OT - Daylight Savings Time

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
This time again (*sigh*) is coming up on November 6th at 2:00 a.m. Does anyone know about how to adjust for this time change again? I figured I'd get this question posted in advance so that we'll have time to adjust accordingly.
 
Well, since you asked.... And, PLEASE BUMP THIS POST

For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Fall Back -- November 6th. This is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule, but we can deal with it.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the shed. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
  • Friday AMPS at 7:15
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00
 
Those of us in Arizona do not do daylight savings time. And that's a blessing for not having to adjust shot times!

BUMP!
 
This will be my first time change...missed the last one by only a little bit. Can't believe we're still here, to be honest!!
 
bump.gif
 
This IS when we move the shot times ahead, and not behind, right? We don't move them back for the fall; we move them forward for the fall, and back for the spring. Correct?

Oh, and bumping, too.
 
yes, shot times are moved forward in the fall. see sienne's post above for an example.

don't let this moving shot times drive you crazy, ok?
if you don't move your shot times forward during the week, Sunday's AM shot will only be an hour late... not a big deal in the general scheme of things.

i'm opting for the extra hour of sleep! :mrgreen:
 
I wanted to ask about moving the shot time AFTER DST.

So if I shot at 7 pm EST on Saturday night and wanted to shoot 12 hours later that would be 6 am Sunday if I changed my clocks already. Is that right?? Everytime I walk myself through the times and changing I get all mixed up!!!!!
 
Well I'm no expert but I'll take a stab at it. Yes 6am would be 12 hours later. It would have been 7 if we didn't move our clocks back. Did you use either of the formula's to adjust for our clocks being set back? If not like Jill said it's not the end of the world Jetta will get back on track. It might not even phase her that much. ECID

Now you've got me thinking. :roll:

Hope this helps. See what others say.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top