Lisa & Nacho
Active Member
Hi everyone!
Some of you may remember me and my sugar kitty Nacho from 2017. Nacho boy was first diagnosed with diabetes back in 2017 with a BG of 524. We used Lantus and the program here and he was shortly in remission - his OTJ party was in April 2017. He continued on for many years on fancy feast and off insulin in remission.
3-4 months ago - Nacho started having skin issues on his ears/face/scratching a lot and losing some hair. I brought him into the vet and he received bloodwork (glucose came back at 241), an antibiotic and a steroid shot to help with the allergies/issues going on. His fur and symptoms cleared up well for about 2 months and unfortunately came back.
About a week ago I noticed he was trying to drink more water (specifically looking for water in the bathroom tub or toilet), so I brought him in again and they did a fructosamine test and it came back at 431 - so the vet thinks his diabetes has unfortunately returned. I started testing at home again and I am getting numbers ranging from 250-325. I got a script for Lantus and am getting ready to start the protocol again once I read over it all again.
The vet recommended prescription dry food as maybe he has a food allergy but he has been exclusively on wet for 7+ years now. Any food recommendations if he does have food allergies now?
Any tips or positive encourage please! I am a little sad that we are back here but glad I have the tools to help him.
Some of you may remember me and my sugar kitty Nacho from 2017. Nacho boy was first diagnosed with diabetes back in 2017 with a BG of 524. We used Lantus and the program here and he was shortly in remission - his OTJ party was in April 2017. He continued on for many years on fancy feast and off insulin in remission.
3-4 months ago - Nacho started having skin issues on his ears/face/scratching a lot and losing some hair. I brought him into the vet and he received bloodwork (glucose came back at 241), an antibiotic and a steroid shot to help with the allergies/issues going on. His fur and symptoms cleared up well for about 2 months and unfortunately came back.
About a week ago I noticed he was trying to drink more water (specifically looking for water in the bathroom tub or toilet), so I brought him in again and they did a fructosamine test and it came back at 431 - so the vet thinks his diabetes has unfortunately returned. I started testing at home again and I am getting numbers ranging from 250-325. I got a script for Lantus and am getting ready to start the protocol again once I read over it all again.
The vet recommended prescription dry food as maybe he has a food allergy but he has been exclusively on wet for 7+ years now. Any food recommendations if he does have food allergies now?
Any tips or positive encourage please! I am a little sad that we are back here but glad I have the tools to help him.