Oscar 16/9 PMPS-103,+2-21.6,+5-82.8,

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joan & Oscar

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25063

Hi,
Oscar dived tonight, I feel bad coz' I probably should not have shot at all but I cut the dose back to .2u instead. He has since had honey (about 1/2 tspn) and 2 cans of FF, I tried to get him to eat gravy type but he would only go for the fish (low carb). His levels have come up a bit but are still quite low- when is the honey likely to wear off or will the food make up for that? It is now 1.45 am here and I will test again at 2am but worried still! I have had lowish but not like this, I retested as I thought initially it was wrong.
Any support would be most gratefully received.
Cheers Joan
 
How is he doing? I'm brand new at this so I can only offer my prayers.

Joan & Oscar said:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25063

Hi,
Oscar dived tonight, I feel bad coz' I probably should not have shot at all but I cut the dose back to .2u instead. He has since had honey (about 1/2 tspn) and 2 cans of FF, I tried to get him to eat gravy type but he would only go for the fish (low carb). His levels have come up a bit but are still quite low- when is the honey likely to wear off or will the food make up for that? It is now 1.45 am here and I will test again at 2am but worried still! I have had lowish but not like this, I retested as I thought initially it was wrong.
Any support would be most gratefully received.
Cheers Joan
 
Thanks Kimber,
He is doing Ok but it is scary - his level is fine for now but I'm not sure what might happen next. Of course he just sleeps. I have taken 911 off the message as I guess it is no longer an emergency but..not sure about the next step. Still nice to know somebody is out there - thanks. I'm new too!
Joan
 
Did he show any signs of Hypo? Many cats can go low and not show symptoms. It's been 3 hours since the low but I would still monitor. When is his normal nadir?

You handled it really well. It depends on the cat but honey/syrup can last from a couple of hours to a day. That's why you keep checking. Usually when we shoot a low number we try to get early tests (+1 or even +0.5)to see if they are still headed down and feed a little higher carb food to keep them from going too low.
 
How often did you test after seeing the 21.6?
Your SS is only showing hourly testing. When a cat dives that low, typically we give karo/honey or high-carb gravy and test every 15 min until we see a BG rise. Make a note in the "comments" column of what you fed and how often you tested. Did he show any symptoms of hypo? My Donovan never did, but those low numbers gave *me* a heart attack.

Waiting for the next test to see if Oscar is surfing high green now.

MJ&Donovan
 
Keep testing every 15 minutes and giving gravy if you can. You don't want hm getting too full and so that is why we like to use the gravy only. If they are not too full it is best if we need to keep administering the gravy to get the numbers up again...

Nice catch with that +2...(remember in the future to always check a +1 when you get an unusually low preshot number, okay?)
Many people balk at getting the +1 but it is important to know where they are at an hour after shooting a low number.
Low number=15 minute testing afterward as MJ said...

You are doing great..just keep checking him even if the number is still in the 80s.
Many kitties go right back down quickly so you cannot be sure with only one rising number, okay?
Post your next test result when you get it Joan...BREATHE! You are doing a good job!
 
Ann,
Time went quickly and he did seem fine and had eaten some food so I didn't realize so much time had passed and got a huge shock when I did test. He didn't go Hypo in fact last time when he dipped he looked much worse and the number wasn't anywhere near that low. I haven't really found his nadir yet the levels have just started to settle nicely and had hoped for a full day of testing today but had to go out so didn't get there. Glad to hear I did ok so I will just have to sit it out re honey and see.
Thanks Joan
 
I feel for the lack of sleep , Tess kept me up most of the night too. Just to illustrate how variable cats can be take a look at Tess's and Mannie's SS . Last night they had identical numbers for hours, but Michelle was feeding 18% to keep Mannie up and I was feeding 4% to 6% to Tess. Keeping them in this range is good for the pancreas, but it is a challenge to keep them from going too far. You have to know your cat's reaction to food.

If you have a kitchen timer you can set it and catch catnaps between the tests. Once the honey drops off ke could drop again suddenly.
 
Phew 104.4. Actually I did about 3 tests within the hour from +2 to +3. Then waited 1/2 hour and got 82. Actually racing around with honey, hot water, syringe, tins of food the test times all seem to run together. I haven't added this one to SS yet. Couldn't get him interested in gravy - even tried dry and dog treats!
Thanks for support. You guys are great.
 
Wow. I just looked at your SS again, and saw how similar it is to Donovan's. Soon after I switched him from Vetsulin (Caninsulin) to Levemir, he went from black/red/pink to yellow/blue/green. This may be just what Oscar needed.

MJ&Donovan
 
When it's all going on it's hard to get everything recorded. I'd get it down now, put it in you next post, or it will all become a blur. Do a recap of every test and food. You can look back on it later and see how it effected him and what you may want to do differently next time.

Trying to keep you bumped to the top for advisors to catch.
 
Joan & Oscar said:
Phew 104.4. Actually I did about 3 tests within the hour from +2 to +3. Then waited 1/2 hour and got 82. Actually racing around with honey, hot water, syringe, tins of food the test times all seem to run together. I haven't added this one to SS yet. Couldn't get him interested in gravy - even tried dry and dog treats!
Thanks for support. You guys are great.

nice catch! you're doing an awesome job, joan!
how many hours from the shot did you get that 104.4?
 
Yes Pat I will maybe need to get the dose right. I did cut it back but as I say maybe I shouldn't have given any.
Thanks for the tip about timer. Also have a good book to finish so that will help.
Thank you so much for support - I don't know what I would have done the last few weeks without this website?
Now I've started to breathe I will check out your SS's again. I do think diet and Lantus are working well but I think he should have had the evening meal earlier and I wasn't here at that time.
104.4 was +7
 
I wouldn't beat yourself up for having shot. I think the take away message is that you test early and often when you are shooting a number lower than what you have ever shot. Getting a +1 would have let you know that the numbers were heading down and you could have begun to intervene with food early. You got Oscar's numbers up, that's what's important. Like others have said, you need to monitor very closely/frequently when you get an unexpectedly low number so you are in control of the situation.

Please know that you do not have to handle a situation like this on your own. We're all here to help and we can offer guidance and support. Hitting numbers that are low, especially if it's the first or second time, can be unnerving, to say the least. Rather than wait, we'd have been happy to lend a hand at your +2.

Please let us know how Oscar's numbers look throughout the day.
 
Joan & Oscar said:
104.4 was +7
thank you for clarifying the time.

leave some food out for him if you'll be taking a nap. it's night time there, right?
sorry about the loss of sleep, but you'll want to make sure his numbers continue to rise. please post oscar's morning preshot number before shooting any insulin, k? it's possible another dose adjustment may have to be made.
 
Thank you I should have come to you earlier but it seemed to be all happening and when the family went to bed I came to you guys. However it is really hard to get them (DH & son) to realize that I need to test often when it happens, they want to help but just don't quite get it all yet.
I'm just glad i've got you all.
Cheers Joan
I will test again now.
 
131.8 @ +8. OMG I can see why you call it surfing!!
I will do a proper post at AMPS for advice thanks again folks.
Cheers Joan
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top