Lindsay & Phoenix
Member Since 2011
Hello Lantus people! I have been posting on the main board but am in need of some support and advice from diabetic parents with Lantus knowledge. Phoenix was diagnosed just over a week ago with a BG of 500 and he was started at 2 units twice daily. Three days later, at the Vet's office, he was at 378 so they upped dosage to 3 units. Then, Friday morning, 5/13 he was at 194 at the Vet's. They kept him at 3 units. So far I have seen 3 of the 4 vets who work at my clinic and they all seem to be on the same page as each other, but that is different from everything I am reading here. In fact, the Vet on Friday told me to always leave some dry food down for grazing. I want to pull dry food completely. I started on more wet food back in February before we were diagnosed simply for weight loss and since he was diagnosed I am giving 2-3 cans of low carb wet daily for both of my cats to share. I have read on here that it would be a very bad idea to pull the dry food completely with his Lantus being at 3 units. Also, I should mention that I have my home testing stuff on the way in the mail and will begin as soon as it arrives. After all of that, I suppose my real question is once I have my testing supplies and can do a curve to see what kind of numbers I get, what should I reduce the Lantus to when I pull dry food? Some have suggested 1 unit twice daily, others 1.5.
Thanks in advance
Lindsay, Phoenix, and Gob
Thanks in advance
Lindsay, Phoenix, and Gob