Paw PMPS 426 First dose of Lantus!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tarams

Member Since 2012
We finally got Lantus this evening and this will be our first dose. (Just diagnosed last week, vet gave Humulin N, 6u BID, which we reduced to 1u BID for the last few days after being advised by posters here) Since I have not been advised by the vet yet what to administer I'm going to give 1u of Lantus now. That sit well with everyone here?! Thank you :)
 
Sorry, I probably should have added that we're feeding Fancy Feast Classics which I hope is considered low carb!
 
sounds great to me! Starting at 1u for Lantus is usually a good spot, a safe dose.

I think you mentioned something about lots of sticks, but can't recall if you said you were able to test regularly. Usually, a test before each shot if good, at a minimum so you know it's safe to give the shot. A before bed test is good because some cats seem to go lower in the pm. Did anyone mention setting up a google spreadsheet so that you can track your test results, and so others can help you with advice on dosing, etc .

Congrats on the first shot! That 467 is pretty high, and it will take a few days for the shed to fill, so don't expect that much of a change in the numbers, but you may well start to see visual improvements in the cat despite the continued high numbers.
Lantus & Levemir – Insulin Depot –AKA- Storage Shed

Just shout if you have any questions, and someone will help you out.
 
Thanks Gayle! Never heard about a "shed" before but then again I am learning so much right now. Thanks for posting that link; it makes sense that it may take time to actually see a difference.

My vet ordered 6u of Humulin N BID, no home testing, & no recheck until 4-6 weeks. Since I've asked to change to Lantus he wanted to see our cat for a day on it, to do a curve/determine the dose I suppose. I think I'd do much better testing at home & going the slow & steady route - just dreading the many sticks required!

This board has been such a life saver. My thanks to you all!!
 
I know I saw it once before, but I've looked all over now & can't find the google spreadsheet again! Can someone please post a link? Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top