Peyton-PMPS 334...what to do???

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
I did not give Peyton the same amount of Lantus he was getting at the vet this morning. Was told to give 2u twice a day but his numbers were still in range last night so I skipped PM shot. This morning it was high again so I gave him 1.5u. 12 hours later it is 334. What do I shoot tonight??? YIKES!
Julie
 
I don't understand what's happening. Chris had responded to me and I posted back. Now I cannot find either of our posts. I guess i'll go ahead and shoot 1.5u???
 
Given that Lantus works best with a consistent dose, stick with the 1.5 units unless and until you get anything lower than 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer.

Also, Lantus may take 5-7 days to stabilize at a dose when first starting out. This means that with each day, as it builds effect, you are more likely to see if you are going too low by checking around the nadir or lowest glucose which may happen somewhere between +5 to +7 hours after the shot.

Looks like he is responding well so far!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top