Pelle day 4, I think the dose is to high

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlotte & Prop

Member Since 2011
Last night at pmps Pelle got a redused shot (0,4 unit instead of 0,8 unit) because of a lower pmps than usual. his numbers pretty much went uphill from there.
But today he is in the 80's at +6. His numbers will rise now because he is eating a big lunch, but the low number is making me a bit nervous even though it is a normal number, because we need to be sure that he dosen't hypo at all times since the testing can be a bit difficult and only be done when DH is home. So should we reduce to 0.7 or still wait a few days?



The good news is that he is getting more into the blue during the day and it has a really good effect on him. When he was on 0,6 he didn't really get into the blue, but hung around most of the time in low yellow.
 

Attachments

83 is a perfect nadir. Can/did they get a +9 test? However, it does come after a reduced shot last night and higher numbers, so this morning's .8u brought him down from about 246 after depleting the shed a bit last night.

I think what Vicky was thinking is that when the dose is below about 1.5u, the dose changes (increase or decrease) should be thought of in percentages, not volume. This means that often the smallest amounts (.1u and even .05u) are "big" enough to make a noticeable change. Going from .6u to .8u was a 33% increase. Going from .6u to .75u would be a 25% increase and going to .7u is about an 18% increase. We have found that something in the 20% range is enough to make a difference. And the closer to the right dose you are the smaller the percentage change should be. Even 10% can be the right thing to fine tune it. Does that make sense - both in the math and in the concept?

If they can do .7u that would be good.

He is safe where he is and as Vicky has mentioned a serious hypo on lev with these small doses almost never happens. She and I have both had our kitties (all 3 of them :mrgreen: ) down in the low 30s with no problems and few symptoms. Often that number comes as a surprise. Her Gandalf would "park" at the food dish and that was how she knew he was low. Beau has no symptoms. I once thought he was walking extra slowly, but his number wasn't that low. And the lowest he ever was, he tried to eat out of an empty dish, licking it across the floor, when there was one with food in it a few feet away. I don't think there is anything to worry about down to about 50 (2.8), but you want to feed regular food on that number and recheck in 30-45 mins, especially earlier in the cycle (before +6-ish).

Tell them they are doing great! And you to as the go-between!
 
No they didnt get a +9, werent home, but they got a +10 where he was 175. At +12 pmps he was 225 and they gave 0,7 unit.

I am so happy that you are sharing all your experince, and hearing that there is little chances of having a hypo on such a small dose will make the family happy.

I guess the next step is Pelles body to get used to his new numbers in the blue a lot of the day, and then gain some weight.
I have told the family to watch if he continues to eat all his food since he will probably need a dose reduction when he eats a little less.

Thank you both :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top