? Pablo 9/3 input requested

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole dorsey

Member Since 2017
Good afternoon and happy holiday all. Hoping to see if anyone has any insight as I'm feeling a little lost and scared. Pablo was started on insulin exactly two weeks ago today, lantus 1 u. That Wednesday his vet did a curve and based on that curve increased to two units. He said at that time he didn't want me checking his numbers, so I didn't. Into 2 units on day 5-7 of 2u was throwing up every morning of those days (this last Monday through Wednesday). Decided on own to decrease dose to 1.25 that Wednesday morning. He had an IM visit that morning and bg was 118. IM vet asked that I start checking bg in the middle of cycle during the day. During that visit his bg was 118. His numbers during the day have been running around 80-90 since switching back to 1-1.25 units and evenings are still relatively low (haven't shot a few times in evening because low). His appetite waxes and wanes but I try not o make sure he has enough calories during day. Actually starting to wonder if 1 u is too much. For example his numbers today are 80-96 and that's with not having insulin last night and being on 1u (hasn't been on 2 u since Tuesday evening/Wednesday morning. Also I know every cat is different but I'm aiming for about 225-300 calories a day if possible. His eating depends on how he's feeling that day in which times if lower I supplement with syringe. Still w newbie and any input is appreciated
 
Try to always get a preshot reading before giving the insulin. Then at least one midcyle test in the daytime cycle and a before bed test in the evening cycle. This will help to fill in your spreadsheet and give a clearer picture of what is going on.

I'm still fairly new to all of this also and don't usually give advice. Just my opinion, the one unit looks pretty good today. Maybe stay with 1 unit (unless he drops to low) to see how he does. Hopefully someone else will offer some advice. But try to get the preshot tests at least. Those are really important.
 
Thanks yes I have been doing the pre shot tests, with exception of this morning as only had few test strips left until new ones arrive today's
 
The 1 unit is looking really good but I can imagine to see a sea of green numbers is a bit uncomfortable to you. With using an AT2 meter your reduction number in 68. If it makes you more comfortable you could shoot .75 dose tonight as the goal is to get 2 shootable numbers every 12 hours. If you can continue to test tonight and he is a number that is over 90, I would try the .75 and monitor carefully.

I am glad that you scaled back with the insulin and we only increase and decrease in increments of .25 unit so we don't go over and miss the right dose.

Could you fill in the SS for the PM cycles starting 8/31 through last night for the amount of insulin you shot if any. If you don't shot always put NS for no shot into the unit for insulin so everyone including yourself knows that you didn't shoot any.

Here is what a .75 dose looks like:

upload_2017-9-3_18-40-38.png
 
Bumping up your thread. It's Labour Day weekend so the board can be fairly quiet.
Thanks, what do you mean by bumping up the thread? Also quick question but I have an alpha tracker 2. Used all the strips that came with it and ordered new ones on line. They are a different lot number but I changed the meter on the machine, as a result. Are the readings the same?
 
Bumping up means that by responding to your thread, it bumps it up to the top of the Lantus list for more eyes to be on it.

Not sure about the AT2 meter. Hope some one will weigh in about that for you.
 
The 1 unit is looking really good but I can imagine to see a sea of green numbers is a bit uncomfortable to you. With using an AT2 meter your reduction number in 68. If it makes you more comfortable you could shoot .75 dose tonight as the goal is to get 2 shootable numbers every 12 hours. If you can continue to test tonight and he is a number that is over 90, I would try the .75 and monitor carefully.

I am glad that you scaled back with the insulin and we only increase and decrease in increments of .25 unit so we don't go over and miss the right dose.

Could you fill in the SS for the PM cycles starting 8/31 through last night for the amount of insulin you shot if any. If you don't shot always put NS for no shot into the unit for insulin so everyone including yourself knows that you didn't shoot any.

Here is what a .75 dose looks like:

View attachment 30754
You are e right on the nail, the sea of green, being new and it being on lower side has me paranoid, especially with no shot the lad few evenings (I'll update ss to reflect.) the reduction. Number thats the hypo range? I got new test strips today but they are a different lot number but adjusted meter accordingly. Should I be worried that it's reliable w the lot number change? I was also thinking of scaling back tonight, so thank you; at least until I feel like I understand and hade this somewhat under control, feel like vets had me going all over the place. His appetite isn't always the best and so since the vomiting incidences evening doses scare the crap out of me with it. And wondering if I should wake to feed etc. Thank you so much for all the valuable input!
 
Thanks, what do you mean by bumping up the thread? Also quick question but I have an alpha tracker 2. Used all the strips that came with it and ordered new ones on line. They are a different lot number but I changed the meter on the machine, as a result. Are the readings the same?
I also use an alphatrack meter. Yes, sometimes the numbers on the bottle are different. You just need to make sure you change the machine to match the feline number on the bottle of strips. I also always test the first strip with the control solution to make sure it reads within the correct range (also stated on the bottle of strips). Not sure if this step is absolutely necessary, but the control solution came with my kit, so I do it each time I use a new bottle of strips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top