Pedey - dosing advice - below 150 PMPS for a while

Status
Not open for further replies.

pedeysmom

Member Since 2022
Hi everyone (and a special shout out to Tiff and Frost),

@tiffmaxee @FrostD

Hoping to get your thoughts on dosing advice for Pedey. The last 5 days have been below 150 for PMPS (I think because he's starting to actually prefer his wet food, which is crazy to think that this kibble addict is converting). As such, we haven't shot, but I'm getting rather worried about only dosing him once a day. His AMPS is never too high (but he only gets kibble overnight) but has been between 160-180ish, so not really that much higher than PMPS. We have been dosing each morning and reduced to 1.5 units per Tiff's advice a few days ago.

We did a BG curve today (dosed 1.5, but more like 1 in the morning because my husband said there was an air bubble he could not get rid of) and it's showing him pretty consistent - lowest we got him at was 99. At this point, I am thinking we should just reduce Pedey's dose to 1 unit as I think it would be better to get two doses in. Perhaps even lower than 1 unit if his PMPS is below 150 tonight? His last test was 106 at +8, and he doesn't seem to have huge jumps or drops.

Would welcome everyone's thoughts!
 
I would actually try to shoot anything above 130 provided you can monitor. You can start to lower your shoot/no shoot threshold, and I suspect he'll earn a reduction fairly soon that way anyway.

Alternatively, you could try 1.25U and perhaps that will let you shoot twice a day...but he's giving you nice opportunities to lower that shoot/no shoot number
 
Congrats on your first green! You need to start shooting every cycle. If shooting under 150 makes you nervous, perhaps you need to go down to 1.25. Shooting low often leads to a flat cycle with lantus. I think lowering the dose is a good idea since he almost earned a reduction with that 99. I don’t think it was depot influenced and you have skipped several shots as he was too low to shoot.

Another thing I noticed is you have not gotten a second test at night since 4/13. If you decide to shoot tonight I would get a before bed test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top