OTJ trial??? for Magellan???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julia Rae

Member Since 2015
Last night his BS was pmps 194/ +3,72/+6,49/+8,80
hIS AM test is 109, is this the right time to start his OJT trial?? or should I shoot?
 
With that 49 last night, I think it may be time to give it a try! I know I would! Good luck!! Maybe wait and see what his PMPS is? What time was his AMPS, and did you shoot?
 
His am was a bit late at 10:30 and he got .1, my only consern is pushing him too fast and having him relapse.
 
If he's still coming up with an occasional higher number, you could try him on a 0.05u dose...that's what I had to do with Rosa to give her the last little bit of support she needed to go OTJ. And yes, even 0.05u did push her down just under 50 in the end...she actually earned her last reduction even with only that teeny tiny bit of insulin on board!
 
If he's still coming up with an occasional higher number, you could try him on a 0.05u dose...that's what I had to do with Rosa to give her the last little bit of support she needed to go OTJ. And yes, even 0.05u did push her down just under 50 in the end...she actually earned her last reduction even with only that teeny tiny bit of insulin on board!

I'm new to fractions of a unit so please help me understand how a person can even measure liquid in that tiny increment? And with any consistent accuracy??
 
I'm new to fractions of a unit so please help me understand how a person can even measure liquid in that tiny increment? And with any consistent accuracy??
I did it by pushing on the syringe while I put the needle into the vial, then releasing the pressure off the syringe so it drew up just the very tiniest amount. There's no way I could have measured it any other way...but doing it that way actually did make it fairly consistent. Even when the markings on the syringe aren't always identical (and with most brands they aren't), doing it that way gets the same amount each time. :)
 
@Jan Radar - The dose measurement technique April described is what I was on about on your thread earlier. You get a teensy-weensy drop of insulin sucked up when you release the pressure on the syringe plunger. It is important, though, when administering the dose to keep the pressure on the plunger for a few seconds before withdrawing the needle from the tent. Doing so makes it more likely that the droplet will be delivered into the kitty successfully.
 
Hey, Magellan! Hang twenty! :D

iu
 
I also just wanted to add that when you use that technique, it's going to feel like the plunger doesn't move at all when you inject the cat. So it feels like you're not giving any insulin at all...but you are - it's just too small of a movement for you to feel.
 
April, when (or if) Shiloh earns the reduction from .1, would you suggest this for her rather than OTJ from there, given that her numbers are sometimes high normal?
 
I think it depends very much on the cat. When Shiloh earns the reduction, you could try without insulin for a couple of days, but if she starts trending upwards you might want to go straight to the 0.05u dose before her numbers get too high (I called it when Rosa hit 170 as it was higher than she'd been in a while). It's better to give that tiny drop early than to have her back up in the 300s or so before you put her back on insulin. :)
 
This is so helpful. Thanks. I always wanted to be a vet when I was a kid. Now I have real needles and my stuffed kitty to practice on so I get it right on the real one. I'll be back with questions I'm sure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top