Pedro's AMPS: 12.7

Status
Not open for further replies.

KleineMue

Member Since 2014
Morning,

We have had a messed up late afternoon testing leading up to the PMPS with food given too early and thus skewing the blood glucose figures. So technically there is no PMPS. Did check his bloods every two hours until 2.30am though after a reduced dose of 2 units caninsulin and he stayed firmly within the "blue" zone and that is where he is this morning with an AMPS of 12.7. Will check every 2 hours so we get a proper curve for him.

I need to give him insulin shortly and am torn between reducing the insulin further to maybe 1.75 units or 2 units like yesterday evening? After a week on 2.5 units (as per vet recommendation after seeing our last curve) we seem to need to come back down from the extremes this presented. :(

Any advice would be much appreciated!
Mue x
 
Hi Mue, you may be right to give the reduced dose.
Sorry for short reply - just going to have a read-through of your other posts... Back soon...
 
Hi again Mue,

Just had a look at your posts and your spreadsheet.

If it were my cat I'd go with the lower dose on this occasion. He's generally getting a very good response to the insulin and his numbers are getting better...

Eliz
 
KleineMue said:
Do people to .25 units? Wonder if 2.25 would be better than 2.5?

Yes, Mue, people do .25 unit increases and reductions; and also smaller/subtler changes like making a dose a bit 'fatter' or 'skinnier'!

If this were my kitty I wouldn't give more than 2 units in this instance (and would probably opt to give a tad less than 2 units actually). Ideally, we want to stop his blood glucose 'dropping and bouncing'; and reducing the dose may help his blood glucose to level out a bit.

Eliz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top