Pig 5/10 +10 101; amps 101; +2 149; +4 150; +6 140 ** On the road again! & SRT Pictures **

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

He is doing fantastic today! His appetite is with a gusto and he was playing with me a bit earlier. He pretty much stayed in the range I wanted him to all night, so I see that as a major win after all of this. Especially considering that I cut him by 5u. I realize that the likelihood of that cut being a product of the procedure is rare considering he was already on the decline, but either way it is a win!

I did not make anymore vlog entries yesterday as him and I were far to tired. I just slummed it out and slept and studied all day. He ate and slept and licked his butt. :p All in all a fantastic wrap up for our post-SRT rest day.

We are packing up now to hit the road. He has extra Gaba on board alongside RR, so fully relaxed and ready to go. I will have more vlogs tonight!

Oh... I spoke with Dr. Fidel regarding the safety of Gaba, especially in our older cats. She concurred with Dr. Stropes in saying that it was the safest pain management they had found and worked double as a anti-anxiety in a sense. She said they choose it over Valium or Xanax as both cause rapid liver failure, but she has never heard a report of any organ degradation from Gaba and she has patients that have used it for years. I thought this was a very good bit of information. Of course, this is if it is used correctly, I would imagine and not giving far more, more often...

We will see you guys from the road!!! Head bumps, butt licks, and ear scratches all around! Today is a wonderful day!!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6590[753].jpg
    IMG_6590[753].jpg
    40.5 KB · Views: 87
  • IMG_6592[757].jpg
    IMG_6592[757].jpg
    44.7 KB · Views: 81
  • 0508181117c[752].jpg
    0508181117c[752].jpg
    30 KB · Views: 82
  • 0508181117[751].jpg
    0508181117[751].jpg
    30.4 KB · Views: 83
Safe travels on your return home. We got pretty involved with Pig's adventures, thanks for sharing. Paws crossed the therapy is successful. How could it not be? This is Pig!
 
Glad you both had a well deserved day of rest. Hope the drive is quick and easy.

Did they take those photos for you during that radiation? That’s so cool of them. I loved your vlogs and how open they were to being filmed and explaining all the nerdy details of the SRT. Of course, it’s free advertising for them, but still, it will help so many other cats! Do they give you or keep his bite block should he have to repeat treatment? It sounds like it was a great experience and a great resource for anyone else that needs it. I can’t belive the prices too. :)

Cute scarf, Pig. Does it say I’m a cancer survivor? I guess they ran out of I’m an acro survivor scarves. ;)
 
Safe travels on your return home. We got pretty involved with Pig's adventures, thanks for sharing. Paws crossed the therapy is successful. How could it not be? This is Pig!
Oh thank you! I certainly concur! He has surprised me every step of the way! I imagine he will pull off some pretty amazing miracles!
 
Did they take those photos for you during that radiation? That’s so cool of them. I loved your vlogs and how open they were to being filmed and explaining all the nerdy details of the SRT.
Yes they did! I had no idea until she showed them to me afterwards... They were quite amazing and the prices are incredible! I imagine they help a lot of people as there are so many (including myself) that just can not really afford 8 grand... WSU has been a saving grace!
they give you or keep his bite block should he have to repeat treatment? I
They actually keep it in their records for just that reason... Should he need to come back... Hopefully, that will not be something we need to do! ;)

Cute scarf, Pig. Does it say I’m a cancer survivor? I guess they ran out of I’m an acro survivor scarves. ;)
It does say that! :rolleyes:
 
Well, I certainly feel like we are finally seeing the effects of those 3 reduced doses and skipped shots. It typically takes a few cycles for him to show and I can only assume that this middle run is just that...
 
Go Pig Go!
Recovery time for the sweet kitteh. Before you know it, Pig will be all the way down to 20 units/dose!
Oh my, Jeff... I don't even remember such a time. When I gave him 30u it was so novel and nice that I only used 1 syringe! But, you are right, it won't be long now. He is trending a bit higher, but his depot is likely very unstable. We will be back on track no later than tomorrow's am cycle!

How is Leo, Little Dude, and Theresa?
 
Everyone is doing well here. You are driving back to the heat. Well, we had a decent spring anyhow. LD likes the spring. Both boys will start spending more time inside during the oven months. Attached pic from tonight - Leo on the "whale" scratching pad. He has 15 soft places to sleep, and he often sleeps on that hard cardboard, the goofball.

Leo's SRT Summary
Here is a summary I just made of Leo's SRT. I hope you can see it.
The SRT date was (9/25/2016) seems kind of obvious, based on his dosage drops after that.

He was unregulated at 18.0 units. He probably should have been at 25 units. He was ramping up dosage very quickly, and was not doing well.
By SRT + month 4 - he was about 1/2 of peak dosage.
By SRT + month 8 - he was nearly down to final levels of 4.0 units/dose.
By SRT + month 12 - no change, between 3.0-5.0 units/dose, I suspect pancreatic diabetes or acro remnant

Cats react differently, but I hope this happens to Pig!

Leo's SRT summary.JPG
 

Attachments

  • Leo on whale scratchpad 05-10-2018b.jpg
    Leo on whale scratchpad 05-10-2018b.jpg
    44.7 KB · Views: 57
What great pictures! What a great kitty is PIG!!
Have a safe trip home. This has been a grand adventure.
I could not agree more! I stopped in a Wal-Mart to get some more strips and on the way out I noticed a wall plaque that I felt was highly indicative of our journey... It read "Love will take you unexpected places, but it will also bring you home".... And I thought to myself, that will do Pig. That will do...
 
Everyone is doing well here. You are driving back to the heat. Well, we had a decent spring anyhow. LD likes the spring. Both boys will start spending more time inside during the oven months. Attached pic from tonight - Leo on the "whale" scratching pad. He has 15 soft places to sleep, and he often sleeps on that hard cardboard, the goofball.

Leo's SRT Summary
Here is a summary I just made of Leo's SRT. I hope you can see it.
The SRT date was (9/25/2016) seems kind of obvious, based on his dosage drops after that.

He was unregulated at 18.0 units. He probably should have been at 25 units. He was ramping up dosage very quickly, and was not doing well.
By SRT + month 4 - he was about 1/2 of peak dosage.
By SRT + month 8 - he was nearly down to final levels of 4.0 units/dose.
By SRT + month 12 - no change, between 3.0-5.0 units/dose, I suspect pancreatic diabetes or acro remnant

Cats react differently, but I hope this happens to Pig!

View attachment 36078
I certainly hope we see results like that! Honestly I would like him to otj! But, decreased need is amazing either way!

Thank you so much for this summary. I am a bit scared of the "what's next", but I know we will manage when the time comes.... Thank you for the pics! Leo is a cutie bug!!
 
That torrential buckets of rain and almost-tornado winds on the last day (near Abilene) of driving back - I still remember it. I was never in anything like it before or since. I hope you only have regular rain and a little thunder to light things up.:eek:
 
That torrential buckets of rain and almost-tornado winds on the last day (near Abilene) of driving back - I still remember it. I was never in anything like it before or since. I hope you only have regular rain and a little thunder to light things up.:eek:
We had to pull off. It got dark fast and the rain was uncanny. We actually ran into several spots that looked like it had a days worth of snow accumulation on the ground and it was nothing more than sleet! It was quite a bumpy ride. Poor Pig was a little more than freaked out. It was a very scary storm! The worst part was that we had the flashers on and were going about 40mph, but these idiots were passing us at like 80-90 mph like it was nothing!!:eek: I know Pig could feel my nerves... :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:

When we made it back to the hotel room we looked at the weather and if we had left a day later we most likely would not have made it through the mountain passes. They all showed a significant amount of snow fall! :eek::eek::eek::eek:
 
Glad you made it through. :bighug: Hopefully better driving weather tomorrow. Did you make it to Montana?
I am not going to lie. I was pretty scared for a bit... Yes. We finally made it into Billings, Montana and seriously lucked out on the hotel. The first one we stopped in had a portal to Narnia and our room was in the very back of the wardrobe. It took me about 7 years to walk to it... :eek: That was a no go. Then I found a locally owned place for cheaper than the chain hotels and the room is freaking huge!

Pig is definitely loving the extra room. He even jumped (flew through the air) from one bed to the next! Surprised me for sure!:woot:
 
"They all showed a significant amount of snow fall!"
I live in Austin. What is this stuff called snow?

Glad you guys found a good hotel. You'll be home in no time.
 
That must be the storm that hit us in Indiana. I was trying to drive home in ping pong ball size hail. They said there was even hen egg sized hail falling in our part of town. I was scared to death with no where to pull over. Just glad the windows were not broken, alot of people did not get so lucky. Yay for zoomies!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top