Pete 6/28 (AMPS 112 / +2 105 / +4 79) Y'all were right

CrazyKaitLady

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...3-80-confusing-bg-trends.291435/#post-3188977

@Angela & Cleo and @Wendy&Neko You guys know what you're doing haha. I moved his snacks back from (+3 and +6) to (+2 and +4) based on his early nadir that you pointed out coming up on 8 cycles ago. There was some fluctuation for the first 4 cycles after the change but he's spent the last almost 48h coasting between 68 and 112, and so far it seems like we're also losing the pattern of higher daytimes and lower nights.

Going to stay the course here and see if this new trend continues but two questions:
  1. I'm assuming it doesn't matter that he doesn't have a high-low-high curve pattern...if he's staying within the desired BG range at all (or at least most) times, we're good, right?
  2. He's been eating less over the last couple days. Doesn't enthusiastically finish his food like he used to or if he does finish his meal, he eats it later when his feeder goes off for his snack. I'm assuming that he just doesn't need as much now that his BG is lower and he's processing food better? Do I just leave his unfinished food out and let him snack later if he wants to, and then eventually reduce his serving size to match the amount he's actually eating if he's constantly leaving food unfinished?
Thank you!
 
I'm assuming it doesn't matter that he doesn't have a high-low-high curve pattern...if he's staying within the desired BG range at all (or at least most) times, we're good, right?
From the Basics Sticky, "A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal."
Nadirs will hopefully continue to be between 50-80 on a human meter and BGs under 100 overall.

I'm assuming that he just doesn't need as much now that his BG is lower and he's processing food better?
Yep :)
Is his weight stable? Is he eating enough calories to maintain a healthy weight?
 
Happy to hear the new feeding schedule seems to be agreeing with him.

When following TR, we hold the dose up to 10 cycles/5 days unless tightly regulated. Just putting that out there for consideration (let Pete see this!), if the trend stops.

As Angela says, let the scale be your guide for food. Feed to achieve the desired weight, up or done. Do weight changes slowly.
 
Back
Top