Peeka 9/23 AMPS 347 +2 183/Increased dose to 2.5u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peter (Boo) (Peeka GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning,

I apologize if these daily threads seem repetitive, I just want anyone who cares to be able to keep up with our journey. Call it a Peeka Progress Report if you will. Last night Peeka reported a 356 PMPS, we gave her 2.25u and got +3 160. In between her +3 and +4, after making sure she used her litter box, I carried her to our bed where she spent the better part of an hour getting all the chin, back, and side rubs she could handle. My wife, who was in the restroom at one point, could hear her purrs. Her +4 came in at 178.

This morning, we increased her dosage to 2.5u. I wish I could have captured +3 and +4 since we seemed to be trending in the right direction, hoping this may be the correct dosage for Peeka. She happily munched on some Purebites as an apology from me for poking her multiple times in consecutive hours.

In other news regarding Peeka, I've begun taking her to her litter box to make sure she pees and poos in the box before leaving for work in the morning and before bed. May not be ideal, but anything I can do to help the stress on the wife and myself is worth it, we've also noticed less accidents doing this, so I don't mind continuing doing so until she is able to make it there on her own.

Her neuropathy still doesn't look good, but I have noticed she can sometimes travel longer distances without stopping. Yesterday, she made it from the middle of the hallway in our house to the water bowl. Granted, she is still very much on her hind hocks and her legs stray out, but she is able to make those distances, which is promising, for me at least. We also started her on Zobaline last night, in a panic purchase a couple of weeks ago, after my wife commented that her walk looked worse, I bought some on Amazon. I had read somewhere in past threads that the folic acid helps the methyl b12. I'm sure I could have bought folic acid separately, but I was in a panic and willing to try anything. I will continue to monitor and see how that is helping her out, but I think we have seen some promising signs with the methyl b12 from Vitacost, so hopefully this, along with better regulation, will start to see more imrovement.

Sorry for the novel, I feel like my previous updates have been brief, but this is about where we are currently with Peeka. I think I'm seeing some signs of improvement, it could just be hopeful wishing, but we do still have a ways to go until I can take a breath and feel good about where we are.

Thanks, I hope everyone has a wonderful day!
 
No need to apologize Peter. I enjoy reading about Peeksa journey. Fingers and paws crossed with the new dose.

I think once those numbers come down to closer to regulated numbers you will see substantial progress with the neuropathy.
I also think your panic buying is worthwhile.

I look forward to your next progress report!:bighug:
j
 
Hi Peter if you want to save money
Here is the link https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

Alot of members use this , I use it myself you can buy it on line from Vitacost
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules
It's 17.99 just be sure this is the one you buy
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I buy the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and add it to the B-12
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half and crush it up
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up
The Zobaline is 33.99 for 60 pills, too expensive
I saw a big improvement I'd say 3 months, could be sooner. One capsule a day.
Once you get your kitty better regulated the B-12 methyl will help


Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

  • SKU #: 835003001804
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23 lb
  • Servings: 100
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top