Pancreas and BG problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

weebeasties

Member Since 2018
Keith had bloodwork done and the vet said he had some "bad" numbers associated with the pancreas. We are to continue with his insulin dose and start giving him Cerenia on Monday.
His BG numbers have been all over the place lately. He is on ProZinc. Last night at his preshot test he was down to 50! Brought out the honey and food...and more food until he was back up to a safe level. That test was at the 12hr mark and he had eaten well all day. I don't understand why he was so low.
Is it possible that he is going into remission and when his BG spikes it is because of his wonky pancreas? I have to work today and I'm afraid to give him his insulin. Should I skip it again or perhaps just do a half dose?
I so scared of him dropping too low while I'm gone! I don't know if it is relevant, but after skipping his insulin last night at 6pm, giving him honey, and basically letting him gorge himself all night, his BG at 12am was 204. High but not as high as I was expecting after all that food. Any thoughts?
 
Might be worth posting on the Prozinc forum? They will probably ask what dose he is on and what his preshot numbers usually are. Are you testing before each shot? It would be very helpful if you set up a spreadsheet. It’s scary when the numbers are all over the place. Hopefully someone who can advise you will come along soon.
 
No spreadsheet. He gets 4 units every 12 hours. I decided to skip his dose this morning since I wouldn't be there to monitor him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top