OTJ one day ... & back on again!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robin&BB

Member Since 2013
(Bat-Bat was OTJ for a day only because we couldn't get a shootable AMPS for >2 hrs. - and vet wanted to see what kind of numbers she'd pop without it, as she kept going to hypo-zone after a reduction to 1.0U.)

I think Bat did fairly well, considering she hadn't had any insulin since 10:30 pm Wednesday night, 3/18. I fully expected to see an AMPS well over 350, so was pleasantly surprised to see a 323. We'll see how she does on the reduced dose of 0.5U today.

And I must say: Getting a full night's sleep last night was LOVELY. Yowza, I feel like a human being again! Funny thing, though: I woke automatically at 2 a.m. (without a set alarm) for that pm-cycle +4. Then I remembered I didn't need to get one ... ha, took me all of two minutes to go back to sleep! :woot:
 
Never underestimate the power of a good nights sleep!

Sometimes they will waffle off and on insulin for a while before they're completely willing to give it up. Be patient though, it can happen. In the meantime, it's like any other med. If you need it, you need it and you move on. When you no longer need it, good.
 
Whole new ball game. I hope getting off the meds will mean she is lower overall.
Well, Bat didn't drop much at nadir today with 0.5U, but may I should hold this dose for tonight & see if she readjusts on her own after being off the juice for 2 cycles? Then if she's still popping something in the 300s in the morning for an AMPS, maybe I'll inch her more toward 0.75.

What do you think of that idea?
 
I like it. Maybe hold the dose tonight and if still in higher numbers try fattening the 0.5 a bit? It could take a few days for the dose to take effect.
 
Remember, it takes Lantus 3-5 full days to stabilize on a dose change.
Oops, you meant ProZinc, not Lantus, right? As Bat's on ProZinc (the Lantus was in 2013). But it looks like it's taking her a little bit to settle into this 0.5 dose anyway, from the looks of things today.
 
I like it. Maybe hold the dose tonight and if still in higher numbers try fattening the 0.5 a bit? It could take a few days for the dose to take effect.
Thanks, Rachel. Yep, she's still adjusting today, so am holding for now.
 
Oops, you meant ProZinc, not Lantus, right? As Bat's on ProZinc (the Lantus was in 2013). But it looks like it's taking her a little bit to settle into this 0.5 dose anyway, from the looks of things today.
I have crap for vision and it is still in your signature; maybe take it out and only have it Bat's profile in Google Docs.
 
The nadir doesn't looks bad today on .5. I'd give it a few more cycles. Her "pattern" seems to be to take a while to settle into a dose. She has room to drop but I think I'd give her a while to see if she drops on her own before I'd increase. And then only by a smidge?
 
The nadir doesn't looks bad today on .5. I'd give it a few more cycles. Her "pattern" seems to be to take a while to settle into a dose. She has room to drop but I think I'd give her a while to see if she drops on her own before I'd increase. And then only by a smidge?
Yeah, looks like you're right about that, Sue --- check out these numbers today. Odd how her preshots keep dropping each time, yet she's gone sort of flat (all blues) through the cycle.
 
Maybe another cycle or two and if she is still in the blues, a fat .5 - on a cycle you can monitor? She is looking good. I'm betting that the high bg levels were the infection and then the meds that were high carb.
 
Hi Robin,
Bat's numbers do look good! Mitz had flat, mostly blue cycles over the weekend too, but her numbers have gone up a bit. Very odd.
best,
Joan
 
Hi Robin,
Bat's numbers do look good! Mitz had flat, mostly blue cycles over the weekend too, but her numbers have gone up a bit. Very odd.
best,
Joan
Hmm, that does look odd... Any chance that not all the insulin got in on that shot? (Happens sometimes!) Or did anything else change that you know of?

As for Bat, her pre-shots are starting to go back up as of yesterday morning. What does that mean? I have NO idea. We'll see what she does around nadir time today, but will wait to maybe fatten up her dose until tomorrow morning, so that we can both get in one more full night of sleep. (Wow, that'll make it 3 nights in a row, for a change!)

Looks like I may have to start using the U-100 syringes I have left over from 2013 (Lantus back then) & do the thing with the conversion chart (which is kinda scary, for me), as 1.0U was too much. But 0.5 is looking like too little, and these darned U-40 syringes are awfully hard to eyeball anything in between! Sure wish my eyes were better, dang it.
 
No fur shots and nothing else changed that I can think of. I'm sure the insulin is working because her numbers are still well below 300. She's just not dropping much at nadir. I won't be able to get any mid-cycle numbers beyond a PM +4 until the weekend. As long as the numbers don't start climbing higher, I'm not too worried. Just a little confused.
Just when you think you have it figured out...:confused:

I've been wondering about the U-100 syringes too but as long as I have reading glasses on, I'm pretty good eyeballing on the U-40's.

Wishing you a good night's sleep!
 
Snuck a peek at the spreadsheet. Looks like the pre shots are gradually dropping and you are getting blue nadirs. Not bad! Guess if you wanted to be daring, you could make the .5 a fat dose, on a day you can monitor. And only if you feel comfortable pushing. It'd also be just fine continuing to let her drop slowly on her own and getting good sleep every night. She most likely will continue to slowly improve.
 
Snuck a peek at the spreadsheet.
Well ... looks like we'll be in a holding pattern for a bit, eh? (See updated notes on SS.) I had actually fattened it up (but only slightly!) starting pm on 3/24, but dropped it back down again to an even 0.5 starting yesterday morning (3/26) after seeing how long it took to get her BG up at PMPS the night before. Arrgh! Why she keeps holding onto the insulin so long is anybody's guess ... She makes it hard for me to figure out where we need to be, dose-wise. <sigh>
 
You're right - she is really sensitive to such little changes in dose. The good news is that her numbers are really nice on a tiny dose and she is consistently below the renal threshold, so her pancreas can be healing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top