Petie was at 128 and last night 103!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackieVendetti

Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone,

so, yesterday afternoon we stopped all dry food (including young again) and are just giving Petie Wellness turkey, Friskies Special Diet and cooked chicken and some freeze-dried treats. he went all the way down to 103 (after not having eaten for about 4 hours) and this morning - 2 hours after eating, he was at 128.

do we think he will continue to go down? or should we think about giving him a teeeeeny tiny bit of insulin to get him into normal range which i think for the alphatrak (my meter) is 80 or 90? I am thinking it might be wise to keep giving him the wet food for a few more days before trying any of that (of course i would test, then shoot then test again), but I wanted to hear what you guys think. And I am not sure how good I would do with tight regulation. would need a ton of coaching.

Thank you sooo much!
 
Nope; he's under 130 mg/dL.

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
He's not on insulin right now. Those are ok numbers. Let's give the food change more time, now that you have made a total switch off the dry food.

If he needs insulin, there are 2 protocols for Lantus and Levimir. Start Low, Go Slow and Tight Regulation. We do plenty of coaching with either of these protocols. Don't worry about that for now. Let's cross that bridge when we come to it, ok?
 
Wow - ok - BJM - great chart!! I think you showed it to me before, but I am slowly learning what all this means :)

Ok- no insulin for now and we will give the food more time and we will cross that bridge when we come to it.

You guys are amazing!!

thank you!!
 
Oh Jackie - you are amazing for easing Petie off the dry food. Wow, I am impressed. Way to go!

Wouldn't it be cool if his diabetes could be diet-controlled.

Good numbers - keep it up Petie!!
 
Great numbers!! The test is working...definately no insulin needed. If he can keep 80-160 for two weeks then he is officially in remission.
 
Petie's numbers are good thanks to you guys and all of your great advice, patience and encouragement.

Really? Between 80 and 160? Woohoo!!!!!
 
Yup, BG readings between 80-160 on the Alphatrak pet specific meter means he is headed to remission.

Keep it up Petie! How many days has it been now?

If you post a little something every day, I'll make up one of my little poems for you and Petie. Just need a few words to work with.
 
I am so excited! Ok, this morning he was at 91! It was so much fun to put that in the spreadsheet and see the green color :)

Oh Deb - i would LOVE a poem. I will try and post something everyday. You guys are the best!!
 
Oh sorry - last time Petie had half a shot 12 days ago and ever since then, he's been going down. We just switched to all wet 2 days ago and he went from a high of 152 all the way down to 91 :)
91 was a fasting number - he hadn't eaten for about 6 hours.
 
Fantastic. I think looking at your numbers that you want to start counting the OTJ trial as of Sept 17 which makes this day 4. Since before sept 17 he was too high.

hows his appetite? How much is he eating per day?

Wendy
 
That makes total sense. Sept 17 it is.

His appetite is really good. I feed him about 1/2 a 5 oz can about 6 times a day and I would say at each feeding he eats about 1-2 teaspoons full. Of course, I have shredded freeze-dried meats on there too which he gobbles up and searches through the wet food looking for more.

I am guessing that's enough? I figure if he was hungry, he would eat more, right?
 
Thats not bad. Weigh him every couple of weeks and check he isnt losing or gaining weight. and adjust food as necessary.

Wendy
 
Good idea! Ok, will do. Going to get on the scale tonight and hold him and then put him down and see how much he weighs. And then mark that in my journal and probably weigh him every couple of days knowing how neurotic I am.

Thank you!!
 
Every couple of days wont tell you a lot - a few ounces will be within error of the scale and there is always water weight , stored up poops etc. Like they say with humans, dont weigh yourself more than once a week. And with a cat I would make that every couple of weeks.

Wendy
 
Petie needs two poems,
that is what I owe him,
Friday was trial day four,
10 more until he scores,
a life at the falls where Petie can play the sax,
it's where all the kitties play and relax.


Saturday is trial day five,
and we predict Petie will connive,
in 9 more days he'll be,
foot loose and insulin free!
 

Attachments

  • OTJ day 5 number.jpg
    OTJ day 5 number.jpg
    7.8 KB · Views: 1,183
  • OTJ day 4 green circle.jpg
    OTJ day 4 green circle.jpg
    2.7 KB · Views: 1,175
Ok, every two weeks. Petie jumped out of my arms before I could get on the scale last night and today i came down with a fever :(
Couldn't get his blood in the morning (my hands were shaky!) but I got it around 3pm and he was at 109.

OMG - those poems are soooooo oawesome!! I love it - a life at the falls!! where he can play and relax!! and then day 5 - those pictures are so awesome!!!

Yay!!!!! love it!!!!

thank you!!
 
What's weird is that this morning at 5:30 am Petie was 147. I didn't give him food at 3am like I usually do and he didn't eat the food that was down. I tested him again at 8:30 and he was 109. So I am thinking it's because he didn't eat anything from 12-5:30? Could that be it?

Or maybe it's because he ate more of the wet food than he's eaten ever before yesterday?
 
Yes - I think today is day 8. This morning he was at 135 :( But I am sure he will go back down to his normal 109. I wonder why he is so high in general? Could it be the food?
 
yeah - i guess you are right. My fiance is also diabetic and sometimes his BG spikes really high but then comes back down to normal. how interesting. i hope when he starts eating more home made food that'll stop. he was back down to 109 at 8:30 again. so strange. maybe it's because he is sleeping and there's no exercise.
 
It's been 10 days that Petie has been below 150 without insulin and I am so thankful for all on this board!!!

Yay!!

Please let me know if you can't see the spreadsheet.

Love to all!!
Jackie
 
Spreadsheet can be viewed just fine.

Glad to hear that Petie is doing so well, day 10 of no insulin. Keep it down (the BG) Petie!
 
nicolessmoot said:
Can someone please tell me where I can find the spreadsheet to input my kitty's numbers into? Thanks!


Nicole - it is in the Technical Forum. Look at the lower right of the screen. There is a downward pointing arros. Click on it to select the Technical forum. When you get there, scroll down to locate the instructions for creating your spreadsheet.

When you have a question, look for the New Topic button in the upper left of a forum, and click on it to start your own post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top