? picchu not eating

Status
Not open for further replies.
we are due for his injection. he is refusing to eatbfor the first time. we tried 3 different type of wet food, warming it, adding hot water, adding food topper, adding powdered of kibbles, finally relenting and giving him DM prescription kibbles (he ate about a 1/16 of a cup). tried more tricks, finally relenting and tried his regular kibbles (full of carbs) he wont eat. he is also licking plastic qnd trying to hide. He hasnt pooped in about 36 hours.
his BG is 372, stable (usually higher around this time). he is alert, but acting odd, looking lost, walking around and going to places he doesnt usually hang out at.
i am assuming we should skip his injection as directed by the vet since he is not eating.
His anti nausea meds was 90 minutes ago, which should make him hungry.
he last ate a small tiny bit maybe 5-6 hours ago.
 
Regarding the spreadsheet, the U cell is for Units, or size of dose given. For tonight, if you don't give a shot, put "skip" or something like that. But you really should shoot. 1/6 of a cup is a good start on food.

Since he is recent DKA, skipping is a not a good idea. You can give insulin a little later if it's not too far past his shot time. You can shoot 11.5 hours later tomorrow morning and slowly make up time shooting 15 minutes earlier each cycle or 1/2 once per day.

Please test for ketones tonight.
 
ketones showed as traces. he had a bowel movement then another that was diarrhea. he has been in and out of the litter quickly all day. reduced his water consumption drastically today, seems out of it. he still refuses to eat, it is 3 hours past his evening feeding time. he is sleeping now, calmed down from all the loud confused meowing after finally peeing a bit.
we didnt inject after speaking to the ER vet.
His BG is 356, fairly stable for last couple of hours.
 
Do you have any anti nausea medications like ondansetron or Cerenia? He really needs to eat to combat the potential for DKA.
 
I agree with Wendy. Skipping the dose of insulin is not a good idea and with him not eating and a trace of ketones, he is in a precarious position. Please make sure you get the nausea sorted out asap and please don’t skip any more doses of insulin with DKA in the very recent past
 
Hi, he is already on Cerenia. We gave him his dose of Cerenia at 7.30 last night and it actually seemed to kick start all these issues. He was doing fine before that. He started feeling more like himself around 1-2am. Did eat some, asking for water. the ER vet told us to skip the insuline. He spent the whole night on HI (>400) and this morning was very thirsty. He is eating a bit more and we will resume with insuline if he eats enough. I called my regular vet as well for advice.
 
You should resume with insulin regardless of how much he eats. The question is half dose or full dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top