kate&tigger
Member Since 2012
I have been reading on the message board and other various links suggested by folks in response to my last post. Such alot of info! Very overwhelming! Thank you all for replying and directing me to good information. I have a couple of questions: What are the goal blood glucoses I should be shooting for? There seem to be conflicting opinions in different articles. One said 50 was not too low. I find that hard to believe, knowing what I know about human diabetes. Can anyone direct me to a scientific source that will back that up (something the vet will believe, in other words!)?
How much should I be feeding Tigger a day? He currently weighs about 11 lbs and I would say he is actually under weight, or at least under-muscled. I can feel his ribs and shoulder blades under his fur and his sternum is very prominent. He once weighed 14 lbs which was way too much... Currently I have opted to give him half a can of Little Friskies cat food (one of the <10% cals from carbs types mentioned on Binky's list) twice a day and about 1/4 cup of IAMs kibble a day( he used to have a cup).
His AM blood sugars-all pre-shot- have been 562, 254, 225, 427,414, 93, 378, 56, 306. His PM blood sugars, again all pre-shot have been 363, 401, 489, 143, 372, 330, 293,178,357. I started out at 3 units of levemir every 12 hrs and increased to 4 units. I stepped it back the day he hit 56 (no hypo symptoms and a noontime BS was 118. The morning he was 93 a noontime reading was 125. I confess to giving him a couple of tablespoons of extra food those days out of fear of hypoglycemia. Does it look like he is trending ok? I figured he had some rebound hyperglycemia after those lows and my feeding him extra. I have tried to hold the insulin steady at 4 units and have now segregated him from the other cats so he can't get their food. ( I have a renal kitty who needs to be able to eat more so have to have food out for her!) I am gonna watch him over the weekend and make sure the lack of extra food doesn't make a big difference. Hard to tell how much of her food he was getting.
Thanks in advance fo your help!
kate&tigger
How much should I be feeding Tigger a day? He currently weighs about 11 lbs and I would say he is actually under weight, or at least under-muscled. I can feel his ribs and shoulder blades under his fur and his sternum is very prominent. He once weighed 14 lbs which was way too much... Currently I have opted to give him half a can of Little Friskies cat food (one of the <10% cals from carbs types mentioned on Binky's list) twice a day and about 1/4 cup of IAMs kibble a day( he used to have a cup).
His AM blood sugars-all pre-shot- have been 562, 254, 225, 427,414, 93, 378, 56, 306. His PM blood sugars, again all pre-shot have been 363, 401, 489, 143, 372, 330, 293,178,357. I started out at 3 units of levemir every 12 hrs and increased to 4 units. I stepped it back the day he hit 56 (no hypo symptoms and a noontime BS was 118. The morning he was 93 a noontime reading was 125. I confess to giving him a couple of tablespoons of extra food those days out of fear of hypoglycemia. Does it look like he is trending ok? I figured he had some rebound hyperglycemia after those lows and my feeding him extra. I have tried to hold the insulin steady at 4 units and have now segregated him from the other cats so he can't get their food. ( I have a renal kitty who needs to be able to eat more so have to have food out for her!) I am gonna watch him over the weekend and make sure the lack of extra food doesn't make a big difference. Hard to tell how much of her food he was getting.
Thanks in advance fo your help!
kate&tigger