Pig 04/30 amps 73; +1 76; +10 66; pmps 78 - Civvie Tail Question (and pic)..??

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

Well, since I have moved the Cisapride onto a full belly and I never gave another dose of Bethanechol, Pig is doing far better. He is up and moving around and he has actually gone pee all by himself 2x since I have been home. He did not even want to move on the bethanechol. I am curious if there is something else that would help with this. I will ask WSU, but I am almost positive that something that would relax him, thus his muscles, would do wonders. Of course, once we have SRT and things begin to right themselves, he may just do this all on his own. All is well with Pig today and he is still just surfing right along! Miraculous!

But.... I do have a question about Civie Tail... What would cause a kitties outer ear to become really red and hot to the touch? It was perfectly fine when I went to work and there is no redness in or around the actual ear canal, itself. But, the outer ear looks like it is on fire. He has always had itchy ears from the hairs tickling them and allergies, but they have never become red like this. It is only the one ear...??

I am needing to hoard all my cash for our trip, but if it does not regain normal color we will go to the vet on Thursday. *Sigh* Leave it to Tail... :rolleyes:
 
When you are a really sensitive boy and all you want to do is play with your brother, but your brother has not been feeling so well all the time, and your Mom is totally awesome so she got you a box and bought you a bunch of your very own stuffed kitties to snuggle with.... :joyful:
IMG_20180429_020315522[718].jpg
 
Any chance your civvie Tail got bitten by something? Can you post a pic? Did he have anything put on the ear?

Pig says, reduction - what reduction? :D
 
but I am almost positive that something that would relax him, thus his muscles, would do wonders.
Maybe CBD oil drops? I don't use the oil, I use the capsules that have the powder form but that is because Gizmo won't eat any type of "oil" :rolleyes:

There is a condo on the options in the Think Tank , if you can't find it tag me and I will post a link.

This is what I give Gizmo

https://shop.cannacompanionusa.com/collections/feline

I hide it between layers of a tiny bit of fishy food and let it sit for a few minutes and he eats it right up.

I would check with WSU before giving anything ;):bighug:
 
Can you post a pic? Did he have anything put on the ear?
I am not sure how well you can see the redness. My camera sort of dulled it out a bit. It does look a bit swollen so perhaps he got stung by something when he was hiding...?? It is just the outer ear. I have looked and looked with a flashlight and the redness stops about a quarter inch from the canal. I did put a bit of olive oil on it as this is what I use when his hair is itching the inside of his ear. He has never had an issue with it before, but I put the OO after the redness showed. He will not let me touch it at all... It seems to be quite uncomfortable. I wonder if I could give him a small dose of Gaba just to ease that pain off a bit..??
(his fur looks oily because of the OO)
 

Attachments

  • 0430180550.jpg
    0430180550.jpg
    45.4 KB · Views: 121
  • 0430180553.jpg
    0430180553.jpg
    59 KB · Views: 119
  • 0430180553a.jpg
    0430180553a.jpg
    38.1 KB · Views: 120
Maybe CBD oil drops? I don't use the oil, I use the capsules that have the powder form but that is because Gizmo won't eat any type of "oil" :rolleyes:

There is a condo on the options in the Think Tank , if you can't find it tag me and I will post a link.

This is what I give Gizmo

https://shop.cannacompanionusa.com/collections/feline

I hide it between layers of a tiny bit of fishy food and let it sit for a few minutes and he eats it right up.

I would check with WSU before giving anything ;):bighug:
I am so glad you said this! I had intended to look into them when @Stacy & Asia were trying them out, but with everything else I forgot! I will do the reading on it, but I think you are right. I need to consult with WSU first. Thank you!!!
 
I am so glad you said this! I had intended to look into them when @Stacy & Asia were trying them out, but with everything else I forgot! I will do the reading on it, but I think you are right. I need to consult with WSU first. Thank you!!!

There were a lot of selling points on the canna, may help everything from heart disease to inflammation to diabetes and pain. At the end of the day, it’s pretty tough to measure some of those claims. I haven’t noticed much of anything other than it does provide complementary pain relief. I decreased Asia’s bupe dose by 25% after starting the canna because she started getting saucer eyed again on a dose that wasn’t too much previously. That’s a pretty big deal in itself considering they are supposed to build a tolerance to opioids and they should need more bupe, not less as time goes on. I would be cautious to try anything new before the SRT so talking with them about it sounds like a great plan. It is currently being studied in dogs, it has not been studied in cats. The canna companion people will give you a free phone consult (with a vet or a vet tech), a lengthy one at that, should you have any questions before deciding if you want to try it. They have had many cats on it successfully and the only noted side effect (besides like anything, a rare allergic reaction) is possible sleepiness in the first week which should go away. Asia didn’t have that even in the first week.
 
There were a lot of selling points on the canna, may help everything from heart disease to inflammation to diabetes and pain. At the end of the day, it’s pretty tough to measure some of those claims. I haven’t noticed much of anything other than it does provide complementary pain relief. I decreased Asia’s bupe dose by 25% after starting the canna because she started getting saucer eyed again on a dose that wasn’t too much previously. That’s a pretty big deal in itself considering they are supposed to build a tolerance to opioids and they should need more bupe, not less as time goes on. I would be cautious to try anything new before the SRT so talking with them about it sounds like a great plan. It is currently being studied in dogs, it has not been studied in cats. The canna companion people will give you a free phone consult (with a vet or a vet tech), a lengthy one at that, should you have any questions before deciding if you want to try it. They have had many cats on it successfully and the only noted side effect (besides like anything, a rare allergic reaction) is possible sleepiness in the first week which should go away. Asia didn’t have that even in the first week.

I will say this... The thought that it will give some complementary pain relief is a big selling point for me. Pig has some arthritis in his lower half, of this I am sure. I also feel a lot of what I see as far as outward symptoms are related to pain, which is related to the Manx syndrome. Not only does his spine stop at his hip joint, but his hip and lower end rotate a bit to the left if you are looking down on him from behind. The major issue being that I refuse to use Tramadol and the Bupe is constipating. I have heard of some felines getting over 100mg of Gaba, but again, things like in excess really worry me in regards to organ function. If the Cana can add to the Gaba then we are in business. However, I do think that you are right and a conversation with WSU is in order. However, I will say your report on how Asia is dealing with it is very heartening!! Thank you! :bighug: I know ECID, but for me it seems worth a shot at the very least..

How is Miss Asia handling the Adequan. I have been trying to follow along, but things have been so very busy... :confused:
 
Well.... It would seem that Tail is not to be out done... His ear canal is starting to become sensitive to the touch as well. *Sigh* Oh Tail... :rolleyes::(
 
It almost looks like a scratch that got infected? Maybe an insect bite? A boil? Maybe put some Neosporin on it. Can't hurt. Use a Qtip.
Sending healing vines to Tail.
Pig looks good. When do you leave for the SRT?
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It almost looks like a scratch that got infected? Maybe an insect bite? A boil? Maybe put some Neosporin on it. Can't hurt. Use a Qtip.
Yes, I agree. I am worried maybe one of those pesky little black ants got in there...?? He is not shaking his head or itching the ear like he would with mites. His ear had not waxy build up like it would if it was infected... But, it is sensitive to the touch. Otherwise he acts 100%. This boy is always getting into trouble. He likes to eat spiders too and he will get a bite on his jaw and lips a few times a summer. We went through all that last year... He may be ten, but he is as curious and crazy as a kitten and has never really learned any lessons... Lol. He is notorious for getting into sticky situations.

Pig is doing marvelous with the exception of being constipated, but that is a normal thing now. I am looking into maybe a colectomy, but would like to avoid that if at all possible. For now, though, SRT. We leave the morning of the 4th, so Friday. Only a few days away!!
 
I will say this... The thought that it will give some complementary pain relief is a big selling point for me. Pig has some arthritis in his lower half, of this I am sure. I also feel a lot of what I see as far as outward symptoms are related to pain, which is related to the Manx syndrome. Not only does his spine stop at his hip joint, but his hip and lower end rotate a bit to the left if you are looking down on him from behind. The major issue being that I refuse to use Tramadol and the Bupe is constipating. I have heard of some felines getting over 100mg of Gaba, but again, things like in excess really worry me in regards to organ function. If the Cana can add to the Gaba then we are in business. However, I do think that you are right and a conversation with WSU is in order. However, I will say your report on how Asia is dealing with it is very heartening!! Thank you! :bighug: I know ECID, but for me it seems worth a shot at the very least..

How is Miss Asia handling the Adequan. I have been trying to follow along, but things have been so very busy... :confused:

It is very helpful for pain management and as far as I can tell, it doesn’t make them loopy or out of it, which was a big deal to me! I don’t want her to be out of it, I want her to be more with it, just without pain. It’s also helpful that she gets less bupe so that means less side effects from it and less money (it’s pricey, here at least).

Adequan is going well, she has itched her ear 3 times with her hind leg (hasn’t done in a very long time prior to this), she doesn’t walk like a dinosaur, and she even slept curled up a bit today instead of stretched out. Little things, she still isn’t jumping, but I will take it. If she doesn’t get stuck upside down like a turtle and can get into a poo position without struggle, I will consider it a big success. :)
 
Adequan is going well, she has itched her ear 3 times with her hind leg (hasn’t done in a very long time prior to this), she doesn’t walk like a dinosaur, and she even slept curled up a bit today instead of stretched out. Little things, she still isn’t jumping, but I will take it. If she doesn’t get stuck upside down like a turtle and can get into a poo position without struggle, I will consider it a big success.
Oh this sounds great to me! Yay Asia! How many weekly injects have you given as of yet? I did not notice the full effects of it until after the 4th week. It is cumulative. However, I will say this and you might want to ask your vet about it, I give Pig his Adequan weekly. You are suppose to level it out to 2x or 1x a month. Considering it is basically a synthetic of a natural (how it was explained to me) then I do not think there is any harm in it. My vet is very hesitant to prescribe anything that gives lasting side effect or organ damage. The Adequan she said is incredibly safe and she gives it to all her felines weekly as well.

Don’t forget to link us to your vlog! :woot:
Absolutely! I got the camera in the other day, so all of you can see all of it! I am not certain they will allow it in the hospital, but its worth a shot and the information can be invaluable! Especially to the Acro/IAA/Cushing thread... I will probably set that up there and still post numbers in L&L.... So excited and so nervous!
 
That 58 last night makes me a little nervous. It's a perfectly safe number but not one I'd want to see on the road. I'm sort of wondering if you should take him down 5 units tomorrow. That way we'll have 3 days at that dose before you go. The larger depot will be gone and we'll get a good idea of what his on the road cycles will look like.

How long are the driving days going to be? If Pig is one of those cats that don't want to eat in the car, that could also change the picture.
 
It’s in the +1’s on her SS, she’s had 4 of the 8 every 4 day loading doses, and #5 tomorrow, so just under 3 weeks. The first shot she itched her ear once, and then everything else just started happening, it’s exciting. I would love it if she jumps again, she has always preferred high places to the ground and it’s sad she can’t enjoy them much anymore. I gave her stairs to her cat tree, but it only gets her to the first platform.

I’m glad to hear it’s safe enough, I assumed some risk when I started it, but the way I figure, a little more mobility and QoL is a fair trade for the downside. I read the studies they did with beagles, it seems the dangers were happening with the absurdly dosed group and the not quite absurd, but more than you would reasonably give group.

If they did let you film in the hospital, that would be amazing and informative for so many kitties, but even if they don’t, I’m just excited to follow the journey to Pig feeling better! :cat:
 
I took my iPad into CSU. Part of the last day was a tour of the facility, including the radiation room. I took pictures and recorded my conversation with the radiologist, otherwise I would have forgotten so much. It was like being at the opposite end of a fire hose. :p First time DH was there with me. Both being technical people, it was fascinating.
 
That 58 last night makes me a little nervous. It's a perfectly safe number but not one I'd want to see on the road. I'm sort of wondering if you should take him down 5 units tomorrow. That way we'll have 3 days at that dose before you go. The larger depot will be gone and we'll get a good idea of what his on the road cycles will look like.

How long are the driving days going to be? If Pig is one of those cats that don't want to eat in the car, that could also change the picture.
Okay... So, I will look at decreasing his dose by 5u in the morning to 45uL. Per our planning the drive times should run accordingly:

Day 1: 9 hours
Day 2: 10-10.5 hours
Day 3: 9 hours.

I feel confident that he will eat in the car, but I cannot be 100% positive. However, I tend to agree with you and want to err on the side of caution.
 
It’s in the +1’s on her SS, she’s had 4 of the 8 every 4 day loading doses, and #5 tomorrow, so just under 3 weeks. The first shot she itched her ear once, and then everything else just started happening, it’s exciting. I would love it if she jumps again, she has always preferred high places to the ground and it’s sad she can’t enjoy them much anymore. I gave her stairs to her cat tree, but it only gets her to the first platform.
I did not even think about looking at her SS... I am sorry. My mind is a scrambled egg right now. It would be amazing if she would jump again! I know Pig's upward motility greatly improved after the 4th injection. I hope that she continues to see improvement!

Do you have that Beagle study handy? I would be very interested in reading it. I could not find anything like it on my searches.


And omg that would be amazing if they allowed the camera in the hospital! It would be an informational hot bed! I agree, though, either way good days are to come!
 
Part of the last day was a tour of the facility, including the radiation room.
Oh wow!! How amazing! I can only imagine how informative and captivating the whole experience was.... I, personally, cannot wait! I think I am just so ready to finally have some conclusive answers instead of my personal guesses. I put an insane amount into research and often I am correct, but to hear the confirmation is where I feel better.... Lol!
 
Day 1: 9 hours
Day 2: 10-10.5 hours
Day 3: 9 hours.
That's kind of what our days looked like when we drove. I left about an hour after AMPS to make sure Neko had time to eat a good amount and use the LB. She pretty quickly learned to hit the LB early before we left. And it gave us enough time to get settled and ready for PMPS.
 
That's kind of what our days looked like when we drove. I left about an hour after AMPS to make sure Neko had time to eat a good amount and use the LB. She pretty quickly learned to hit the LB early before we left. And it gave us enough time to get settled and ready for PMPS.
Yes... This is about what we were planning on doing. I was thinking around 1-1.5 hours after amps. I like this plan....
 
Under toxicity:

http://www.adequancanine.com/PDF/Adequan-Canine-Insert-19Feb18.pdf

That’s also where I found out you should only puncture the vial a maximum of 10 times. I asked about this at the vet and they seriously looked at me like I was crazy, I guess they ignore that part. :rolleyes:
Thank you! And, really on the 10 times? Of course I was never told this.... Now I am pretty worried. Why would they fill the vial with that many doses if you can technically and safely only give 10 our of it?

I know that they recently (as in the last year or so) changed their shelf life from about 9 months to 3... However, my vet assured me that as long as it was clear and not cloudy that it should be fine. However, now after reading this I am a little more concerned.
 
Thank you! And, really on the 10 times? Of course I was never told this.... Now I am pretty worried. Why would they fill the vial with that many doses if you can technically and safely only give 10 our of it?

I know that they recently (as in the last year or so) changed their shelf life from about 9 months to 3... However, my vet assured me that as long as it was clear and not cloudy that it should be fine. However, now after reading this I am a little more concerned.

I only assume it’s because the more you puncture it, the more you can allow bacteria to get into the vial? I just keep it in a sealed prescription bottle and wipe with alcohol before puncturing it to be extra cautious, it does contain a preservative. I assume it says something like this on insulin too? Or any injectable vial for that matter. I guess this one just stood out to me because I researched it before I asked the vet to prescribe it.

I’d have to puncture it 25 times to use it up, more like 20 since I always overdrawl and shoot out the excess because of air bubbles, but still, that’s double what is recommended. It says it’s only good for 28 days anyway.

I think the reasoning for both of those precautions is because they only studied it for 4 weeks in dogs and thus recommend a maximum of 8 doses (not per bottle, per dog, 8 and done) for that reason, so you would have no need to use it up. It’s a CYA on the drug companies part.
 
t is very helpful for pain management and as far as I can tell, it doesn’t make them loopy or out of it, which was a big deal to me
I have found this to be true also. It seems that it eases the pain and relaxes him and definitely makes Gizmo more comfortable. I don't give it consistently unless he is having a pancreatitis flare.
 
I only assume it’s because the more you puncture it, the more you can allow bacteria to get into the vial? I just keep it in a sealed prescription bottle and wipe with alcohol before puncturing it to be extra cautious, it does contain a preservative. I assume it says something like this on insulin too? Or any injectable vial for that matter. I guess this one just stood out to me because I researched it before I asked the vet to prescribe it.

I’d have to puncture it 25 times to use it up, more like 20 since I always overdrawl and shoot out the excess because of air bubbles, but still, that’s double what is recommended. It says it’s only good for 28 days anyway.

I think the reasoning for both of those precautions is because they only studied it for 4 weeks in dogs and thus recommend a maximum of 8 doses (not per bottle, per dog, 8 and done) for that reason, so you would have no need to use it up. It’s a CYA on the drug companies part.
Okay.. Yes, this makes sense. I have not read the insert so this is all news to me. I should have, I know, but it was never given to me. I am going purely off what my vet has told me. I researched everything else.... I know when I get a vial from my vet it has a exp. date roughly 2-3 months from the date of purchase printed on the bottle. However, I also know like the Insulin, they only recommend it for x amount of days past the day the seal is broached. I just hope it is like, say, the R... They recommend that you use that in 28 days then get a new bottle, but I have not seen any decrease in its potency far after that date. I imagine that the bacteria is a possibility for sure. I also wonder how careful the companies are when it comes to dates like that. Sort of how a potato chip is still good months after the stale date, but they company does not want to take any chances. I do not either. I suppose it is time for a new bottle. :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top