Panicky Liver Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe P

Member Since 2021
Hi,

If you go past the optimal insulin dose and are seeing high glucose numbers due to panicky liver (but don't realize that is the reason) how would one know? Does the panicky liver eventually stop and the glucose numbers come way down? If so, how long does that typically take?

Thanks,
Joe
 
Hi Joe,
The way you know you aren’t overdosing, causing the liver dump, is by checking BG enough, and finding the nadir (lowest the dose takes the cat during the cycle). Earlier today someone asked about too much insulin looking like not enough. Your question reminded me of that.

Now, bouncing can happen when BG numbers go lower than the cat is used to - even if the number isn’t really low. Liver thinks it needs to help, and dumps glucose. It’s pretty common to continue for some time after diagnosis, and until the body learns to quit panicking with healthy lower numbers. Some cats do this for months though.

Oh now I looked at your spreadsheet. I hope you can start getting pre shot BG numbers!! You are at a dose where you need to be extra cautious to not overdose! A lot of cats finally go lower at about 3 units, and will need reductions after that. Changing doses quickly needs more BG testing.
 
Last edited:
Hi Joe I agree with @Tina Marie and Jan
You really need to start getting pre shots for both cycles

You aren't getting any tests in during the day time cycle so you have no idea how the insulin is working for Dani and how low she's dropping
I also see you are not testing her every day is there a reason you aren't?
Your last test was on 9-21?
Lantus dose is not based on the pre shots, it's based on the nadir how low Dani is dropping

We increase or decrease by 0.25 units, you may be missing the correct dose for Dani
Do you have syringes with half unit markings?
If not I would suggest you get them

Is there any reason you can't test Dani during the day?
Have you read the dosing methods for lantus
With all that I have mentioned you need to start getting pre shots every day and night, test during each cycle both day and night , follow a dosing method and not increase by 0.5 units if you ever want to start seeing better numbers for Dani
We want to help you to get Dani in better numbers :cat:

Please read the link in blue
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Looking at your spreadsheet it doesn't look like you are following either dosin methods
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
@Joe P
 
Last edited:
Hi. Thanks for all the info. Yes I have been remiss with not enough testing although the spreadsheet is not fully up to date. My only excuse is I work full time away from home and am taking care of 5 cats with no help.

I do have some other numbers that I did with an AT2 meter before I got the human meters but have not created a second sheet yet.

I'm in contact with the vet as Dani still has all the original symptoms of excessive hunger, thirst and urination. Trying to see if they think she should be screened for conditions that might be causing insulin resistance. Vet thought 3.5u was unusually high dose for her.
 
You don't need to do another SS with the past Alpha Trak meter
You do have your hands full with 5 others cats
Well we are here if you need any help just ask :cat:
 
Well 5 total including Dani, but yeah a bit much and unintentional. Actually it's fine if they are all healthy, I've taken care of as many as 9 (my 5 and 4 fosters) when I was fostering for the rescue I volunteer with, but with one sick, it becomes more difficult. I stopped fostering for now but still volunteer every other Sunday and at our adoption events.
 
You can start to think about insulin resistance after 5 units. It is superbly important though that you test before you give insulin. If you can gather your wits to measure out a dose, you can find the time to poke for a little blood and measure it. We have seen more than enough cases of hypoglycemia here from caregivers not testing beforehand. You don't want to take Dani to the ER.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top