Pele has CKD and Diabetes - Suggestions Much Appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobby & Pele

Member Since 2024
Hello,

This post is about my cat Pele. He just turned 18 and we have been housemates for about 10 years now. He is 100% my responsibility. I never lived with a cat before because I am highly allergic but not to Pele.. I met Pele through my girlfriend and he ended up living with me for the last 10 years and I am very happy to have him.

Pele has borderline CKD and also diabetes. Pele is an orange and white half Main Coon and he was neutered when he was young. He was 18 years old in April, he maintains a weight of 17-18 lbs and he was always in good health until recently. I always fed him Peformatrin wet and dry and he was very happy with that. Also - I filled in his last 3 lab reports and the link is in my signature. I have not quite figured out how to populate the daily spreadsheet but I will. I decided to write this post first.

Some history:
In late June of 2022 I brought Pele to the emergency room because he hadn't used his litterbox for almost a day. I had been packing to move for about 2 months and in hindsight this stressed him out. I was concerned about urine crystals. The vets had to sedate him because he goes insane at the vet every time and then they examined him. The vet manually extracted some impacted poop and took blood tests. They felt the stress of my packing to move caused the issue. Pele was also diagnosed with possible Chronic Kidney Disease. I changed his diet to both dry and wet Hills Kidney Care K/D and started daily 2oz (60cc) Lactated Ringers injections. This new diet was low protein and higher carbohydrate. Subsequent tests show his levels in the acceptable range. I also started giving Pele 1 tsp of Mirilax to help avoid constipation and I have been giving him this combination ever since.

The move went well and we settled into the new house and everything was fine. I found a mobile vet to come to the house and with some gabbapentin Pele allowed himself to be examined.

I noticed that Pele had begun to drink much more water than usual and put measuring marks on his bowl. He was drinking (and splashing) almost exactly 8oz per day and when i did searches about feline water consumption that seemed to be normal. Of course I mentioned this to the mobile vet but the vet did not see cause for concern. I noticed that Pele was slowly slowing down.

In December 2023 a blood test showed that Peles blood glucose level was very high. I started him on Lantus right away and before too long he was up to 11 units 2 times a day. I bought an Alpha Trac 3 glucose meter to test him and before too long he was regulated at about 7 units which generally keeps his BG under 150. Once Pele started getting insulin he perked up quite a bit but he still doesn't seem to be able to run. Neuropathy? Also now he really pesters me around meal time (10am and 10pm) which he never really did before. I read that there is a name for the hungry feeling he has but I forgot for the moment. I have been trying different b12's to help with the neuropathy but I haven't found one that is both sugar (or vegetable glycerine or sucrose etc) free that he will tolerate. The vet feels that he is just getting old but I see a direct corrolation with his undiagnosed diabetes and his slowing down. I am researching injectable B12 to see if that might be what helps. I also tried Zesty Paws Salmon Oil but he won't touch food that has that stuff in it. I also give him Denosyl (S-Adenosylmethionine 90 mg) once a day with a little Tiki Cat although it's supposed to be best on an empty stomach. I give him this because the vet said his liver levels were a little off.

At any rate now I had a real dilema and I'm sure some of you saw this coming.

The correct diet for CKD is low protein but that means higher carbohydrates.
The correct diet for diabetes is low carbohydrates and higher protein.

I learned that Hills is being sued for numerous reasons and that their prescription food is not much different than regular food. Some feel that Hills contributes to diabetes and other health issues aside from being grossly overpriced. I can't stand hills but initially I tried Royal Canin and some others and he wouldn't hardly touch them. I don't even know

I learned that from a holistic vet tech that Tiki Cat Luau Shredded Meat, Ahi Tuna & Chicken Recipe in Chicken Consumme, Grain-Free Balanced Nutrition Wet Canned Cat Food is high quality and almost carb free. I researched it myself then bought some to try and Pele likes it. I don't want to give him too much protein regardless of the quality so for now I mix 1/3 Tiki with 2/3 Hills Kidney Care K/D. Pele has been getting this mix for about 2 weeks now and I have also been adding 1 1/2 scoops of Epakitin phosphate binder to mitigate the protein.

I thought that with less Hills that his BG would come down a bit but if anything it went up a unit from 6 to 7 per day.

In summation: I would go out and hunt wild birds if that was what was best for Pele. I would stand in the freezing rain till I was frozen myself if that would somehow be best for him. There is a lot of conflicting info and the CKD/Diabetes combo really complicates things. I live in North Jersey and there are state of the art vet facilities by me - Oradell Animal Hospital is one - but they are so expensive that I can't possibly afford to utilize the same equiptment and tests that a rich man might. They offer chemotherapy and organ transplants and that level of vet treatment but again I can't afford that and I also don't quite trust them. They are the ones that prescribed Hills and when i asked if I might do better cooking for Pele myself they didn't take the suggestion too seriously.

My main concerns are about diet and supplimentation. I will happily go to relative extremes to help my boy feel be healthier. I just sense that he can be doing better.

So I'm sure I left something out and some of what i wrote is probably a little out of order. Whatever suggestions any of you have I will consider and research and also post the results so someone else might be helped by the data.

Thank you so much,
Robert
 
Last edited:
Hi Robert and welcome to you and Pele to the forum.
I just looked at the lab results and his kidney values look ok to me. Did they do a urine test? That would be helpful to see the USG.
I’ll tag @Suzanne & Darcy and ask her to run her eye over the lab results.

I see in the spreadsheet Pele is getting Lantus which is a good insulin for cats. However he is on a very big dose, and I would say that is most likely because of the food he is getting which is very high carbs. I would be swapping over to a more suitable food for him, which I will talk to you about below… but first you need to be aware that swapping a cat to a low carb diet can drop the blood glucose (BG) a lot. So you need to be monitoring BGs closely during any swap over. Therefore I would not do any swap over until you can monitor closely and post on here for advice.

You are correct that the prescription diet foods are nothing special and are expensive and are very high carb foods.
Diabetic cats need low carb and high protein. For a CRD cat I would look at foods that have a lower phosphorus level. Protein is fine for CRD cats except very advanced disease cats and Pele is not in that category. In fact low protein is old thinking and it causes cats to lose muscle mass.
I will send you a link to a FOOD CHART that has lots of low carb canned foods to chose from. And look for phosphorus levels that are 250mg/ 100kcals or less. You can also look at the Weruva cat food site. It publishes all the nutritional values for all its foods. It also has a specific line of canned foods for CRD cats that is low phosphorus.
You can also give snacks during the first half of all the cycles as well as the 2 main meals. A snack is a teaspoon or 2 of normal low carb food.
The routine for testing and feeding is test, feed then give the dose of insulin.

If you could set up the signature and tell us all about Pete, that would be very helpful and if you could put in a couple of weeks data into the SS so we can see what’s been happening that will also help us help you.
HELP US HELP YOU

If Pele has neuropathy, he needs methyl B12 which you can get from lifelink.com under the name of zobaline.
Once you can get the BGs down to more normal levels and give the zobaline, the neuropathy should improve. My cat Sheba had it and she returned completely to normal once her BGs did and she had the zobaline
Bron
 
Hi there. Looking over your most recent labs, he does not have chronic kidney disease. I really can’t understand a vet saying that he does. He doesn’t even have mild kidney disease according to those labs (or the earlier ones either.) The BUN and creatinine are within normal limits. A urinalysis would have been beneficial, but I am sure it would have shown an adequate urine specific gravity. . His liver enzymes (ALT) are very mildly elevated and not a real cause for concern. You can give him a product like Denamarin or Milk Thistle if you like, but vets don’t ordinarily worry about it until liver enzymes are really high (two or three times the upper limit of the reference range.). I think the thing you need to concentrate on right now if finding a good low carb wet food diet to feed Pele to help get his blood glucose under control.
 
Hi Robert and welcome to you and Pele to the forum.
I just looked at the lab results and his kidney values look ok to me. Did they do a urine test? That would be helpful to see the USG.
I’ll tag @Suzanne & Darcy and ask her to run her eye over the lab results.

I see in the spreadsheet Pele is getting Lantus which is a good insulin for cats. However he is on a very big dose, and I would say that is most likely because of the food he is getting which is very high carbs. I would be swapping over to a more suitable food for him, which I will talk to you about below… but first you need to be aware that swapping a cat to a low carb diet can drop the blood glucose (BG) a lot. So you need to be monitoring BGs closely during any swap over. Therefore I would not do any swap over until you can monitor closely and post on here for advice.

You are correct that the prescription diet foods are nothing special and are expensive and are very high carb foods.
Diabetic cats need low carb and high protein. For a CRD cat I would look at foods that have a lower phosphorus level. Protein is fine for CRD cats except very advanced disease cats and Pele is not in that category. In fact low protein is old thinking and it causes cats to lose muscle mass.
I will send you a link to a FOOD CHART that has lots of low carb canned foods to chose from. And look for phosphorus levels that are 250mg/ 100kcals or less. You can also look at the Weruva cat food site. It publishes all the nutritional values for all its foods. It also has a specific line of canned foods for CRD cats that is low phosphorus.
You can also give snacks during the first half of all the cycles as well as the 2 main meals. A snack is a teaspoon or 2 of normal low carb food.
The routine for testing and feeding is test, feed then give the dose of insulin.

If you could set up the signature and tell us all about Pete, that would be very helpful and if you could put in a couple of weeks data into the SS so we can see what’s been happening that will also help us help you.
HELP US HELP YOU

If Pele has neuropathy, he needs methyl B12 which you can get from lifelink.com under the name of zobaline.
Once you can get the BGs down to more normal levels and give the zobaline, the neuropathy should improve. My cat Sheba had it and she returned completely to normal once her BGs did and she had the zobaline
Bron

Thank you so much for such a quick informative reply. I believe I already set up a signature with a link to Pele's spreadsheet and labs. I tried to edit my signature to tell more about Pele but I ran out of room very quickly. Here is what I tried to put though:
NAMES: Bobby is the human and Pele is the cat.
DATES: Today is May 14, 2014 and Pele was first diagnosed with diabetes in December of 2023.
NAME of INSULIN: Lantus
NAME of METER: AlphaTrak 3
DIET: All wet - 1/3 Tiki Cat and 2/3 Hills KD.
DOSING: Not sure what TR or SLGS is yet but I inject Pele with 7 units of Lantus insulin 2 times a day at 10am and 10pm. I will adjust this answer once I figure it out.
BEXACAT or SENVELGO: No but I just learned about it this moment and I am very interested. New improved diet first though.

I'm still confused about the units because I read that most people use human meters but my AlphaTrak 3 uses mg/dL. I think I used the correct spreadsheet when I set it up. I'm a little foggy on how to properly populate the spreadsheet as well. I need to figure this out. I have been keeping a log but I stopped making daily entries after I got a feel for or to expect. As soon as I figure out how to upload data to the spreadsheet I will do that religiously.

Here is a small sample:
=============================
Friday, April 26th 2024
10:00 am BG N/A
4 1/2 oz Hills k/d (main meal 1)
SIX units Lantus

6:32 pm BG 84
Lactated Ringer
Liver pill
Gave 1.3 oz Hills because his blood sugar was a little low.

10:00 pm BG N/A
4 1/2 oz Hills (main meal 2)
6 units Lantus

12:48 BG 229 (Not sure why so high)
Gave chicken heart instead of snack food
=============================
Saturday, April 27th 2024
10:00 am BG N/A
4 1/2 oz Hills k/d (main meal 1)
SIX units Lantus
4:36 pm BG 138
Gave 1 oz Hills

7:25 pm
Liver pill

8:03 pm BG 106
Lactated Ringer
Gave 1.5 oz Tiki/Hills because his blood sugar was OK. Dinner at 10.

10:00 pm BG N/A
4 1/2 oz Hills (main meal 2)
6 units Lantus
=============================
Sunday, April 28th 2024
10:00 am BG ????
4 1/2 oz Hills k/d (main meal 1)
SIX units Lantus

3:00 pm
Liver pill

4:31 pm BG 204 but might've been a bad reading - probably was.
Gave 1 chicken heart

9:02 pm BG 113
Lactated ringer
Gave 1.3 oz of Hills/Tiki

10:00 pm BG N/A
4 1/2 oz Hills (main meal 2)
6 units Lantus
=============================
Monday, April 29th 2024
As of today no more pill pockets cause they are pure sugar and I think they affect his blood sugar. 7:57 PM results concur kinda.

10:00 am BG
4 1/2 oz Hills k/d (main meal 1)
SIX units Lantus
7:57 pm BG 90
Lactated ringer
Liver pill crushed in food
Gave 1.5 oz of Hills/Tiki

10:05 pm BG 137
3oz Hills and 1.5 oz Tiki (main meal 2)
6 units Lantus
=============================

Thank you so much and I will do more figuring out tonight. I am so glad that I finally posted about Pele on here.
 
Last edited:
Here is a link on how to use the spreadsheet
Once you have given insulin you cant swap to the oral medication for diabetic cats.
Human meters are much cheaper to run than the alpha track meter so if you want to swap, that would be a good idea. Also our dosing methods are based on the human meter numbers.
With TR you have to be feeding a low carb wet diet exclusively and need to be able to test before every dose and at least one during every cycle. If needed you can increase every three days. You reduce the dose if the BG goes under 68 with a pet meter or 50 on a human meter.
With SLGS ….if you are feeding any dry food you have to do SLGS. You increase every 7 days if needed. You reduce the dose if under 90. Also test before every dose and do a curve every 7 days.
Keep asking questions.
 
My cat Dude has both CKD & diabetes. I've been syringe-feeding him the past 3-4 weeks using Fancy Feast Classic Pate. I've been adding some fat to this - mostly salmon oil. The increase in fat is based on the following research
• "The results show that feral cats are obligatory carnivores, with their daily energy intake from crude protein being 52 %, from crude fat 46 %" https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/22005434/ I think the salmon oil has really helped him. He's started to be more active than he was even on Solensia injections for his arthritis.
 
@BobbyDucks
Hi I see you are from New Jersey ,so am I ,I live right by Giant Stadium and the Meadowlands Racetrack.
I have been to Oradell many many years ago for my mom's kitty
My cat Tyler has been in remission for 3 years and 3 months ( knock on wood) with me taking the advice of the experienced members here
I see you said you ran out of room trying to do your signature, you don't have to put how many units you are giving in your signature because it's always changing, just Abbreviate things when you can
Do you see Tyler's signature at the end of my posts in gray letters?
This is the information we need about Pete for your signature
You can tap in your name above and add this and link it to your spreadsheet
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Even if Pete doesn't have kidney disease the weruva wet foods are good
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085

To make it easier for you to understand how to enter information on your spreadsheet
About the spreadsheet to make it easier for you to understand
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave


+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers



You can look at any members spreadsheet to see what it looks like, it's at the end of everyone's signature just tap on it
 
Last edited:
Once Pele started getting insulin he perked up quite a bit but he still doesn't seem to be able to run. Neuropathy?
I used to give Tyler
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-60-capsules-5
the Vitacost brand another member told me about
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

Same as Zobaline , but the Zobaline is so expensive as you know
This is the same thing
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I bought the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and added it to the Vitacost brand
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half and crush it up and add it, some members didn't even add the folic acid and the neuropathy improved
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up, I still give it to Tyler every now and then and he has never tasted it in his food , I always add water to his food and just stir up the methyl B-12 good
I switched to the vitacost brand because the zobaline was too expensive,
Even though the vitacost brand is 5000 mcgs and the zobaline is 3000 mcgs
What they don't need they will pee out because it's water soluble.

The Zobaline is expensive for 60 pills, 30.00 some other places want 33.00
I used to use the Zobaline when I joined, then a member told me about the Vitacost brand .

It took about 2 months for Tyler to get back to walking normal, jumping on to the couch, running around
But every few weeks I did see a slight improvement
Some members didn't even add the folic acid to the vitacost brand and it still helped and the neuropathy was gone

@BobbyDucks
 
wet Hills Kidney Care K/D a

I'm assuming it's the wet food
Hill's Prescription Diet k/d with Chicken is 38% carbs, too high
By the way are you using the U-100 syringes for lantus with the half unit markings since we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time, these syringes make it easier to do that
As Bron mentioned in her post above
but first you need to be aware that swapping a cat to a low carb diet can drop the blood glucose (BG) a lot. So you need to be monitoring BGs closely during any swap over. Therefore I would not do any swap over until you can monitor closely and post on here for advice.
I would also read all the yellow stickys about Lantus here ,especially thev2 dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
I see Bron told you about the in her post # 8 above
@BobbyDucks
 
Last edited:
Hello All and thank you so much for the information so far.
In this (long) post I am addressing:
- Neuropathy
- Weruva Wx line of cat food
- Human glucose meters

Also I am unfamiliar with posting on this forum and I mistakenly hit enter but then saw the mistake and deleted it. Any mods please feel free to correct any obvious mistakes on my behalf. I trust this board.

If Pele has neuropathy, he needs methyl B12 which you can get from lifelink.com under the name of zobaline.
I ordered Zobaline from ilifelink.com and should have it soon. Thank you.

I will send you a link to a FOOD CHART that has lots of low carb canned foods to chose from. And look for phosphorus levels that are 250mg/ 100kcals or less. You can also look at the Weruva cat food site.
I chose Weruva Wx Phos Focused Chicken Formula in Gravy from the food chart to try and picked up a few cans to see if Pele likes it.
I only gave him about 1.5 oz as a snack test.
Both yesterday and today he ate it right up!
When he doesn't like food he just ignores it after maybe a lick or 2.

I typed out the nutritional information for easy access but here is the link too: https://www.weruva.com/collections/wx-phos-focused/products/chicken-formula-in-gravy-cat-can
The nutritional content is as follows:

PHOSPHORUS
As Fed Percentage - 0.078%
Dry Matter Daily Percentage - 0.42%
MG/100KCAL - 81

CALORIES AND METABOLIZABLE ENERGY (ME) PROFILE
Calories come from 3 places: protein, fat and carbohydrates.
ME Profile measures the percentage of calories coming from protein, fat and carbohydrates.
Protein - 45.80%
Fat - 59.70%
Carbs - -5.50% (Negative carbs??)
Calories in 3 oz - 81

AS FED PERCENTAGE
As fed measures nutrients based on their overall percentage in the formula.
Phosphorus - 0.078%
Protein - 12.47%
Fat - 6.70%
Moisture - 81.70%
Ash - 0.63%
Carbs - -1.050% (negative carbs)
Magnesium - 0.01%
Calcium - 0.11%
Sodium - 0.08%
Fiber - 0.040%

DRY MATTER BASIS
Dry matter measures nutrients based on their overall percentage in a formula after the moisture content has been removed.
Phosphorus - 0.42%
Protein - 68.10%
Fat - 36.60%
Carbs - -8.20% (negative carbs)
Magnesium - 0.06%
Calcium - 0.62%
Sodium - 0.45%
Fiber - 0.22%

MINERALS / 100 KCAL -
mg Phosphorus / 100 KCAL - 81
mg Magnesium / 100 KCAL - 12
mg Calcium / 100 KCAL - 118
mg Sodium / 100 KCAL - 87


Human meters are much cheaper to run than the alpha track meter so if you want to swap, that would be a good idea.
What human meter is most used on here? I will get one tomorrow.


Thank you everyone else who added to this thread. I feel better for the first time in a while about Pele's health prospects for the future. I KNEW something wasn't right.
 
Also - I am not going to switch his diet to Weruva quickly. I am glad he seems to like Weruva and it seems to fit the nutritional profile but switching over properly is very important and I know this.

I need to get a human meter and read and post some more and populate his spreadsheet better (aside from the labs).

There is a definate learning curve and I need to school up as fast as possible for Pele's sake but I won't be rushing anything.

Thank you again everyone.
 
Hello All and thank you so much for the information so far.
In this (long) post I am addressing:
- Neuropathy
- Weruva Wx line of cat food
- Human glucose meters

Also I am unfamiliar with posting on this forum and I mistakenly hit enter but then saw the mistake and deleted it. Any mods please feel free to correct any obvious mistakes on my behalf. I trust this board.


I ordered Zobaline from ilifelink.com and should have it soon. Thank you.


I chose Weruva Wx Phos Focused Chicken Formula in Gravy from the food chart to try and picked up a few cans to see if Pele likes it.
I only gave him about 1.5 oz as a snack test.
Both yesterday and today he ate it right up!
When he doesn't like food he just ignores it after maybe a lick or 2.

I typed out the nutritional information for easy access but here is the link too: https://www.weruva.com/collections/wx-phos-focused/products/chicken-formula-in-gravy-cat-can
The nutritional content is as follows:

PHOSPHORUS
As Fed Percentage - 0.078%
Dry Matter Daily Percentage - 0.42%
MG/100KCAL - 81

CALORIES AND METABOLIZABLE ENERGY (ME) PROFILE
Calories come from 3 places: protein, fat and carbohydrates.
ME Profile measures the percentage of calories coming from protein, fat and carbohydrates.
Protein - 45.80%
Fat - 59.70%
Carbs - -5.50% (Negative carbs??)
Calories in 3 oz - 81

AS FED PERCENTAGE
As fed measures nutrients based on their overall percentage in the formula.
Phosphorus - 0.078%
Protein - 12.47%
Fat - 6.70%
Moisture - 81.70%
Ash - 0.63%
Carbs - -1.050% (negative carbs)
Magnesium - 0.01%
Calcium - 0.11%
Sodium - 0.08%
Fiber - 0.040%

DRY MATTER BASIS
Dry matter measures nutrients based on their overall percentage in a formula after the moisture content has been removed.
Phosphorus - 0.42%
Protein - 68.10%
Fat - 36.60%
Carbs - -8.20% (negative carbs)
Magnesium - 0.06%
Calcium - 0.62%
Sodium - 0.45%
Fiber - 0.22%

MINERALS / 100 KCAL -
mg Phosphorus / 100 KCAL - 81
mg Magnesium / 100 KCAL - 12
mg Calcium / 100 KCAL - 118
mg Sodium / 100 KCAL - 87



What human meter is most used on here? I will get one tomorrow.


Thank you everyone else who added to this thread. I feel better for the first time in a while about Pele's health prospects for the future. I KNEW something wasn't right.
Most of us use the ReliOn meters from Walmart. Quite reliable and 100 test strips for less than $18.00. The Weruva Phos Focus Wx is good. VERY low phosphorus but high in calories to help prevent weight loss. I am using it in my cat right now.
 
Hello,

I got a ReliOn Premiere BLU meter for testing Pele. I have been using it. I started posting his numbers on Sunday May 26th. I'm not sure if I am posting them correctly though.

I give Pele a Lantus every 12 hours.

At 10 am I test his blood glucose, note it down then feed him.
Food is Hills K/D wet (3oz) and Tiki Cat wet (1.5oz) Snacks are 1.5 oz Tiki Cat (no carbs)
I usually give him 1 or 2 no carb snacks. This is how I am trying to get him used to Weruva. He doesn't touch it sometimes though so the hunt continues (see below re Peformatrin).
I usually text his blood glucose once or twice during the day.
At 10 pm I test his blood glucose, note it down then feed him.

Because all Peles meals are within at 12 hour period I seem to only need the AMPS but I have a feeling I am doing something incorrectly..

Does my chart on 5-27 look correct? I tested his blood glucose at 10am (135), 4pm (143) and 10pm (147)..

Also these numbers seem high but I'm a bit confused by the new ReliOn Premiere Blu meter - should I give him an extra unit of Lantus?

Also I asked the pharmacist if they have Lantus with half unit amounts but they said no.

Also I would like to change my name from "BobbyDucks" to "Bobby and Pele". Please let me know who to ask about this.

Finally I got the nutritional breakdown of Peles old food - "Peformatrin Ultra for Senior Cats wet".
He did really well on this food but I'm not sure if it is close enough to the requirements for him with his borderline CKD and his diabetes.

Wet Weight Basis
Crude protein: 10.2%
Carbohydrates: 2.66%
Phosphorous: .029

Dry Matter Basis (does this apply to wet food??)
Crude protein: 43.4%
Carbohydrates: 11.3%
Phosphorous: 1.23

Im confused about the wet/dry basis thing.

Thank you very much!
Bobby and Pele
 
Also I asked the pharmacist if they have Lantus with half unit amounts but they said no.
@BobbyDucks

I assume you are referring to what I asked you which was
By the way are you using the U-100 syringes for lantus with the half unit markings since we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time, these syringes make it easier to do that

You can get them at Walmart , but you have to go into the store for them
Either of these 2 boxes are the ones you want (with a purple stripe) from
Walmart

upload_2024-4-22_23-37-23-jpeg.69946



Or these from Amazon, you won't need a script from your vet
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-Gauge-Veterinary-Insulin-Syringes/dp/B009LTE0DO



See the difference
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
 
Last edited:
Because all Peles meals are within at 12 hour period I seem to only need the AMPS but I have a feeling I am doing something incorrectly..

Does my chart on 5-27 look correct? I tested his blood glucose at 10am (135), 4pm (143) and 10pm (147)..

Bobby when you are giving us the BG numbers please don't use times , we are all in different time zones .you need to say for 5-27
AMPS- 135
143 +9
PMPS-147
You need to be testing first thing in the AM (AMPS) and first thing at night ( PMPS) and you need to get some night tests in after the PMPS test.

Can you get more tests in after the AMPS if you don't work, if not get one as soon as you get home and on the weekends hopefully you can get more tests for both cycles
@BobbyDucks
 
I just ordered these from Amazon thank you.

I have no idea why he's giving 7 units of lantus ladies
I give him 7 units because if I give him less (with his current diet) his blood glucose gets too high and if I give him more it gets too low.. His vet is aware of how much Lantus I give Pele twice a day. I'm not sure why that is confusing. Please elaborate.

Bobby when you are giving us the BG numbers please don't use times , we are all in different time zones .you need to say for 5-27
AMPS- 135
143 +9
PMPS-147
I was referring to the spreadsheet but giving the times (only in my post) to see if I put them in the spreadsheet correctly. I generally test 3 times a day: before first meal, early evening and before dinner. I can also test a few (or more) hours after dinner if that would be helpful.

I have no idea why he's giving 7 units of lantus ladies
I know Hills KD wet is high in carbs. I am trying to find a food he likes that is zero or low carb according to the charts. I began giving him 1/3 Tiki Cat because it has zero carbs and some protein. Once I find one I will slowly adjust his insulin as I transition him to the healthier diet.

Thank you for your help Diane. I really appreciate your time. In addition to caring for Pele my brother and I are full time caretakers for our sister who has advanced alzheimers. We need to feed her, dress her etc. We hope to have a fulltime caretaker eventually but for now it is just my brother and I. I'm often running on next to no sleep..

Pele is very important to me and I am doing everything I can to get him on a better diet and adjust his insulin accordingly.
Getting used to the lingo, the spreadsheet and the dietary info has not been easy for me but I'm committed to figuring it out.
Thank you again Diane and everyone else who has contributed to a better understandin on treating feline diabetes.
 
I know Hills KD wet is high in carbs. I am trying to find a food he likes that is zero or low carb according to the charts. I began giving him 1/3 Tiki Cat because it has zero carbs and some protein. Once I find one I will slowly adjust his insulin as I transition him to the healthier diet.
Tyler's brother had kidney disease , only a suggestion check out Weruva Pates maybe
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus.:cat:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085

@Bobby & Pele
 
In addition to caring for Pele my brother and I are full time caretakers for our sister who has advanced alzheimers.
I'm so sorry Bobby, I know what you mean, my Dad had Alzheimer's and passed away on 7-11-23. It's an awful heartbreaking disease .
I know you are doing everything you can for Pele by the way he's a handsome boy . sorry if I sounded like you weren't :bighug:
Besides my Dad passing my daughter who was 37 passed away on 6-15-23 . She actually took her own life. Too long to get unto right now.
I wish you all the best Bobby from one
New Jerseyan to another :bighug::cat:
@Bobby & Pele
 
Finally I got the nutritional breakdown of Peles old food - "Peformatrin Ultra for Senior Cats wet".
He did really well on this food but I'm not sure if it is close enough to the requirements for him with his borderline CKD and his diabetes.
@Bobby & Pele

I just found it on Tanya's site , site for kitty's with CKD she goes by Dry Matter
I found this flavor Peformatrin Senior Chicken & Turkey Formula
It says
Phosphorus
0.73

Carbs
18.20

I'm also confused about the wet/dry basis thing.
I go to the search area up top and put in as fed or dry matter and you will see different answers ,the words will be in bold letters so I look at all of them

I have asked that question before and got 2 different answers ,some said go by Dry Matter and some said As Fed is OK .
Our food chart by Dr Pierson that we tell members to use goes by As Fed

Then I also found another member said this
As fed" are more accurate and what the carbohydrate (or other values) should be based on.


You want the "as fed" values. If you've been using the food chart from the Feline Nutrition (Dr. Pierson's) website, the carb percentages there are based on the "as fed" values.

On Tanya's site it actually says
US CANNED CAT FOOD DATA



In Order of Phosphorus Content (%) Based on Dry Matter Analysis (DMA)
http://felinecrf.org/canned_food_usa.htm
 
Last edited:
Hi Bobby, I was just curious if you started out with 7 units that's all :cat:
In December I started with 2 units and then gradually went all the way up to 11 units at which point his blood glucose was in the right range. Then I started getting lower and lower blood glucose readings so I adjusted his insulin accordingly. At this point we have been holding steady at 7 units for the last three weeks or so.

Just checking did you give insulin on 5-27 during the night cycle , it's blank
on 5-27 I tested Pele three times. First at 10 AM second at 8 PM and the third time at 10 PM. So I put his 10 AM reading in the box that says AMPS. The next test was at 8 o'clock so that was +10 hours after his morning shot so I put the reading in the box that says +10. His last test was at 10 PM so I put that one in the box it says PMPS since there was no box for +12. I am just utterly confused but that is the logic I used.

I'll pick up some Weruva pates tomorrow and see if Pele likes them.

I'm so sorry to hear about your father and about your daughter. For me faith and in God is the only thing that makes some things bearable. I said a prayer for your daughter. Thank you for all your help I really appreciate it. One thing that always makes me feel good is helping people when I can.
 
Hi Bobby. Is there any chance of getting tests a little earlier in the cycle? Maybe around +3 or +4? I don’t know if you can do this. You are doing great. It is a lot of new stuff … learning the lingo and using the spreadsheet, etc. God bless you and your brother for taking care of your sister. It must take all your time. I am so sorry this is happening to your sister. It’s such a cruel disease.
 
Hi everyone,

I got Pele syringes and adjusted his Lantus up 1/2 unit and his BG went down a little.

I FINALLY found a good food from one of the charts that Pele likes so far.
Essence Air & Gamefowl (aka Fussie Cat Turkey & Guineafowl) Pate
I found it on Penny's Food Database ( https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/Combined_Food_Lists_Feeding_Guide.pdf#foodlistx1 )
Protein is 26%, Carbs 4%, Phosphorous DMB 0.78%
I have been giving him 1oz snacks and mixing 1.5 oz with 3oz Hills so far.

I plan to stay this course for a few days and test/and update the spreadsheet more frequently.
If all goes well I can start upping the new food % and dropping the Hills % a bit at a time.
I'm leaving the 1oz snacks (usually one a day after the afternoon or evening test) because I haven't figured out how to represent them on the spreadsheet yet.

I have Karo syrup and a food syringe ready in case of hypoglycemia but I'm also going very slowly with the increments.
So far his numbers are mostly on the higher side which is safer than the lower side.

I'm also still getting used to the Relion Premiere BLU meter.
When I test it along with the Alpha Trak 3 it gets confusing - I'm just trusting the Relion based on people on here trusting it and I know the numbers are lower with a human meter.

Lastly, for anyone near Teaneck NJ, I found a GREAT Mom and Pop health pet food store: Companion Pet Food Supply.
They stock ONLY healthy pet food! I'm not sure if they ship but they are worth looking into.
I'm not sure if it's OK to name vendors her so I'll leave out the contact info though with info provided they're easy to look up. <wink>
If it is OK I'll edit this post and/or add them to whatever lists there may be.

That's it for now.

Thank you everyone especially Bron, Suzanne and Diane,
Bobby and Pele
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top