Phoebe Squeak is getting her dental right now. She's home! -- updated added

J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

Member Since 2019
Thanks to everyone for all the advice and good wishes regarding Phoebe Squeak's dental. I'm so glad I knew what to ask when I met with the dentist this morning!
They don't know if she will need extractions, but if she does, they typically use covenia for an AB, but I requested clindamycin after everything I read here and he did not object.
They use buprenorphine for pain if needed, so that's good.
I did not give any insulin this morning (with dentist's approval) because her BG sometimes has dramatic slides down even with her food and since she couldn't eat after midnight, I didn't want to take a chance.
I didn't test her BG this morning because I knew it would change the minute I put her in her carrier and they said they will spot check it during her dental.
Waiting for the phone call to hear how everything went.
Hope all of you & yours are safe.
 
Thanks to everyone for all the advice and good wishes regarding Phoebe Squeak's dental. I'm so glad I knew what to ask when I met with the dentist this morning!
They don't know if she will need extractions, but if she does, they typically use covenia for an AB, but I requested clindamycin after everything I read here and he did not object.
They use buprenorphine for pain if needed, so that's good.
I did not give any insulin this morning (with dentist's approval) because her BG sometimes has dramatic slides down even with her food and since she couldn't eat after midnight, I didn't want to take a chance.
I didn't test her BG this morning because I knew it would change the minute I put her in her carrier and they said they will spot check it during her dental.
Waiting for the phone call to hear how everything went.
Hope all of you & yours are safe.
Keep us updated. Good luck!!! :bighug:
 
Well, the dentist just called. She needed 3 extractions.:eek:
He said her BG was 440 before he started and 546 after he finished so they gave her 1/2 unit of fast acting insulin. He said if she eats I can give her regular dose tonight.
They are sending her home with buprenorphine for pain.
He said the teeth came out quite easily because they were diseased and he did not have to drill into bone. He is not sending her home with an AB which surprised me, but he said it's the new protocol.
I can pick her up in 2 & 1/2 hours.
Thanks again to all for the support & wisdom!
 
Well, the dentist just called. She needed 3 extractions.:eek:
He said her BG was 440 before he started and 546 after he finished so they gave her 1/2 unit of fast acting insulin. He said if she eats I can give her regular dose tonight.
They are sending her home with buprenorphine for pain.
He said the teeth came out quite easily because they were diseased and he did not have to drill into bone. He is not sending her home with an AB which surprised me, but he said it's the new protocol.
I can pick her up in 2 & 1/2 hours.
Thanks again to all for the support & wisdom!
Wow. Same amount of extractions as Yoshi. They really are dental buddies. I’m sure they will go over this with you, but find out which teeth they pulled. Apparently the back molars can cause a bit more pain. I’m so happy you get to see your baby soon. Get some baby food with some sort of meat and broth. It really helps.
 
Wow. Same amount of extractions as Yoshi. They really are dental buddies. I’m sure they will go over this with you, but find out which teeth they pulled. Apparently the back molars can cause a bit more pain. I’m so happy you get to see your baby soon. Get some baby food with some sort of meat and broth. It really helps.
Thanks. I have 1 jar of baby food, but I'll run and buy more before I pick her up. He said one of the teeth was a molar so I'm glad I'll have pain meds for her. Still sending prayers your way. I'll keep checking for updates on Phoebe Squeak's dental buddy, Yoshi.
 
Poor baby, thank goodness that's over and done. With those teeth gone, I'm sure that being back at home with you will make her feel better really soon.
Sending healing vines to sweet little Phoebe.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much. I'm very surprised she needed any extractions at all, but glad she will feel better now. Can't wait to go get her.
 
These poor kitties and their dental extractions :( Whatever did we do back in the day about our cats who never got to the dentist???

Sending feel better vines to little Phoebes...and her mama too... I know how stressful this all is. :bighug::bighug:
I was thinking about that too -- were all our cats in dental pain years ago and we never knew it?? Thanks for the vines!
 
I'm glad the dental is over. You may want to ask the vet if you can have a prescription for an AB on standby in case you need it. I hope she eats for you tonight. Sending prayers.
Thanks for the good advice! I'll do everything I can to get her to eat tonight. We really appreciate your support. Hope Furball comes out of the lemon tree soon.
 
Phoebe Squeak is home!!!:joyful: She is drugged -- her pupils are huge and her purr sounds like a cartoon dog snoring. But she's acting just the opposite of what I expected. They told me she might just sleep a lot and not eat much. But she's totally hyper and eating like someone gave her a six pack of appetite stimulants! ECID is so true! Her BG was 398 before she ate so I feel like I can give her full dose tonight but I will keep a very close eye on her. We are supposed to give her pain meds every 8-10 hours. I wonder if it will keep her this loopy? Thanks again for all the support, vines and prayers.
 
How is the babe?
Thanks for checking on us -- she has remained pretty stoned & VERY hungry. Her purr still sounds odd, but they said that was normal and should go away in a couple days. I'm not great at squirting the pain meds into her cheek -- the med is supposed to be absorbed by her mouth tissue, but somehow the way I squirt it she swallows it right away. I'll probably get it right on the last dose.:rolleyes:
How's Yoshi today? Do you think his BG was affected by the dental? I think Phoebe Squeak's was -- she's higher than before, but I hope it will resolve in time. They said the stress of the dental could be the cause.
 
It is hard to get the meds in the cheek, but she'll still get some help from it even if she swallows it. Inflammation from the dental can also raise her numbers for a couple of days. Sending more prayers for her recovery.
 
I'm glad Phoebe's dental went so well :)

As for bupe, I put it a drop on my finger at a time, and rub it under Willow's top lip/on the gum. Then treat. Then repeat. That way, I know she gets maximum pain relief, and she sits so well because she knows she gets rewards :)

I also use this pain scale to determine when she needs meds, it has been *such* a help to me:

https://www.avma.org/News/JAVMANews/Pages/191001c.aspx

I've got it printed, and refer to it when I wonder if she's in pain (well, by now it's sort of memorized, I quickly scan her and say, oh she's a 2 or 3, she's fine, or now she's a 4, get the bupe).

Hope this helps, with love, Nikki
 
I'm glad Phoebe's dental went so well :)

As for bupe, I put it a drop on my finger at a time, and rub it under Willow's top lip/on the gum. Then treat. Then repeat. That way, I know she gets maximum pain relief, and she sits so well because she knows she gets rewards :)

I also use this pain scale to determine when she needs meds, it has been *such* a help to me:

https://www.avma.org/News/JAVMANews/Pages/191001c.aspx

I've got it printed, and refer to it when I wonder if she's in pain (well, by now it's sort of memorized, I quickly scan her and say, oh she's a 2 or 3, she's fine, or now she's a 4, get the bupe).

Hope this helps, with love, Nikki
WOW! Nikki, thanks so much! This is so interesting and very helpful. I now have it printed as well. And great idea to rub the pain meds on her gums with rewards rather than try to squirt it in her mouth. I really appreciate you taking the time. Enjoy your weekend.
 
Back
Top