? Oral hyporglycemic

CJG890

Member Since 2020
Good Afternoon,
Our Phoebe started on 2U lantus and then increased to 3U about 3 weeks ago. I send the bg curve to the vet last week and she responded with "The next step is to consider an oral hyporglycemic" of which I am to pick up the prescription today.
I have read some of the research articles that this is not a preferred method of treatment for diabetes in cats and so I am wondering if going to a higher dose of Lantus would be preferred.
Thoughts? I just emailed the vet with some questions regarding her decision and suggesting that we are more than willing to continue to admister the Lantus. I will see what she says but need to be prepared to respond (just in case).
 
Do you know the name of the oral medication? At any rate here's a thread regarding an oral glycemic control medication called Glipizide. Link
Some other folks may be around shortly to offer their opinions.

If it were me....insulin, low carb diet, regular home testing and following one of the Lantus dosing guidelines is the way I'd go. Holding and adjusting Phoebe's doses according to one of the guidelines, is very beneficial. When kitties get use to higher #s it can take some time, with consistent dosing, to see the effects. It may appear nothing is happening in regards to #s, when smthg is taking place. Filling in the gaps on the SS is the best way to actually see what's going on. :)
 
Interesting you should mention this! I was just reading an article today about studies being done using oral meds to control diabetes in humans...none of them worked very well. The conclusion of the study was injection insulin works best because it's released into the bloodstream without the interference of digestive processes which caused the medication to fail miserably.

I think I'd tell the vet, thank you very much...but I'm going to stick to the Lantus at this time. Not a good idea to experiment with numbers like Phoebe has.

Briere Fur Mom has given you some very sound, well proven advice - that has helped hundreds (possibly thousands) of cats get to remission. Early on is your chance for that!
 
Is your vet telling you how much Lantus to give? Your dosing doesn’t make sense either. For example we increase here initially at least in .25 increments. So I don’t understand why her dose was increased from 2.5 to 3.0 so fast even if you increased by .50. You got a nadir of 73 which was good. You want to see numbers between 50-100.

What are you feeding her? Please read the yellow stickies. Start with how Lantus and depot drugs work. Look at our dosing methods. I bet she has you using RX food as well. Kudos that you are testing at home. It’s way too soon to give up on Lantus.

Oral drugs don’t work for cats. Lantus and Levimar work best. As mentioned above some have tried one but I think those were high dose cats. I actually think sShe might be on too much insulin.
 
quick update - and thank you everyone for your advice. Phoebe has had diabetes in the past and went into remission when we switched to wet food (ff). His diabetes returned recently (during covid) and he was actually very sick with pancreatitis. He still eats FF and we have eliminated all his treats.
During this 2nd bout of diabetes, we started with 2 U and after a few weeks, it was increased to 3U. I decided to give him 2.5 units based on the many discussions in this group. The vet, when I asked, said it was ok to just go to 3.
Today our vet responded to my questions, that she will send our case on to someone and get back to us. So at least she is acting on my concern.
 
I suspected as much (about previously going into remission). But you can get Phoebe to remission again, although this time might be a bit more challenging...and now with the history of pancreatitis on top of it...

I hope your vet with put you in touch with an Endocrinologist specialist...there are experts out there in the field. In the meantime, proceed with being as consistent as possible. Please continue to post your daily condo here. Other folks will comment and provide support and guidance along the way.

Have a good evening!
 
Back
Top