petey #"s 152 pmps 10/21

Status
Not open for further replies.
ah - so Petey is clearing the bounce tonight. Do you see what I described and how it's happening?

Can you get another test at pm +2 (2 hrs after the shot) so we can see if he's still going down at that point?

For this weekend, you have a couple of options.

You could teach your daughter to test. That's the ideal solution and it would also give you an option for other times when you might want to go out. My just-graduated-from-college moved home right after he graduated and i immediately taught him to test and shoot. He didn't have to understand dosing because i could tell him what to do. But it let my husband and I make a couple of trips away that summer. We stayed in touch via cell phones, but we made it to Yosemite and did a few other things. IT was a huge relief to have a back-up person.

I think you said your daughter was going to give shots, is that right? If not, then another option is to have a vet tech come and test & shoot. We hired a vet tech from our own vet's office - I just called and asked if anyone did that, and they did. We paid $10-20 per visit for the tech to do that - mostly we used that when we were just going to be out of town for the evening.

Another option - there are kitties who won't let anyone except their person test them. Sienne's Gabby is one of those. Her petsitter shoots but doesn't test. So Sienne drops the dose for the days she's gone. That's a good option - we can help you figure out the day before you go what a good vacation dose might be. Most of the time we suggest a dose that is on the line because that makes it easier for the petsitter to measure.

One good trick is to keep a used syringe and draw up a "dose" in colored liquid - tea, coffee, etc., to have as a model for the petsitter.

I'll look for you at 8pm eastern - I'm glad to see Petey's blood sugar moving, but would feel better if we knew how low he's headed tonight.
 
Hi, just tested and he is 164...He ate his dinner at 6 PM, and that is when he tested at 152. Yes, I could probably let my daughter test, I have to find out from her if she is comfortable.
 
tell her she can put it on a resume! actually i didn't think the testing was anything compared to giving the shot.

so his +2 is about the same as the preshot. Can you stand to get another test in tonight? I'd go for 2 more hours or so. When the +2 is about the same as the preshot, that signifies a "typical active" lantus cycle, which means that it will continue to go down til mid-cycle and then back up to the next preshot. It would just be great to know how low this is taking him.

hope your human glucometer arrives soon.

I'm west coast so I'm up for another 5-6 hrs. I'll look for you in a couple of hours to see if you were able to get another test.

When you have a situation like this where you know his blood sugar is headed down, it's always good to leave him plenty of his regular low-carb canned food out when you go to bed. most cats will eat if they feel their blood sugar dropping. It's good to see if you can tell if Petey will do that. But in any case, I'd plan to leave food out for him when you go to bed tonight.
 
Here's the quote from the New to the Group yellow-starred sticky about the Lantus cycle:

NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
If I leave food out for him, he eats it in 2 seconds, he is always starving ! I will give him a tablespoon every hour , until i go to bed. I will def. test him around 10 PM, 2 hours. when I feed my other cats, i have to lock him up. He is like the tazmanian devil, thats what I call him now,! I need to get some high carb food, since all I have is evo wellness, and fancy feast, chicken. I don't think any of those are high in carbs. I do have karo syrup in the house , just in case. :smile: Thanks for your support, it is comforting, since sometimes I am so worried.
 
wow, he sure took off from that pmps.

karo syrup or honey both work. you can add them to a bite of your regular low carb, although most cats like the gravy.

you're welcome - everyone needs mentors when you're learning this!

see you tomorrow! sleep well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top