? oregano 9/11 pmps 279, +3 277

wade

Member
hi folks, we have moved oregano from the libre2 sensor (too many false crash readings, likely corrupted by her sub-cue fluids) to the relion handheld. she tests very well, and nibbles a churu while i prick and test her. no issues at all, but after 5-7 pricks per day her paw pads are already starting to roughen up. any advice there? do you just keep alternating pads and prick through the little scabs and toughening areas. again, she doesn't protest at all, but i'm concerned that in short order those pads are going to be too tough to puncture repeatedly.

i know ears are an option and can work those into the rotation as well but am wondering if the same scabbing/scarring/callousing issues are going to occur there. what are options there that y'all have found work?

thanks for all the help and advice re this relion transition. has been much better and reliable.

--oregano and wade
 
Wish I had some knowledge for you. We just use alternating ears and locations on the ears. I always worry about the same - it doesn’t seem to bother Binx but does it hurt and does it scar badly? He seems to continue to bleed just fine and we’ve been testing/on TR for almost a year now and he continues to be okay. Interested to see what others have to say! Glad the switch up has been working well for you both!
 
I have seen others use and recommend all natural, pure coconut oil to rub on those sore spots. It will help moisten the pad and assist with healing. Happy to hear the switch to manual testing has gone well.
 
Testing the edge of the ears was my preferred choice and even after 8 years of multiple ear pokies (too many to count and add up!) I never had any callouses, scabbing or scarring. In fact, you’d never be able to tell his ear was being poked. I found it helped to fold and press a cotton pad lightly at test spot (cotton pad is folded on top of ear so that both sides of ear is in between if that makes sense) for about 10 seconds or so after each test. Not sure if Oregano lets you press and hold a cotton pad on her paws but it might help since sometimes you can get a little residual bleed. Maverick was always very easy going about everything, except the one time I tried to test his paw. I think that was the only time he ever hissed at me, so I said nope, no more paw pads :p
 
Back
Top