Danielle Hrubiak
Member Since 2015
Just got off the phone with the most recent vet I have used (who I don't claim as "my vet" because I do not like them very much--have yet to find one around that I do though).... She snidely asks me who is instructing me to change doses or if I am following my own lead and proceeds to tells me I should be waiting 2 weeks in between changing doses and that my optimal goal should be just to keep BG level below 250 and she would be ecstatic. She said aiming for below 100 is setting myself up for failure and a goal I'll never meet.
Can someone tell me what the range I should be hoping for so I know if my dose is doing its job or if I should continue to slowly increase dose? And what if I reach a good nadir but all other readings are high throughout the day. That can't be good, right? Isn't the ultimate hope for the cat to be in low numbers throughout the entire day?
She also said I could have ruined the vial of insulin by rolling it too much and allowing it to warm up a bit each time. Is this true?
I hate speaking with that office. I am always left confused and unsure if what I am doing is right or wrong.
Can someone tell me what the range I should be hoping for so I know if my dose is doing its job or if I should continue to slowly increase dose? And what if I reach a good nadir but all other readings are high throughout the day. That can't be good, right? Isn't the ultimate hope for the cat to be in low numbers throughout the entire day?
She also said I could have ruined the vial of insulin by rolling it too much and allowing it to warm up a bit each time. Is this true?
I hate speaking with that office. I am always left confused and unsure if what I am doing is right or wrong.