PatJ
Member Since 2018
hello everybody, I'm hoping somebody can help me. My cat was diagnosed diabetic at the end of August this year and his BG levels have always stayed high. The vet has increased his insulin doses until they are now at 3 1/2 and although they are starting to drop a bit during the day he seems really unwell (ever since he went up to 3 units). He sleeps a lot, I know diabetic cats can get lethargic but his eyes don't look happy so I think he feels ill. He's been to the vet about it and they say he's fine. My vet wants to steadily increase his dose every week by 1/2 a unit until he maybe reaches 6 units. They increased it by 1/2 a unit on Wednesday evening and the next day he was really quiet and on Friday evening he wasn't really interested in eating so I didn't inject him. The next morning he was his old self again and I think it was because he hadn't had an insulin overdose of 3 1/2 units. I go to the vet every week with his blood glucose test results and I've tried to tell him that his numbers seemed better when he was on a much lower dose but he seems to think high numbers have better results. However, I gave him 2 1/2 units from yesterday morning and he was as bright as a button and his BG levels were 15.9 mmol/l this morning.Highly unusual. They went up to 17.9 mmol/L 3 hours later and 3 hours after that they went down to 9.0 mmol/l. Should I be worried, because I've done this without my vet knowing and I've no idea how much insulin I should give him for his next shot this evening. I really don't want to give him a high dose again because I'm sure it's making him ill, although I know I could be wrong. Does anybody have any idea about what dose to give him if his BG is below 20 this evening? I could phone my vet to ask but they would probably say continue with the 3 1/2 . I'm sorry if this is a bit garbled but I feel a bit panicky. I'd be really grateful if somebody could help. by the way his insulin is Prozinc. Thanks so much if you can help, PatJ
