? Pancreatitis?

Ana-Maria

Member Since 2018
Hello everyone!

I hope everyone is good! It's been a while since I last posted here mainly because I wanted to clear my head for a bit and see how Mimo would respond to insulin without altering his dose so much. He is now on 2 u twice a day since Monday evening and at least he came down from the horrible 400s to the 170-200s.

However, I do have a serious problem. He has been having diarrhea for 3 days now and does not seem to drink water at all (the only time I saw him drinking water was 30 mins ago in 2 days). He also threw up this morning. I thought maybe it was because of the food and I changed it yesterday but things do not seem to get better. I am afraid he has pancreatitis and I certainly do not know what to do. He is having his regular ravenous appetite but it's the diarrhea, vomit and not drinking water that really worry me.

I also went to another vet 2 weeks ago to talk about his fluctuating bg levels and she told me that her instinct tells her that he has another underlying disease that makes him fluctuate like that. And now that I am thinking about it, he could have had this pancreatitis long before his diabetes diagnosis as he also had throwing up episodes before becoming diabetic.

I am super scared and I really want to help him but I don't know what to do. I am taking him to my regular vet today although I fear he will get really mad that I ignored his dose recommendation of 4 u bid and will blame this all on me.

Could this diarrhea, vomit, and not drinking water be pancreatitis? If so, what can I do?

Thank you!

Ana and Mimo
 
I have a cat that never drinks water. She eats wet/raw food and gets plenty of moisture from her food.

Food changes should be done slowly. It can upset some cat's tummies if changes are made too quickly. Most kitties with pancreatitis are off their food, definitely not ravenous.

BG's typically move around a lot in newly diagnosed cats. Mimo is still a relatively recently diagnosed diabetic.
 
I have a cat that never drinks water. She eats wet/raw food and gets plenty of moisture from her food.

Food changes should be done slowly. It can upset some cat's tummies if changes are made too quickly. Most kitties with pancreatitis are off their food, definitely not ravenous.

BG's typically move around a lot in newly diagnosed cats. Mimo is still a relatively recently diagnosed diabetic.
Hello,

Thank you for your reply. It made me feel a bit better.
However Mimo had a BG of 440 yesterday and did not drink water. This is why I am really worried. He used to drink A LOT. Also, he's been on the same food for more than a week now. It is Animonda Diabetes with salmon (canned). I changed it yesterday to Royal Canin Diabetic (wet). He mostly never had upset tummy when I changed his food.
 
My cat Buddy has chronic pancreatitis and Fluctuating BG. This is something that has happened twice lately, it has happened before but not as much. When Buddy is flaring he does not want to eat, if he drinks water it is very little, he has very loose bowels and throws up very little.
You need to slowly change his food, changing food drastically will make a cat sick.
 
My cat Buddy has chronic pancreatitis and Fluctuating BG. This is something that has happened twice lately, it has happened before but not as much. When Buddy is flaring he does not want to eat, if he drinks water it is very little, he has very loose bowels and throws up very little.
You need to slowly change his food, changing food drastically will make a cat sick.
Hey Teresa,

Thank you for your answer! I went with Mimo to the vet yesterday for an ultrasound. Fortunately, it does not seem to be pancreatitis. However, his bowels are really inflammed and the ultrasound showed some foreign body inside of them. The vet gave him an antiinflammatory injection and an antibiotic and he seems better now.
 
Hey Teresa,

Thank you for your answer! I went with Mimo to the vet yesterday for an ultrasound. Fortunately, it does not seem to be pancreatitis. However, his bowels are really inflammed and the ultrasound showed some foreign body inside of them. The vet gave him an antiinflammatory injection and an antibiotic and he seems better now.
I am glad that your cat does not have pancreatitis, I am also glad that your kitty is better. Does your doctor have any idea why the BG spikes and what the foreign body could be.
 
I am glad that your cat does not have pancreatitis, I am also glad that your kitty is better. Does your doctor have any idea why the BG spikes and what the foreign body could be.
Unfortunately, no. He only told me to increase his dose again. The other vet that I went to to ask about his weird fluctuations told me that he may have an underlying disease that untreated may make his BG fluctuate a lot. She suspects it is his thyroid and suggested a lot of blood work done to rule anything out. However, the blood work is really expensive and for now i just don't have the financial resources anymore to do it. I just hope and pray I can get him regulated.
 
Unfortunately, no. He only told me to increase his dose again. The other vet that I went to to ask about his weird fluctuations told me that he may have an underlying disease that untreated may make his BG fluctuate a lot. She suspects it is his thyroid and suggested a lot of blood work done to rule anything out. However, the blood work is really expensive and for now i just don't have the financial resources anymore to do it. I just hope and pray I can get him regulated.
Good luck, my cat still is not regulated. I don't think if your kitty had blood work just for his or her thyroid it would be that costly, you could call them and ask for just a thyroid test, I do know you can buy thyroid pills or medicine for the thyroid in pill form from a local pharmacy that is not that expensive. If your kitty should have thyroid disease, left untreated it could case other problems.
 
Good luck, my cat still is not regulated. I don't think if your kitty had blood work just for his or her thyroid it would be that costly, you could call them and ask for just a thyroid test, I do know you can buy thyroid pills or medicine for the thyroid in pill form from a local pharmacy that is not that expensive. If your kitty should have thyroid disease, left untreated it could case other problems.
The blood work only for thyroid is not that expensive and i think that is the only one i will do. But she suggested a whole geriatric cat bloodwork package and that is quite expensive.
 
The blood work only for thyroid is not that expensive and i think that is the only one i will do. But she suggested a whole geriatric cat bloodwork package and that is quite expensive.
A panel of blood work can be expensive, tell them you only want the thyroid test. If your cat is taking 2 units of insulin do not just jump up to 4 units, do this slowly by 1/2 units of insulin, other wise you could end up with a hypo.
 
If your cat is taking 2 units of insulin do not just jump up to 4 units, do this slowly by 1/2 units of insulin, other wise you could end up with a hypo.

Yes, VERY important! Dose increases should be done extremely slowly over a long period of time. Go up in .25 increments and hold it there for several days so you can see how your kitty responds. Not sure why your vet would recommend a drastic increase that could have negative effects .
 
Yes, VERY important! Dose increases should be done extremely slowly over a long period of time. Go up in .25 increments and hold it there for several days so you can see how your kitty responds. Not sure why your vet would recommend a drastic increase that could have negative effects .
I know...i'm not increasing anyway, not now at least. I increased his dose to 2u twice a day monday evening and he is still adjusting.
 
I am glad that your cat does not have pancreatitis, I am also glad that your kitty is better. Does your doctor have any idea why the BG spikes and what the foreign body could be.
Sooo....throwing up is back again but exactly only after eating his wet diabetic food. I tried giving him raw chicken breast twice today and he ate it like crazy and did not throw up after it. I also managed to get some of his food in him only because i tried to make him eat it slowly and it was also less than he usually eats. I am really concerned about this and i really just want him to get past this "not feeling well" period because it worries me big time.
 
Back
Top