Oreo 7/27

Status
Not open for further replies.

cjaubz

Member Since 2009
Hi
Oreo is slowly settling into our house and is starting to investigate around and meet civil Sophie and drooled tundra
Background she was adopted sat and Sun I decreased her dose significantly after a 49 reading (she had access to dry which she doesnt here - low carb canned only) She of course bounced and I upped her dose just a bit and held.
Last night I converted to100u syringes (please double check my conversion in ss). This morning she is too low to shoot amps 112. Did I make a mistake on the conversion or the increase?
Thoughts?
Thanks
Cj

P.s. I know I don't have much data to go from hope to get a curve or at least mid cycle readings this weekend
 
I think your conversion is okay. In a U100 syringe, .5u is equivalent to U40 .2u. So 1.5 U40 is 3.75 on U100. It's actually easier to dose in multiple of .2u with the U100--no estimation at all is needed.

If you're switching over from dry, the need for insulin can change dramatically, so just keep an eye out. You can always "chase" the higher BG--keep checking and when she's over 200 you can dose. You may want to reduce to 1u; you actually don't want to increase a dose on a bounce--you should hold or even reduce.
 
I'm with Lisa. One of the differences with PZI is that you don't shoot through the bounce. With no overlap, you figure that the low ps is directly related to the dose in the cycle before, so you reduce. If you can't "chase" the dose to 200 today because of your schedule, then skipping is best. But tonight, your preshot can be high because of the 24 hours since the last shot, so still reduce even on the higher preshot. (so as to not set up the same scenario tomorrow am - a preshot too low to shoot.

Shed and non shed insulins are different, but you'll catch on!
 
Thanks for the insight just trying to understand the difference between the insulins. Fortunately I caught her on a rebound at +1 at 275 and gave her 1u. So it sounds like I need to give the rebound 3-5 days to clear and leave her at 1u and get some mid cycle readings this weekend. Did I get it right?
Thanks everyone for all your help!
Cj
 
A convenient dose would be 1.2 because it lines up to 3.0 on the u100 syringes. If Oreo gives you a rising and shootable number at your normal PMPS tonight, you could get back to your normal schedule.
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top