Chloe007
Member Since 2019
Previous thread:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-dka-kitty-preshot-147.226355/#post-2540039
Updating SS now (should be updated by the time any of you look).
So I keep having to pull back on Oscar's dose, and every day he keeps going lower and lower. I don't like seeing him under 80 (I know you all don't consider that a hypo, but it's lower than I want him especially since I have to leave him for hours at times). Today he dropped into the 50's and it took over an hour of gravy, Karo and stress (drove with him to the ER parking lot just in case I couldn't bring him up). I know I over reacted but he just wasn't coming back up even temporarily from the Karo. Tried honey too. This all happened at the +5/6 mark.
He's at 4u right now, that's what caused the low numbers today so I'm going to pull back even more. Thinking 3.5u, I can't risk this happening again and it feels like everyday he becomes more and more sensitive to his insulin. I think it has to do with the pancreatitis healing, his pancreas is starting to work a little better everyday so we're seeing these drops go further and further despite lowering the dose. Before he got ill, it took 6u to get him to yellows. Now at 4u were getting dangerously close to hypos.
His BG has been climbing since, unsurprisingly. He had a lot of gravy. Really didn't want another ER bill.
If anyone has any further advice on what I should do, or if anyone has experience with numbers dropping quicker than normal after DKA or pancreatitis, please chime in!
On a side note, he saw the vet for a check-up yesterday, she said he looks great. So happy about that!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-dka-kitty-preshot-147.226355/#post-2540039
Updating SS now (should be updated by the time any of you look).
So I keep having to pull back on Oscar's dose, and every day he keeps going lower and lower. I don't like seeing him under 80 (I know you all don't consider that a hypo, but it's lower than I want him especially since I have to leave him for hours at times). Today he dropped into the 50's and it took over an hour of gravy, Karo and stress (drove with him to the ER parking lot just in case I couldn't bring him up). I know I over reacted but he just wasn't coming back up even temporarily from the Karo. Tried honey too. This all happened at the +5/6 mark.
He's at 4u right now, that's what caused the low numbers today so I'm going to pull back even more. Thinking 3.5u, I can't risk this happening again and it feels like everyday he becomes more and more sensitive to his insulin. I think it has to do with the pancreatitis healing, his pancreas is starting to work a little better everyday so we're seeing these drops go further and further despite lowering the dose. Before he got ill, it took 6u to get him to yellows. Now at 4u were getting dangerously close to hypos.
His BG has been climbing since, unsurprisingly. He had a lot of gravy. Really didn't want another ER bill.
If anyone has any further advice on what I should do, or if anyone has experience with numbers dropping quicker than normal after DKA or pancreatitis, please chime in!
On a side note, he saw the vet for a check-up yesterday, she said he looks great. So happy about that!