Pita's Dosing Party: 15

Good call with the increases (and great job getting those night numbers -- those are tough...z...z..z...z..)

Hope all is well for you guys!
 
@Caitlin M I'm super late to the party. I just so happened to be on reading posts.

When I fired my vet . . . they were refusing to give my records. I had to pretty much camp in their office.
When they finally gave me the records . . . there were several notes of "Pt cargiver denied curve at vet despite vet recommendations" , "Pt caregiver denied nutritional advice". Then there were others about my attitude and how I was uncooperative. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

I switched my feline vets, and within the last week, I took her to get a kitty physical, as I needed a Rx refill and technically she was due for rabies vaccine.
My new vet is out on surgery. I like her, but I didn't want to wait.
I guess my patience got the best of me. I sent my SS as a courtesy, but there wasn't much on there. Allegedly some of my PS numbers are those of the cat suffering Hypo. :rolleyes: The vet didn't approve of my Friskies diet either and gave me samples of DM and encouraged me to switch. I did speak up about that, stating that the carbs were too high and I might as well give my cat a loaf of bread for dinner. I was being a bit dramatic, obviously.

At this point, I do not believe in the perfect vet.

Anyway, I'm glad Pita has a mommy like you! Good luck with your classes.
 
Hello everyone! I did a real curve yesterday (first time in a while) and although Pita never went green, his PMPS was lower than any other midday tests. I've recently bumped up to 1.8 units but I'm curious about how he had a lower PS after it should have worn off. Anywho, he's doing well either way! Brat has a double ear infection (again), so we're dealing with that as well. I start back at work this evening since the family is back from vacation, so all in all, things are going well. Hope everyone is doing well!
 
Leave it to Pita to have an atypical cycle just as you're doing a curve. That is a strangely flat cycle compared to the rest of your data. And then he finally gets a good PMPS. So much for using the curve to figure out what's going on with him!

I'm so sorry to hear about Brat. Is he getting ear drops? Or pills? Hope he feels better soon!

Any word on when the BF might be back? Have fun at work tonight! I hope the kiddo(s) are good for you!
 
Leave it to Pita to have an atypical cycle just as you're doing a curve. That is a strangely flat cycle compared to the rest of your data. And then he finally gets a good PMPS. So much for using the curve to figure out what's going on with him!

I'm so sorry to hear about Brat. Is he getting ear drops? Or pills? Hope he feels better soon!

Any word on when the BF might be back? Have fun at work tonight! I hope the kiddo(s) are good for you!
Seriously! He knows...I swear he knows. Yeah Brat has always been prone to having ear infections (years ago my vet told me he was like people who always get ear infections) so we had brought him to the vet I didn't like here a while ago and got meds when they flared up again. They cleared up (or so I thought) but it came back so he met our new, awesome vet. Ear drops twice a day and then we go back in about two weeks to see if it's fully gone. So now they both get stuff done to their ears before eating! Matt will be back sometime mid-October. Knock on wood, I've been good by myself again even though my schedule isn't consistent. Thanks!
 
I'm so glad you found a good vet there! It really helps to have someone you trust. My sister has a dog who has recurring ear infections. Poor little guy just hates getting his ear drops. Hopefully Brat doesn't mind too much.
 
Of course Pita had to have a funky cycle during curve day! They like to do that. ;)

Poor Brat! I can't imagine giving a cat ear drops. I wonder if Pita thinks that Brat is getting tested too since he's getting his ears messed with before meals now...
 
Don't know what happened today but it makes me sad. Pita's probably a bit sad as well. ::Sigh:: I'll get a couple midday numbers before work tomorrow.
 
Ack! Pita!!! Let's all go with it was just "oh look a squirrel" syndrome. I know it makes me sad to see it too, but as long as it's just a one-off, I wouldn't worry about it too much.

How are YOU doing, Caitlin? It's got to be tough having Matt out of town. I know you mentioned he'll be home next month hopefully, which is great!
 
Yikes. That's no good. Hugs to you, Caitlin. :bighug: Hopefully it's just one of those things and he'll get back to better numbers today.
 
Numbers have been better since that awful 300+! Still feel like he's a bit all over the place though. 195 PMPS last night and at +6 he was at 69. 209 AMPS today but I decided to bump it up to 2 units since we'd held at 1.9 for a full three days. So, in reality, I think this is exactly what he's been doing for the past few months but hopefully, when Matt gets back we can take care of teeth and see what happens! I'm attempting to do a full curve today but may end up missing the +8 and +10.
 
Numbers and dose aside, is he feeling good? playing? eating well? Sometimes when the numbers and dose are a little higher, it can help to focus on the other indicators of their health and happiness. I will be curious to see what happens after he gets a dental.
 
Numbers and dose aside, is he feeling good? playing? eating well? Sometimes when the numbers and dose are a little higher, it can help to focus on the other indicators of their health and happiness. I will be curious to see what happens after he gets a dental.
He seems happy and healthy otherwise! Plays, eating normally, no weird behaviors. Definitely good to remember overall. Yes, I HATE that I haven't been able to get him the dental earlier, because I'm sure it's contributing to some extent. Why do they need to be so freaking expensive?!!
 
Oh. My. God. No sooner had I posted that and stood up from the desk-Pita fell off the bed! I think he was trying to walk/hop to the bookshelf in front of the window where they sit, and he must have slipped because it was not graceful. I picked him up and he's purring but maybe a bruised ego. But of course right after I said 'yeah, everything's normal!' :rolleyes:
 
Happy Hump Day everyone! Tomorrow is my/our first year of living in L.A.! So crazy, I can't believe how quickly it went. I forgot I had run out of ketone strips so I grabbed some yesterday and tested him today- negative! Although numbers are a bit high(er than I'd like) I am reminding myself that he is happy and healthy and loved! We played with some ribbon this afternoon and he had a spaz out moment where I chased him into a closet as well! We went up to 2.1 units today as well. I'm about to get a +3.5 test before work and will do a test when I'm home around +8.5 also. Sending loving vibes out to everyone!!
 
Yay for playing ribbon! Yes, you have to remember that Pita is more than just a number. He should be evaluated with numbers AND how he is doing. I know how easy it is to get stuck on those numbers and focus on them, but it sounds like Pita is doing okay! Diabetic kitties just need what insulin they need...and that's okay. :bighug::bighug:
 
Yay for playing ribbon! Yes, you have to remember that Pita is more than just a number. He should be evaluated with numbers AND how he is doing. I know how easy it is to get stuck on those numbers and focus on them, but it sounds like Pita is doing okay! Diabetic kitties just need what insulin they need...and that's okay. :bighug::bighug:
I LOVE that all- especially what insulin they need :cat:
 
Okay, got a 98 and 97 AMPS just now (stuck to the 98). I'm home all day until I leave for work at 3:30. I gave him 1 tsp FF Gravy food and I'm going to reduce down to 2.0 units. I know I could have stalled and fed later but I just didn't really want to! Since I'm able to test until his +6, I figured I'd just try this today. I also only decreased by .3 because in the past, if I've decreased too much it puts him back up to higher numbers. So this is just going to be an experiment all day!
 
Well, I did a small steer at +4 to make sure he didn't drop below that 50, but otherwise it's been all him! We shall see what PMPS brings. Either way I'm not getting any hopes up, just happy to see these numbers even temporarily!
 
So good to see a couple of nice cycles for Pita! And looks like that reduction was nearly perfect. Just a smidge close to the line, but as you said - you knew you were going to be around to keep an eye on him.
 
96 PMPS. Sticking with the same as today- 2 units and I'll get up for a test during the night. We shall see what tomorrow brings!
 
Go Pita! What a great 24 hours! Looks like he might be doing his up-the-dosing-scale/down-the-dosing-scale thing again. Fingers crossed he has a nice little slide down now. :cat:
 
And on that note- he may be getting a reduction tonight instead! 56 @ +3, 47@ +3.5- fed 1tsp gravy food. 57@ +4 and I'll get one more +4.5 test before I run back to work! Will probably give another tsp of gravy food just to be safe, since his usual nadir still hasn't hit. :rolleyes:
 
Why isn't Sam copying Pita now??? I'm jealous of the good numbers!!! Although I'm not jealous of you having to keep poking and steering. :)
Yay for the pet sitter getting a test done - although I'm sorry it was a bit rough. As we often say around here, the first ones are the hardest and it always gets better!
 
Why isn't Sam copying Pita now??? I'm jealous of the good numbers!!! Although I'm not jealous of you having to keep poking and steering. :)
Yay for the pet sitter getting a test done - although I'm sorry it was a bit rough. As we often say around here, the first ones are the hardest and it always gets better!
Ugh, God! So I had a feeling his higher number last night was based on his testing fail, which is why I tested before bed at +1.5. I had set my alarm for a +4ish because I had a feeling he'd be a bit too low again. Well, I evidently turned off the three alarms in my sleep, because I woke up at 6 and was horrified. I know he's fine but I really do hope he didn't get too, too low. 77 AMPS just now and even though a part of me wanted to NS, I went with 1 unit. I'll be able to test until +6 again today so I'll be diligent and then possibly decrease again tonight.
 
Yikes! I’m sure he would have woke you if he was too terribly low. Pita knows how this all works!

Crazy that his numbers are suddenly dropping like this. He wants to keep you on your toes before you leave town!
 
88 @ +2

Yikes! I’m sure he would have woke you if he was too terribly low. Pita knows how this all works!

Crazy that his numbers are suddenly dropping like this. He wants to keep you on your toes before you leave town!
Be careful what you wish for I guess! I was grumbly about his higher numbers and now he's doing this a week before I leave for a week! :oops:
 
Glad you both got a break today! Pita just dances to his own music, doesn't he? ;) You do such a good job responding to what he needs.
 
I'll wait until midweek to start a new thread about my trip/help with sitter dosing!

Glad you both got a break today! Pita just dances to his own music, doesn't he? ;) You do such a good job responding to what he needs.
Thank you Djamila, that just made me happy tear up! I definitely have become a testing maniac, but since I'm able to, I might as well!
 
Yeah, just let us know what you need for your trip, Caitlin! We're happy to be here and help out however we can. :)
 
Good numbers today! I reduced dose to .8 because why not see what happens?! I just got to work though and realized he was 66 @ +4. I took a nap right before I left, woke up and rushed out so I'm hoping he stays nice and steady today because I goofed and forgot to get one last test :oops:. Also, I leave for MA this Friday night and it could not come sooner! :D
 
Oh Pita! I'm sure he'll be fine Caitlin. You know how he is...he's a trooper!

Leaving for MA? Does that mean Matt is coming home?? It is October!
 
Oh Pita! I'm sure he'll be fine Caitlin. You know how he is...he's a trooper!

Leaving for MA? Does that mean Matt is coming home?? It is October!
This is all true, thanks for the reminder Rachel :smuggrin:
Yes, the family I nanny for is leaving for a week so I'm also going back to visit and then Matt and I fly back home to LA together!!
 
Well, a 209 PMPS is certainly not what I was expecting!! Hmm, interesting Pita. I stuck with .8 units so we'll see what tomorrow brings!
 
Well, it must've been a weird thing since AMPS was 94! Gave .8 units again and will get a +3 test before leaving for work. My neighbor is coming down tonight to do PMPS so fingers crossed!
 
Pita is a wild child. He's been running up and down the dosing scale ever since he started this journey. It is so fun to see him dropping the dose and getting such great numbers for a little while! Hope it goes well with the neighbor tonight!
 
Back
Top