Phoenix Dropped to 36

Scdal

Member Since 2020
Phoenix was 97 at AMPS. I gave him his insulin since I have shot at 84BG before. It is +1 and he is at 36 BG. He is acting ok. He has had pancreatititis once in the past so my vet doesn't want me giving dry food. I gave him about 7 or 8 pieces of dry food just now because he won't eat canned food. I have honey and corn syrup but I thought the dry food would be easier since he likes it.
I will test again in 10 minutes but I need to know what fo do if it drops further.
 
Thank you for your advice. I will do that next time. I just checked his BG again and it has risen to 92 BG so I have taken off the 911. I will continue to monitor after 30 minutes until I know he is safe.
It looks like Phoenix has earned a reduction on his insulin. But his BG is all over the place. He goes from low numbers to up to 390 in the same day. I have started to give him midnight snacks to try to even things out.
What do all of you suggest that I do as far as his insulin dose? Should I keep it at 8 units or reduce it? I kind of hate to reduce his dose due to the high BG in the same day. Does anyone else have this problem?
 
He dropped more because he didn’t eat from what I gather. Did he eat anything before he got his insulin?
 
Yes, he ate his breakfast before I gave him his insulin. I cup of deboned cornish hen. I never give his insulin unless he has eaten.
 
I couldn’t tell by what you wrote. Thanks for the clarification. No tests yesterday? I’m sure there were. Would you fill in the ss when you have time please?
 
Yesterday's tests are dated Nov. 3. For some reason, line 215 on my spreadsheet is blank with no date. I didn't notice this when I was filling out his readings. I will go back on the spreadsheet later today when I have time and move all his info down one space.
 
I agree with Elise :) and I can fix the SS.

Any number below 40 requires at least a. 0.25u reduction. However, since you are doing SLGS, the reduction number is actually below 90.

The reason his BG looks like it does is because he dives and bounces. With cats like that, you must test early and feed the curve to stop the drop. If you don’t learn how to do that, you will constantly be in this up/down mode with him sometimes dropping us safely low. Deboned meat with no carbs is not the best choice. Most diabetic cats do better with a food in the 6-10% carb range.

I’m glad you got him safely up.
 
I agree with Elise :) and I can fix the SS.

Any number below 40 requires at least a. 0.25u reduction. However, since you are doing SLGS, the reduction number is actually below 90.

The reason his BG looks like it does is because he dives and bounces. With cats like that, you must test early and feed the curve to stop the drop. If you don’t learn how to do that, you will constantly be in this up/down mode with him sometimes dropping us safely low. Deboned meat with no carbs is not the best choice. Most diabetic cats do better with a food in the 6-10% carb range.

I’m glad you got him safely up.
I can't give him carbs. He has had pancreatititis and is not supposed to have any. His vet told me this. I had dry food on hand this morning because I have barn cats that I feed it to.

I am not sure if I got him safely up with the dry food. He may have been on the rebound any way.
L
 
Who told you that about pancreatitis? It’s not true. Max had chronic pancreatitis for years. Some cats react to high fat diets if they have pancreatitis but not all. I have never read ni4 did my vet who is a diplomat of internal medicine ever say that.
 
I agree with Elise :) and I can fix the SS.

Any number below 40 requires at least a. 0.25u reduction. However, since you are doing SLGS, the reduction number is actually below 90.

The reason his BG looks like it does is because he dives and bounces. With cats like that, you must test early and feed the curve to stop the drop. If you don’t learn how to do that, you will constantly be in this up/down mode with him sometimes dropping us safely low. Deboned meat with no carbs is not the best choice. Most diabetic cats do better with a food in the 6-10% carb range.

I’m glad you got him safely up.
 
I agree with Elise :) and I can fix the SS.

Any number below 40 requires at least a. 0.25u reduction. However, since you are doing SLGS, the reduction number is actually below 90.

The reason his BG looks like it does is because he dives and bounces. With cats like that, you must test early and feed the curve to stop the drop. If you don’t learn how to do that, you will constantly be in this up/down mode with him sometimes dropping us safely low. Deboned meat with no carbs is not the best choice. Most diabetic cats do better with a food in the 6-10% carb range.

I’m glad you got him safely up.
I fed him at 1 a.m. this morning when he was at 203. That was +6. At +9, he was at 189 which wasn't much of a drop. So, how do you determine when to feed? I am trying to do what Wendy suggested by giving him a midnight snack. At what BG do you suggest giving him a snack? I believe maybe I should try his snack around +9 and see how that works. I will decrease his dose by .25 tonight. Thank you for your advice. I am really trying to get this right.
 
If you only drop him by 0.25 units, you will need to watch him closely. With a high dose cat, though we don’t know why, a drop into the 30’s is a warning to be careful. You are dealing with a large depot and the bounce breaking made him come down fast. I always reduced by 0.5 units when on that high a dose.
 
Hi Wendy, do you think I should reduce his dose this evening by .50? It is still 2 hours before his insulin is due. He is already in the low 300's. I will do what you advise. Thanks
 
I fed him at 1 a.m. this morning when he was at 203. That was +6. At +9, he was at 189 which wasn't much of a drop. So, how do you determine when to feed? I am trying to do what Wendy suggested by giving him a midnight snack. At what BG do you suggest giving him a snack? I believe maybe I should try his snack around +9 and see how that works. I will decrease his dose by .25 tonight. Thank you for your advice. I am really trying to get this right.
Feeding at +9 can cause his Preshots to be higher. I also agree with Elise that it would seem odd that carbs would cause pancreatitis. Never say never but I’m wondering if he got confused.

Here is a good discussion on how to feed the curve that is dropping. See post 15.

I definitely agree with Wendy that a 0.5u reduction is appropriate for a high dose cat. I should have explained I was trying to address your concern about reducing while still trying to keep him safe. I see your dropped the dose 0.5u and that’s absolutely fine. You can always go back up.
 
Back
Top