Patootie AMPS 232 +1.5 250 :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

cwm2027

Member Since 2011
Hi all.

I'm not an every day poster here as my life is ridiculously full and finding time to get on the computer after working all day and caring for my 2 (human) little ones doesn't always happen :)

But I have read and looked at lots of info on here and feel much better armed in trying to manage Patooties diabetes. I'm ecstatic about her numbers from last night and her AMPS!!! She hasn't had numbers like that in ages!! But I am nervous about giving her the 1.5u when her numbers are so low to start with. As you can see I woke up frequently last night to test her just to make sure. I've got her back on FF and now have a timed feeder so she is eating a small meal every 3 hours.

I'm so excited as I can feel that she has put on weight in the past few days (poor little thing at 7 lbs it was almost scary to pet her... her backbone and hip bones were so sharp!). I don't have a scale yet but I can tell she is heading in the right direction. Her appetite seems to be a bit more manageable as well (last time I posted I mentioned she was frantically starving all the time and would eat anything!)

Just wondering what folks thoughts are on shooting 1.5 with a 232 amps? I can't be home most of the day but she will continue to have access to food. It looked like she managed just fine last night and I should be home by +9... but still feeling nervous about it.

Can't reiterate enough how helpful I have found this site! Everyone is so supportive and informed!
 
Re: Patootie AMPS 232 Feeling nervous

Looks like she did just fine last night, look at the pretty greens at the end of the cycle! I would shoot and check her when you get home!

ETA: I am also not an 'expert'. :-) Hopefully some of the others will pop by with some advise for you.
 
Re: Patootie AMPS 232 Feeling nervous

I am not a dosing helper & see you have already shot the 1.50, which actually gave your cat good numbers yesterday--
If you have the timed feeder I, when I am not home I usually set it for +3(onset), +5( closer to nadir-my cat)-You should set a +6 or +7, just so you know the cat is eating before you get home. and that is about the time she dropped yesterday..Do you free feed Patootie? I do free feed Moonie, as it fit my lifestyle, so when I go out for long periods, I leave extra food in their dishes also..
Please try to get some tests, maybe feed earlier, so you can get a test in before work, test when you get home & at amps & pmps--
You are doing a good job--
 
Re: Patootie AMPS 232 Feeling nervous

Hi, Crisse and Patootie ;-)
I understand the nervous feeling & I wish I could make it go away.. but I know it wont until you can test her (we have all had that feeling at some point)
She should be fine based off last night's cycle, however every cycle is not the same so it is good to be able to get a test or two in during day & night when you can.
Life happens though, she has access to food & sounds like she is doing great so far cat_pet_icon
I was wondering though.. you reducted her dose to a skinny last night & then back up to a regular today.. no worries.. just curious why :?:
Have a great day!
 
Re: Patootie AMPS 232 Feeling nervous

Morning! Here is the link to your previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34535

We link our previous condo (thread) to our first post of the day so it can be clicked and anyone can read what transpired the day before. Welcome to you and Patooti! looking good! It is good that you left food out ...maybe post the +9 number when you get it, okay? Good news that she seems to be putting on some weight!

Instead of all of us asking a million questions each day, perhaps you can find a minute to make up a profile and attach it to your signature? Here are the instructions on how to go about doing that: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=17766

Can you say what meter you are using? I read that Patootie has been on insulin for 2 years...did you start out on Lantus?
(oh, you see? there I go with all the questions..LOL...sorry!)
 
Re: Patootie AMPS 232 Feeling nervous

Hi all!

I tested her about 30min after I fed her and she was 340 so I did feel pretty comfortable giving her the 1.5. Boy, she really shoots up when she gets fed! I'll do another one just before I leave at 8am and see where things stand. I have her set to be fed at +3, +6, +9 so I think I will have her low covered.

I'll put together a profile tonight when I am home from work as I have seen how helpful that can be to get some history regarding each kitty.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34479

Thanks!
 
Hurray! Her numbers at +1.5 make me feel happy :-D

Have to dash to work but she is set to be fed every 3 hours with her fancy new timed feeder. Lots of fresh water and a comfy bed (mine!) for her to lounge on. I'm going to keep thinking positive thoughts and know that things will continue to look good!!

I'll post new numbers this afternoon and get started on our profile as well!

Thanks for the support! Hope everyone has a fantastic day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top