Pierre *19 aug 2025 dx*

Also I looked at your labs you should not have gotten rid of the reference ranges that were there , you should have left them and entered Pierre's numbers to the right of the ranges and put the date up top

Take a look at my Tyler's labs and you will see what I'm talking about
@PierreW
i was just looking at that. the reference ranges are different on my lab sheet. I'm still working through the different abbreviations, I did plan on putting them back.
 
7hrs. (and 15 minutes)
Ok I saw you put it in the 8 cell or square
The way we would enter it if it wasn't exactly on the hour you would put in the 7 cell or square like this
156 +7.025 . The 0.35 means 15 minutes and you would then have to color code it manually to blue
If you can't do that I would put the 156 in the 7 square and leave it there
@PierreW
 
when I offered to the vet ER to call around myself. she said "ask if they have either u-100 OR 3/10 OR 12.7mm... at this point I have no idea what I'm really asking for (syringe/something having to do with the insulin directly...etc) so I'm saying the words and the pharmacist at a Publix says "we don't have that, no one is going to have that if you don't know what you're asking for"..so I did the search through my online Rx and that's where I found that specific one.

The ER vet doesn't know what she's talking about :facepalm: It's on her for failing to tell you exactly what to ask for and what exactly the thing is. You could make a complaint to the ER manager if you want.

Asking for 12.7mm or 3/10 means nothing to a pharmacist. U100 could be insulin or syringes.

Any pharmacy sells the Lantus pens. Human diabetics use them. The prescription from the vet has to specify the pens. If your vet is not familiar with pens, share the info here on FDMB with the vet.
 
The ER vet doesn't know what she's talking about :facepalm: It's on her for failing to tell you exactly what to ask for and what exactly the thing is. You could make a complaint to the ER manager if you want.

Asking for 12.7mm or 3/10 means nothing to a pharmacist. U100 could be insulin or syringes.

Any pharmacy sells the Lantus pens. Human diabetics use them. The prescription from the vet has to specify the pens. If your vet is not familiar with pens, share the info here on FDMB with the vet.
the entire experience was messy to say the least. i was shocked when they said "your pharmacy doesnt carry it" and i was thinking "my pharmacy doesnt have insulin? how strange"...why would we need to be contacting 20 local pharmacies for syringes, i could have easily ordered them had they given me exactly what i needed. they specifically said not to refrigerate the insulin or other meds.

i dont think ill have any issues with the insulin rx itself. i just saw that my request for the syringes to be mailed with my flea/tick meds was approved so hopefully i only have to find 8-10 syringes to hold me over until they arrive. and then after im done with the 100 that come in that box, ill be able to buy them cheaper somewhere else.
 
156 is a very nice number for early on. Well done getting that test! The normal process at preshot time (AM and PM) is to test the blood glucose (BG) to make sure it's safe to shoot, then feed, then shoot. Often people give the insulin while kitty's head is in the food bowl. Mine finished her food is less than 30 seconds so I did it afterwards.

As far as feeding after that, it's best to give the majority of food in the first half of the cycle (time between the shots) as that's when the insulin it most effective. And that's also the time when kitty may need food to help his numbers from dropping too fast or too low. A "typical" Lantus cycle has the low point around 6 hours after the shot, but there is a lot of variability over cat and time.

Several small meals are fine. Over time, you'll fine what feeding mechanism works best for Pierre. We have a saying here, ECID or every cat is different. How they react to food/carbs can differ, as well as how they utilize the insulin in their body.

Most feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies
Not true, I didn't. A number of members do, as they can be cost effective. Fancy Feast is fine, but if a cat also has kidney disease (common in older cats), it's not a good option as it's too high in phosphorus. What you feed your cat is personal choice.
 
156 is a very nice number for early on. Well done getting that test! The normal process at preshot time (AM and PM) is to test the blood glucose (BG) to make sure it's safe to shoot, then feed, then shoot. Often people give the insulin while kitty's head is in the food bowl. Mine finished her food is less than 30 seconds so I did it afterward
this is exactly what i mean when i said "i know nothing"...why wouldnt they want me to test and record bg? safe to shoot? ya know? why not tell me all of this stuff. im just over here giving him his shot at specific times all willy nilly...

ok so what is safe to shoot? how do i find out what will work for him? the ER told and gave me absolutely nothing but a $11,000 bill 😒
*i will have access to it tomorrow hopefully via my primary* and i also hope she gives me way more info.
 
In case you ever want to switch food
You might want to try Weruva Pates
low carb/ low phosphorus
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus with kitties with CKD and diabetes
New member 11/8 and I am tired

You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts. This is where I was told where to look by a member


You can even check out the soulistic pates
PÂTÉ — Soulistic Pet
When you click in one of the flavors then click on
COMPLETE NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION (link to page)
and look at the same two places like on the weruva
@PierreW
 
this is exactly what i mean when i said "i know nothing"...why wouldnt they want me to test and record bg? safe to shoot? ya know? why not tell me all of this stuff. im just over here giving him his shot at specific times all willy nilly...

ok so what is safe to shoot? how do i find out what will work for him? the ER told and gave me absolutely nothing but a $11,000 bill 😒
*i will have access to it tomorrow hopefully via my primary* and i also hope she gives me way more info.
I'll let @Wendy&Neko answer your question

@PierreW
 
Last edited:
FWIW, I was shown how to shoot by a locum vet who said it might be a good idea sometime to learn how to test. It took 3 monthe before I did my first home test. And that was by a different (and better) locum vet who also switched us to Lantus. Not all people home test, but we also see people here who are prescribed way too high a dose and are fighting to keep their cat from hypo. People with diabetic children always test the blood sugar before shooting. Cats are the same, they can't tell us how they feel.

As far as safe to shoot goes, we almost always shoot at least something if a kitty has recently had DKA. We may wait a bit for his numbers to come up a bit first. DKA comes from not enough food+not enough insulin+some infection or systemic inflammation. Hence the need to make sure he eats well and gets his insulin at this point. Once you do the test tonight, post what it is. Anything over 200 is OK to shoot right away but below that, hold off and we can strategize how/when to shoot.
 
FWIW, I was shown how to shoot by a locum vet who said it might be a good idea sometime to learn how to test. It took 3 monthe before I did my first home test. And that was by a different (and better) locum vet who also switched us to Lantus. Not all people home test, but we also see people here who are prescribed way too high a dose and are fighting to keep their cat from hypo. People with diabetic children always test the blood sugar before shooting. Cats are the same, they can't tell us how they feel.

As far as safe to shoot goes, we almost always shoot at least something if a kitty has recently had DKA. We may wait a bit for his numbers to come up a bit first. DKA comes from not enough food+not enough insulin+some infection or systemic inflammation. Hence the need to make sure he eats well and gets his insulin at this point. Once you do the test tonight, post what it is. Anything over 200 is OK to shoot right away but below that, hold off and we can strategize how/when to shoot.
330 he’s eaten and received his insulin
 
330 he’s eaten and received his insulin
@PierreW
As Wendy said
Once you do the test tonight, post what it is. Anything over 200 is OK to shoot right away but below that, hold off and we can strategize how/when to shoot.


So it was ok to shoot the 2 units please enter it on your spreadsheet
Try to get some tests in after that
 
@PierreW
Hi can I ask you your name if you don't mind.

Hi Michaele
There are 65 posts here, when we hit 50 posts we like to start a new one and link this post to the new one .
You can start this tomorrow morning .
Tap on the Feline Health ( welcome an
In the title you can put the Date, Pierre,and his AMPS number ,


I deleted how to link your previous post because it was not correct , ,I used to know how to link it before the site changed .
I can tag some members who will know how to link it. I will also post the question again below
@PierreW

Hi everyone can you explain how to link the previous post to Michaele , the member is new and I don't know how to do it since the site change Thank you
@Staci & Ivy
@Bandit's Mom
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Tim & Pookey

Thanks everyone



 
Last edited:
@PierreW
As Wendy said
Once you do the test tonight, post what it is. Anything over 200 is OK to shoot right away but below that, hold off and we can strategize how/when to shoot.


So it was ok to shoot the 2 units please enter it on your spreadsheet
Try to get some tests in after that
ok. any specific amount of time? hours? thank you
 
ok. any specific amount of time? hours? thank you
Try and test again @+3 and @+6 and if you are still up a +8
Same goes for the day cycle
Then the next day you can get a test in @+4 and a +7 for both cycles
The more tests the better
Like filling in the pieces of a puzzle
Of course if you get a really low number Post for Help in your Title

To add the additional tests in your title to the right tap on where it says Thread Tools , then tap on Edit Title add the additional tests and tap save

Here is just an EXAMPLE ONLY
Date Pierre AMPS 300, 250 @+3, 200 @+6

Please add how many units you gave tonight on your spreadsheet 😊
 
@PierreW
Hi can I ask you your name if you don't mind.

Hi Michaele
There are 65 posts here, when we hit 50 posts we like to start a new one and link this post to the new one .
You can start this tomorrow morning .
Go to the Feline Health ( welcome and main forum and tap on Post Thread
In the title you can put the Date, Pierre,and his AMPS number , then where you would write something copy and then paste

Pierre *19 aug 2025 dx* where you have it up top​

to your new post tomorrow morning
To past it just press your finger down and tap paste.
I hope I explained it correctly because they have changed the site and I knew how to explain it better. I'll look for it tomorrow morning

We always link the previous posts in case members want to go back and re read something
@PierreW

Got it
 
2-3 hours is a good amount of time. If Pierre is going to have an active cycle that needs more monitoring, typically that +2-+3 test will be quite a bit lower than the PMPS test.
Is any kind of feeding typically withheld for this repetitive monitoring?

I’m still reading through to better understand exactly how food has an affect on everything.
They have always been “multiple small meals throughout the day” and they don’t always finish in that same sitting. Do I pick it up after a specific amount of time.. I’m looking at what’s best for Pierre, but with 2 other cats I sometimes have to take them into consideration. I’ll feed them all the same thing at the same time and the same portion BUT if food is left over or they bowl hop, is that a problem? Sorry that was a ramble. I do want what’s best but it’s truly daunting with a house full of busy kids and this part of life is 100% on me to manage.

They all really only recently started to let me sleep longer than 4 hours before I was being crawled all over and nibbled. Of course once there is movement in the house, the entire menagerie is expecting something too.
 
Is any kind of feeding typically withheld for this repetitive monitoring?
No, feed as normal. You want to see what would happen when you are feeding as you normally do. It's OK if Pierre is a grazer and doesn't eat it all at once. Ideally while you are still learning, you should pick up food 2 hours before shot time so that his preshot test value is not influenced by what he's just eating. The meals can raise his numbers making it look like he's higher and safe to shoot.
 
Hi everyone can you explain how to link the previous post to Michaele , the member is new and I don't know how to do it since the site change Thank you
@Staci & Ivy
@Bandit's Mom
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Tim & Pookey

@PierreW
One of these members can explain how to link your thread /post to the one you will start today (Tues 8-26)

Thanks everyone
I will insert screen shots here to give you an idea of where to insert the link to your last post.
You want to click on the paper clip icon and that opens up a box for you to insert the last post (you highlight that day's post at the bottom of the page, copy and paste that information into the top URL box. Then name that link what you'd like in the Text Box (ie. yesterday or 8/25/25 or Monday, etc).
I hope this makes sense, if not ask us questions and we can try to explain it better.
IMG_9942.jpeg
IMG_9943.jpeg
 
Back
Top