? Perry 7/12 AMPS 152, +4:45 156 - to shoot or not to shoot

Perry & Jenn

Member Since 2019
Good morning! Perry's usually not below 200 when we get up in the morning, so this was a pleasant surprise ... though now I'm hesitating to shoot. Just fed him and he didn't eat a ton, but when my husband got up a half an hour ago, he was still snacking on his meat popsicle that we leave out overnight, which just adds to my question of what to do here.
 
And I should have added that I can delay this morning. And he only ate one little scoop of his food, and he usually eats two before his shot.
 
That is a tough call, if he had not eaten, I would say to stall for 20-30 minutes and retest to see if he was coming up. If you are going to be home to test, most experienced people that is still a safe number to shoot for people that are monitoring more closely.


Here are some guidelines that may help pulled from the yellow sticky...

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.
 
And I should have added that I can delay this morning. And he only ate one little scoop of his food, and he usually eats two before his shot.
Looking at his sheet that he had a blue last night and this morning, maybe err on side of caution. I am not as experienced as some members, so I can’t give you a definitive answer... sorry

Hoping someone else may chime in soon..
 
Thanks Julie. I'm erring on the side of caution because it's been such a wild ride ever since he started insulin back in late May. He had an increase on July 2, and we think we had a few fur shots in there ... basically, I don't have enough data to feel confident that he won't dip into hypo if I shoot now.

I would've delayed feeding him this morning if he hadn't already been munching on last night's meat popsicle! Sigh. Adventures in free feeding, I guess! Maybe I'll just call this one a skip and head to the gym.
 
Thanks Julie. I'm erring on the side of caution because it's been such a wild ride ever since he started insulin back in late May. He had an increase on July 2, and we think we had a few fur shots in there ... basically, I don't have enough data to feel confident that he won't dip into hypo if I shoot now.

I would've delayed feeding him this morning if he hadn't already been munching on last night's meat popsicle! Sigh. Adventures in free feeding, I guess! Maybe I'll just call this one a skip and head to the gym.
Makes sense.

I found this in same sticky for SLGS too...see underlined option since he ate, but then that is pushing your shot times also...

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
 
Makes sense.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value

He's right on that line, oy. Willing to take him an hour or 1:30 off sked, though, if he tests higher at 7, 7:30am, acts hungry and I think I can get him to eat enough to shoot. Once again, really glad I work from home now that I have a diabetic kitty!
 
Update: I tested again at 7:20am (first test at 5:55am) and he'd shot up to the 500s! Got him to eat a bit and then gave him his regular dose. WHEW. boing boing boing boing boing
 
Back
Top