Pita's Dosing Party: 10

Status
Not open for further replies.
The 1.2u is looking good on him, and he's looking a bit more stable again. Nice to see those consistent cycles returning.
 
Strange 249 PMPS, then a nice 69 @ +5. Was planning to up his dose tomorrow to 1.4, but we won't be home to get any midday tests. Based on this 69, I may stick with the 1.2 for the am and see about 1.4 for PMPS. Thoughts...?!
 
Yes that sounds like the best plan. It does look like he could handle the 1.4...or maybe 1.3?....but it close enough that I’d rather do it on a cycle I could monitor. His numbers are really pretty good right now so waiting an extra cycle isn’t going to hurt anything.
 
Strange 249 PMPS, then a nice 69 @ +5. Was planning to up his dose tomorrow to 1.4, but we won't be home to get any midday tests. Based on this 69, I may stick with the 1.2 for the am and see about 1.4 for PMPS. Thoughts...?!
His numbers look great! and it seems he was even in remission for awhile. I don't think you need to change his dosage so much. I'd stay with 1.2 for a few more cycles. I suspect that any little thing can affect the numbers: stress, snacking, etc. I'd love it if Chloe was consistantly in the greens and blues! Don't fuss so much unless you start seeing a lots of yellows and reds.
 
Yep, I'm with Djamila. He could probably handle a tiny bump in dose...but I'd want to be able to monitor just to be sure. :) He's looking so good and we'd love to see him keep going down into excellent numbers!
 
Today is the last day I'll shoot 1.2u. Mr brother leaves, so starting tomorrow I'll be home more during the day to monitor the 1.4 increase. Definitely want to see if we can go slightly lower with PS numbers :cat:

it seems he was even in remission for awhile.
He was in remission twice! He needs to have a dental extraction so I'm almost 100% that's what caused him to come out of it (at least the second time around).
 
Not quite sure what's happening, but the past couple days have been a bit higher overall. Happy New year everyone!
 
Hopefully nothing more than some normal fluctuation and the 1.4u will bring him back down. I hope you all had a happy New Year!
 
Could be the holidays? Fireworks might have caused some stress causing BG to be a big higher. Either way, hopefully it'll come back down in a day or so...happy new year!
 
Numbers have been higher than I'd like lately. I'm working all day Thursday and Friday, and while Matt is getting better with testing, I'd like to not up Pita's dose on a day when I'd test a lot. So, should I raise to 1.6 tomorrow when I'm home to test or wait until Saturday? Thanks!
 
I think that bump up to 1.6 would be good. If it was me, I'd want to be home just to be sure that the nadir doesn't hit too low...unless you feel comfortable with Matt getting that test.
 
I think that bump up to 1.6 would be good. If it was me, I'd want to be home just to be sure that the nadir doesn't hit too low...unless you feel comfortable with Matt getting that test.
Thanks Rachel!

Of course he heard me though and had a 118 AMPS....now I'm not totally sure about bumping today. ???
 
Whoa Pita! Just waiting for Mom to decide to increase right??? Yeah I don’t that’s no I’d increase on that number. Don’t want him to get too low and trigger a bounce.

Oops cross posted! Well if you’re home to watch it’s definitely up to you! Whatever you think is best is best. :)
 
Whoa Pita! Just waiting for Mom to decide to increase right??? Yeah I don’t that’s no I’d increase on that number. Don’t want him to get too low and trigger a bounce.
Hahaha hes so ridiculous! I'll just see how today goes and if he has to stay on the 1.4 until Saturday, he will.
 
It was time for me to up Pita's dose to 1.8 anyway, but AMPS was 319. The feeder never opened though, so he didn't get his overnight snack AND he didn't wake me up (or I was in the deepest sleep I've been in, in a looong time), which is even more strange. If I ever forget to put the snack out, I'm being woken up around 1am...! Obviously not 100% sure that's the reason, but kind of a bummer that he's higher on the am that I increase. But we shall see!:rolleyes:
 
Oh no! I was just peeking at his spreadsheet last night and noticing he was still creeping up, but didn't expect a pink! I bet the snack is a contributing factor. Sam is definitely higher on the cycles when he doesn't eat his snack. Conventional wisdom is that the +9 snack is only helpful for kitties on micro-doses, but at least for Sam (and maybe Pita too), it helps even on higher doses.

I hope the increase helps, and high number aside, I'm glad you had a good sleep! :)
 
Well I just quickly looked and lots of stuff has been happening here lately! It's been good but very busy for me- work, auditions, class, memorials-oh my! I hope everyone is doing well and braving whatever winter weather they have.
Pita is doing well overall! Happy, playful, eating/drinking normally, just numbers have just been going up again. Just raised his dose to 2 units yesterday and I have a feeling I'll need to up it again on Monday, which is fine. I'm just letting it be what it is right now!
 
Yup, looks like he could use some increases. Poor little guy, but it sounds like you're keeping a good perspective on it. Glad to hear you're going to auditions! Best wishes for the perfect fit to come along! You're far south of the mudslides, aren't you? Classes? memorials? Sounds like you have a lot going on these days!
 
Yup, looks like he could use some increases. Poor little guy, but it sounds like you're keeping a good perspective on it. Glad to hear you're going to auditions! Best wishes for the perfect fit to come along! You're far south of the mudslides, aren't you? Classes? memorials? Sounds like you have a lot going on these days!
Yes I'm not close to the mudslides, thank goodness. +4.75 was 132. So that's good. Looking forward to that being his AMPS again!!
 
Happy Saturday everyone! Well, it's been strange here lately with Pita's numbers. Nothing that I was [too] worried about, but trying to up his dose slowly and get him down. This morning however, he wouldn't sit and eat his treats while I test him. This hasn't happened in I'm not sure how many months. He sat in the corner and thankfully I was able to get blood but AMPS was 400 :blackeye: I was planning to bump him up again today anyway, so I'll do that and try to get a couple tests. Matt wondered if the Insulin wasn't working anymore. It looks like it should look, but after a day on this new dose, if nothing has changed, maybe I should open the new bottle and see if it makes any difference. Oy. Life has been crazy in a good way which is why I haven't been around much. I hope everyone is healthy and happy.
 
So, he's laying on the bed, sleeping in the sun. I know he likes tuna juice- should I maybe pour some into his food so he'll eat and I can shoot? With such a high PS I don't want to let him sleep and then I can't shoot. A very stressful start to my morning :(
 
Okay! Latest update- I gave 1 Tbsp of gravy food just to get him to eat something. He did and I was able to shoot.
 
Oh Caitlin, I'm so sorry to read this! At least he showed a good response to the insulin today. Fingers crossed he tops out around 3u again and works his way back down. Have you found a new vet yet? That way as soon as you can get the extractions done you'll know who to call. And maybe see if they offer any kind of credit or payment plan?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top