Re: Should I consider testing Pablo? 5u Lantus and increasing
Nancy and Cody said:
It would help if you tell them more about him, his size, shape, habits, and any other little things.
Okay, here goes.
I adopted Pablo in December 2008 when he was turned in to a shelter because he was "diabetic." His vet records showed that his BG in August 2008 was close to 500 (however, he gets is really stressed at the vet, so I have no idea if this is accurate). There are no additional records to indicate that his BG was ever tested again or that his owners initiated treatment. He weighed 10.75 pounds When I adopted him, we started him on Vetsulin and Purina DM canned and dry at the animal hospital where I work. I did not know about him testing until months later, so he was "regulated" at the vet where he was put on 7 units of Vetsulin initially and increased to 8 units within a few days. I know eyebrows are being raised at that dose, but luckily my vet is a moron and had me using U-1oo syringes to give the U-40 insulin, so Pablo was really only getting 3.2 units. ohmygod_smile
Anyway, I digress. All of his initial curves were done at the vet and the numbers never got below 400, and his fructosamines were both bad on those high doses. By that point, I found the board and switched him to EVO wet and dry and decreased the Vetsulin dose to 1 unit BID, and I home tested a few times. Honestly, last year is kind of a blur, so I'm fuzzy on the details. In May, I switched him to BCP's PZI after I realized that the people here don't really like Vetsulin and how "harsh" it is. Pablo basically free-fed and frequently got into my other cats' dry food, so his weight increased to 13.75lb by May. I rarely tested him, and in general did a pretty poor job of treating him like I was supposed to.
I got really serious in November and started Lantus, testing before every shot and several times a day. I switched him to only "approved" low-carb Fancy Feast, and his weight is still 13.75lbs. I have increased in increments of 0.25 since December without a lot of response. I had a dental performed in December at which point his upper canines were surgically extracted. All else looks fine with him. Bloodwork seems fine. I had a full feline senior wellness profile run with CBC, Chem, T4, FIV/FELV, Heartworm Ab/Ag, and Urinalysis w/Microalbumin before the dental. He had very-slightly elevated pancreatic enzymes which neither my vet nor the dental specialist deemed significant enough to be a problem. He also had slight anemia, so I started Petinic in December too. Other than that the bloodwork looked great.
Regarding the weight gain: I have a strong suspicion that Pablo actually weighed a lot more than 10.75lb BEFORE I adopted him. He has a lot of excess skin in his "arm"pits that shouldn't be there. I know that most acrocats gain weight after dx, and I just wanted to point out that the 3lbs he gained with me may have been following a large weight LOSS with his owners. I don't know. Unfortunately, there are a lot of blanks I can't fill in because I don't know his history before December 2008.
Nothing seems to have changed in the last month except that I stopped seeing blues and greens and actually started seeing reds again for the first time in a long time. Except he seems hungrier and thirstier in the last few weeks since his numbers went haywire. Negative for ketones yesterday. Also, I have not noticed any physical changes like enlarging chin, forehead, feet, etc. And I can't look in his mouth, so I can't see if his teeth are more spaced out. The dentist didn't note any abnormalities when she examined him during the dental two months ago.
Anything pop out that might indicate acromegaly? Other than the high dose? I have access to any and all bloodwork needed at cost since I work at an animal hospital. However, my vet knows virtually NOTHING about diabetes nor does he seem interested in learning. We have a nice system going...I do any and all tests recommended on this board or that I see fit, and he looks at the results and gives an opinion. Sometimes I listen, other times I ignore his advice completely and do what I want. If we have access to it at our clinic, I can have it done. If not, and it becomes apparent that Pablo needs to see a specialist, I can refer myself from our office to a larger hospital about an hour away.
I guess I just need advice for now, especially regarding what tests need to be run currently. I know the IGF is one, and I can draw the blood and send it to the company myself next week. So what else?
Thanks for reading if you got this far into the post!