Oscar PMPS 68 AMPS 277 Dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

oscarthecat

Member Since 2011
So last night Oscar's PMPS was 68 at 2130 and I was on my way to bed so I put out some wet food and didn't give him his 2U.

My other cat woke me up at 3:30 looking for some dry food so I put down a 1 tbsp each of Innova Evo for each cat.

Woke up this am and his BG at 0830 was 277.

Only half the dry was gone and quite a bit of wet left so despite a low BG at bedtime, he still didn't really eat last night. (I don't think either cat likes this flavor of Friskies and it was really hot today).

Gave him his 2U at 0900. Will do spot checks today when I'm around to see what's going on. I think the diabetes was brought on by stress and I am hopeful his pancreas is working a teeny bit on it's own.

So he obviously needs the insulin but what to do when his BG is too low to give it? Give 1U or .5U instead to keep the BG down overnight?

Help!
 
Welcome! We haven't stopped by to say hello before. I don't give dosing advice. However, I can point a few things out to you while you wait for someone more experienced to come by. Be sure to read the stickies at the top of the Lantus page. There is a lot of valuable information.

LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ...:http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139
LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
LANTUS & LEVEMIR - DATA READY TO SHOOT LOW NUMBERS?: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Also, you will need to get a lot more in the way of spot checks and a full curve. Lantus is based on nadir (the lowest point in the cycle), not on preshot numbers. You need to find out what Oscar's nadir is. Many cats are nadir at +6. However, every cat is different and it their nadir may move around. So, you need to try and get a full curve, testing every 2 hours, for 12 hours. I do that once a week, but those who are home during the day may do it a lot more. If you work, you will need to get some +2 and +4 at night. It will give you an idea of what direction Oscar is headed.

I know that others will jump in soon. Again, welcome!!
 
Hi there.
I saw ur post earlier and was hoping u would keep us posted on todays numbers, but i see on spreadsheet just ur amps number... Can i ask - does ur schedule allow u to spotcheck Oscar in the evening cycle?
I will let u know, we are a data driven forum and a lot of the feedback on each kitty comes from experienced eyes reading spreadsheets and of course - data/numbers
Let us know what ur schedule is like, and any other info on Oscar.
Melissa gave u good links there, print them out if u can, take a look at the rest of the starred stickies up top and floati g around here!
If ur around for a +11 test on Oscar, update here and ur spreadsheet too, hopefully others can swing by too and take a look.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top