Pika. Pmps 108.. new to this low of numbers. Help. Need to give insulin.

Pika and Shellz

Member Since 2023
So if me again with “Pika did a thing”. So I did the delay 1 hour and I did put food down too (I know to wait) but his sugars went down…. So at time shot was due he was 122.. so I delayed retested (cause I don’t work till 11 tomorrow) and he was 108.. I know I need to give insulin. He has been on 2.75U. He got a FS yesterday so I know he needs it a sugars will rise.. but scared to do full dose until I see sugars go start to rise Spreadsheet is up to date. Also we are off the sensor.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-pmps-new-to-low-numbers.277448/#post-3070878
 
So I did shoot!! And I stayed consistent with the 2.75! So I’m proud of myself!! But I am also like super worried! I did feed him a higher carb wet food to help me be on the safe side. He just licked ip the gravy. I don’t think I’m battling ketones at the moment seeing how he went from 668 to 122 in 24 hours.

I looked at others spread sheets and it looks like most people shoot really low with doses similar to pika or even higher and they have been fine.. so I kinda went with that too! But I did give 2.75 on the skinny side with the gravy lovers. So I know his sugars will be rising.
 
We cross posted. Get a +1 and +2. Feed a little at each test but just a little. Keep Pika hungry. Good job shooting.
 
I figured he will start to rise.. especially giving him fancy feast gravy lovers! He gets treats at every test! And he just licked up the gravy didn’t eat the food actually he is a pate boy, I was using it for carbs to help me feel better about giving his full dose!! And I plan on getting a few test on this one tonight. And maybe next time I won’t feel the need for the gravy lovers.
 
When you shoot lower it’s important to get a +2 and if lower than the preshot at least a before bed test. The +1 was food influenced. I’m hoping you tested later and just didn’t update your ss or condo. There was likely a bounce but we don’t know.
 
Back
Top