OTJ, or not? Other cat needing more insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ekoren

Member
Hey all,

I have two diabetic brother-cats with very different responses to Lantus, and I'm trying to figure out what's going on with each of them. I only just figured out how to blood test regularly without tears.

First off, I wonder if there is a sticky or a site with better information about how you know if a cat is officially "Off the Juice," and at what point they go off of it. I searched the forum for information, but haven't figured out the right search phrase or found the right sticky.

Here are my cat-specific questions:

CAT #1: Sander went OTJ ten days ago, a little early because I went away and left the cats at a veterinary cat hotel and the vet wasn't comfortable with giving him a .1 unit dose. The vet didn't do blood testing, but since he's been home I've tested him at least daily, and his numbers are creeping upwards again. My questions: how do you know when to go from 0.1 unit to no shot? At what blood numbers do you put a cat back on the juice? How high should I expect normal blood sugars to be after an OTJ cat eats before I start thinking about shooting again?

CAT #2: Tree was moving towards a dose of .3 units twice a day before he was at the cat hotel, then since he's been back, his blood numbers are higher and I'm giving him more insulin, but can't figure out whether I should be patient at .5 or .7 units, or whether I should go a bit higher yet. Are there particular reasons for blood numbers and doses to creep down and then creep back up again?

I will double post this on the Lantus board. I find that I get more efficient general responses from the main board, and better Lantus-specific advice from the Lantus board.

Thanks,

Elisa
 
The "official" off the juice time is two weeks. Most people continue to test every few days after that for a month or so, I'm guessing like me to be sure it is real. And after that at least weekly for awhile. Some have said they then only test if cat is back to diabetic cat behavior. I'm only 3 weeks out so not much experience, still doing every few days.
I'm not familiar with your insulin, we used PZI and I did micro doses on occassion. Maisey was kind of odd, one time went really low on only .1 yet the day before she started her streak of low numbers she hit 411 - she's a cat, who knows.
From my little knowledge, it looks like you're doing fine. cat_pet_icon :YMHUG:
 
Normal BG range is 60-120 (of course each cat is different) and some may go lower or slightly higher depending on what's going on. If your cat is staying below 120 without insulin for two weeks, then yes you have an OTJ cat. However, if he's creeping above this number then keep a watch as he may need more insulin.

You said you only recently started home testing. do you have spreadsheets put together yet to help us follow what is going on? It's the only way we will be able to better help you.

But there are all kinds of reasons why BG's fluctuate - everything from Mr. pancreas not working, to food, excitement, fear, etc.

If you can give us some more information and a look at your numbers, we can provide more assistance.
 
hello! Julius pancreas 'fluttered' back to life. His readings got lower and lower with less and less insulin. After he went down under 120 on his own I tested twice a day and gave no shot if he was under 200 (he was actually under 100, but my vet said not to shoot under 200) Each kitty is different, he does not bounce much with food. This is the time to be judicious with meals and shots as your kitties pancreas may be on the mend. If in doubt and at such low doses you may not want to shoot. Testing is the only way to know where your kitty is at. I am now testing every few days.... just to keep tabs... good luck! OTJ is a wonderful place to be!
 
Everyone sets the bar on wether to give insulin or not at different points. I still test my cat every day because I find stress or infections can raise his BG for a few days. I set my point at 130 but each situation is different. At one point Nomad had no insulin for almost three weeks until he got a skin infection. After a week he was in the normal range again and has not had any insulin for two weeks now. There should also be a AOTJ catergory...Almost Off The Juice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top