the 8th lower number- was it in the 50's? the first time, and tried to hold by incrmental doses, but the boy keeps going further and further down!

He's actully below "normal" now!

'bout another hour and will shoot again...maybe...
 
I really can't spell, can I? At least I didn't put "you're" in there...

OK, 79 is a decent PS. Was that +12? Are you staying home Wed and getting a few spot checks? I am curious to know what the rest of the cycle looks like.
 
This is exciting and a good example how to handle lower numbers on Lev and also why it's not necessary to freak out over <40s. But you also know P-K's responses pretty well now, so that's a bonus. I think your crisis care of Gramma has helped you in the freak out dept.
There was a time you would have been posting on Health or somewhere else in a panic over 28. Now you're shrugging and making very confident decisions.

High five!! :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top