OUTDATED Test Strip drums?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori

New Member
Has anyone used outdated test strips or drums?

I use the ACCU-Check Compact plus meter.
I tested my own BG and it was normal.
Hubby tested is own BG and it was normal for him. (he is borderline diabetic)
We tested the newly diagnosed diabetic cat and her BG was in the 400's at AMPS and go lower after each shot.

So the strips appear to be working.

Will the meter give an error message if the drum is no good?
I still have 2 boxes of these drums to use.
 
Most strips work OK past their expiration date. Some of newer meters which uses a strip-like chip for coding will not allow use of a expired strip. The tests you did would say to me it is OK to use them. Strips are to sensitive to moisture so it the container was not open long ago they should be OK. If you have control solution you can try that to.
 
does the accu check compact have the chip for coding? mine is not a compact and will not work at all past expy.
i never heard of 'drum' before, what is that?
 
Per the manual the strips are self coding since the drum has a barcode that the meter reads for the proper code. Also, once opened, a drum should be used within 90 days. The meter keeps track of that but that can me reset by opening the drum door. The drum has an expiration date but per the manual it is up to the user to comply discard expired strips/drums.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top