Paula & Kitty Michael Bouncing Again Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
Good morning all,
For 6 cycles (I think) M has been in the yellows until this am. BG 355. I have been giving .5u bid. This am I tried for the .75 u but I couldn't see. I couldn't tell if it was .5 or 1u so I went with the 1u. I hope I didn't mess things up.
Please look at the SS. The last 2 days I have only been able to test amps & pmps due to appts.
Btw does anyone know if tapazole affects Bg #'s? Michael started tap this am 1/2tab sid. We (the vet & I) hope it doesn't upset his tummy as he needs this for the hyperT. All of this is so complicated. It seems I am guessing at everything. All I want is to keep M safe and he seems to keep bouncing. It really scares me and is a lot of stress!
Chris, Kpassa, and everyone that replied to my previous posts, I hope you read my thank you replys.
All of a sudden I didn't hear from anyone. Again I'm not really sure how to use the message board.
Paula
 
Hi Paula,

I am sorry you aren't getting as many teplies. It may be time for you to post on the specific Lantus forums. Health is sort of a place for triage - beginners get advice here on starting doses, help with testing and food. Since only Lantus users will reply to your posts about dosing, there are fewer of them here than are on the Insulin Support group forums. We have 2 for Lantus users. On the Lantus TR forum, most users are using the tight regulation method which does require testing pretty often. It is the largest Lantus group and the best place to get immediate advice. You can post there even if you are taking the Start Low, Go Slow approach (people who may not be able to do as much testing and want to go more slowly with dose changes) or you can post on the Relaxed Lantus group. It is a much smaller forum, but once they know you are posting there regularly, they will look for you and reply.

Both groups would like you to test midcycle, but will understand when life gets in the way. It is hard for them to give advice on dosing when you have only preshots and no nadirs. I don't use your insulin, so can't comment on dosing. I do know it is based on the nadir, so it is hard to know whether to go up or down, without that number. For example. If he is dropping low at nadir, then you'd know he was bouncing and a reduction might help. If he is kind of high and flat, you wouldn't reduce.

TR group

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

Relaxed group

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=32

You can also certainly continue to post on Health also (especially good for your medicine question) and Lantus users will reply when they can.
 
I would also suggest going to one of the Lantus support groups.

I am fairly new myself, but found it really beneficial when I moved to the TR group.

So far, Skooter has successfully been transition from Rx dry food for IBD, to a wet food diet that does not seem to bother his IBD (knock on wood) and he was up to 5u of insulin twice a day, and as of this morning, he is at 1.75u twice a day.

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Health is sort of a place for triage - beginners get advice here on starting doses, help with testing and food. Since only Lantus users will reply to your posts about dosing, there are fewer of them here than are on the Insulin Support group forums.

I agree with Sue, I was very nervous about leaving the "safety" of the Health Forum because I grew to trust the people giving me the responses I needed. I explained it to one of my friends like this: The Health Forum is kind of like your college years say going to medical school. In the beginning you all are in the same general ed classes...eventually you each find a specialty that you want and you start breaking off into those groups, which is scary, but necessary to fully learn and understand about your specialty. To me, the support groups are the areas of specialty that you pick from. It has also been great to read other condos and look at tons of other spreadsheets to help me understand all of this better.

Would love to have you join us in the TR group, but hope you find a fit for you and Michael soon!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top