Opinions pls on these BG stats :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

carmen

Member
Hi! Just starting home testing - got a bit of a scare the other day with v low figures (3.2/2.9 or 57)...was at the vet the other day for a fructosamine, and he measured Mith's blood there - which normally comes out HI as he's so stressed - it was just 8.2 (147) !! So he said drop from 4u x 2 a day to 3u and leave food out. I did so, but now his numbers seem to be climbing again and his peeing and drinking loads -- do you think I should give him his 4u again in the morning but leave food out in case?? (I won't be home until his next jab is due) or risk him on 3u and speak to the vet? Just worried as he's been DKA twice and seems prone to ketones -- none tonight, but it's scary seeing him back at the water bowl all the time. In case the link to my spread sheet doesnt work -- this morning before his injection he was 19.4 (349), this evening B4 injection he was 20.9 (376), about 2,20 later he's dropped to 15.4 (277) so ive lifted all the food and wont let him eat anything else tonight as i doubt it's going to drop super low now.

Thank you all :)


https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... l=en#gid=0
 
Hi Carmen,

Welcome back! The spreadsheet you have attached is the one that is your private copy. You need to go back to it. Choose Share in the RH top corner. Then Publish as a Web Page, then check the Start Publishing page. You will see down in the box an url with "pub" in the middle. Highlight and copy it, then come back to FDMB, delete the url in your signature and paste the new one in.

Once we can see that, we can help much more with dosage ideas.
 
Yup! we can see it now :-D Can you measure out half way in between and give 3.5u? A 57 isn't too low, but it is a number to keep a check on. Usually when raising and lowering doses, we advocate not doing it anymore than 0.5u at a time, and many do it in 0.25u increments. Most cats can have dramatically different numbers with such small changes, so changing 1u at a time can cause you to miss the optimal dose.
 
Hi - I can try - trouble is the caninsulin syringes dont have half marks so it's just trying to judge it by, well judgement! I think I may do that though and leave food out as a just in case as i wont be there. Today when i got home there was nothing left in any bowl! I do have another 2 cats so who knows who ate it all! Mith seems to be a bit more settled now - he's lying next to me cleaning his tail :) though i have a feeling the moment i move off the sofa, he'll jump up hopeful of getting some food...

even when diabetics are regulated my vet says they always tend to eat and drink more - is this everyone else's experience??
 
Yes! Now we can see it.

Well, it is hard to say. Consistency really helps in this whole process. On 2/14 no insulin, on 2/15 no preshot number but 148 an hour after the shot? Then 15 that night? Am I reading it right? ( I know you had some meter issues so I am not sure which numbers you think may have been off.)

I don't use your insulin. Virtually no one here does. Canninsulin (called Vetsulin in the US and Canada is no longer available. It has been taken off the market because of consistency problems.) Canninsulin is still used in Europe and some of our GB members do use it. When you call Diana, you can see if she does. If she does, she would be a great resource for you. Or maybe she will know someone else who does on the board.

But in general terms, I would stay at the 3 units for a couple days. (Today's higher numbers could be a bounce from yesterday's low numbers) You need to get a preshot every time - especially with your kitty's history of interesting numbers. You need to know it is always safe to give the dose you are planning on. And then somehow you need to get some mid cycle numbers in - around +4, +6. I know you have a different work schedule, but if you can get them in when you are home, day or night, it will really help.

This whole thing is about data. You can figure out what is happening with the insulin if you test often enough and keep track. If you just test every so often, you can miss a vital part of the picture.
 
Hi -- no he's had insulin everyday! but yes figs are inconsistent as im just starting, as when his jab is due he's just a nightmare and will not stay still, hence now, armed with treats, i'm trying to get him used to being jabbed in the ear :)

i'll see what his figure is in the morning, i see what you mean about maybe letting it all settle down - i am so paranoid about ketones after seeing how ill he was before, but i must keep reminding myself that he'd been on only 2u x 2 for weeks for that to happen. Caninsulin does seem to be the one of choice here -- i know they just pulled a diff brand from the market so more people are being put on C. The only other one my vet mentioned was Lente, but he doesnt want to jump to another one too quickly as it means starting all over again!

I'll let you all know how he does - once again THANK YOU!! I feel a bit calmer now - this cat is making me v sleep deprived :shock:
 
Just wanted to add that it looks like on the spreadsheet that the 15 is probably a typo since the number was in the 200s the hour before.... probably a 150something.... which is why I suggested splitting the difference. But Sue is right, testing before ever shot and a spot check in between is the best way, if possible. Testing prior to giving insulin makes sure that it is safe for you to give the insulin. Our kitties do like to surprise us sometimes! :shock:
 
Check back in later. We have some people who used Vetsulin once and I asked one to check in on your thread.

About the testing. Have you tried the Kitty Burrito - wrapping him up in a towel with only his head showing? Be sure to give him treats every time you poke, successful or not.
 
Since you are in very capable hands when it comes to insulin and dosing I will answer your other question.
At least as close as I can. My Max is OTJ so not just regulated but actually in remission. He eats and drinks just like all of my other cats, no more and no less. Well he does eat less than one of my non-diabetics, but Patches is a piggy so he doesn't count. Don't know if it differs with cats that are just regulated as opposed to those in remission.

Hope that helps some.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Carmen wrote " Just worried as he's been DKA twice and seems prone to ketones -- none tonight, but it's scary seeing him back at the water bowl all the time. In case the link to my spread sheet doesnt work -- this morning before his injection he was 19.4 (349), this evening B4 injection he was 20.9 (376), about 2,20 later he's dropped to 15.4 (277) so ive lifted all the food and wont let him eat anything else tonight as i doubt it's going to drop super low now."

Hi Carmen and welcome, to you and to your baby Mithras.
I was asked to pop in and have a look at your thread and spreadsheet, having also been a caninsulin user and long time member of the board here.
You have been given excellent support already.

I see you have had ketones and DKA, so scary, I can perfectly understand the concerns you are having and glad you found us.
When you next post, could you also add- 'DKA history' to your heading? You will get more eyes who have been there to offer their support as well. :)

Way to go on testing at home. It makes all this so much easier.

I do not see anything that looks like rebound here and I am concerned that you are seeing those higher 300s again while giving the 3 units BID.
I would certainly consider moving to 3.5 units and let your vet know what you are seeing as the preshots rise at 3 units.
There are a few doses between 3 units and 4 units , 3.25, 3.5, 3.75 etc. that may see the levels better without a scary level at peak like at the 4 unit mark.

4 units was giving him much time in healthy numbers but that lower day you had of 57 I know can be worrying when away from home with this fast acting insulin so need to find a comfortable dose for you and that works for him.

Ketones develop from
A:lack of insulin getting where it needs (not just high blood glucose levels)
B: lack of calories being utilized by the cats body
c: and often some form of infection.

Therefore trying to find the balance of a dose that keeps those levels down is key without going too low.
**********Please do not with hold food at this time of managing this. He needs those calories.
Adjust the insulin to deal with the food need be, but he needs that food right now.

A few questions for you....
Has he had any other medical issues like the need for a dental, or a possible urinary infection brewing?
How old is he?
How did you realize he had something wrong?

Forgive me if you given all this history before.

The amount of hunger and thirst worries me as well.
An unregulated cat will not be utilizing its food and calories well, so getting a lot of food in, that has the calories he needs right now is another important piece in keeping the ketone monster at bay.
Keeping hydrated is also important. You can check his hydration levels by pulling up the scruff of his neck, like a tent, and letting it go. It should snap back into place quickly. If it does not, this could be an indication he is becoming dehydrated and needs to be addressed with your vet. My cats hate me doing this, but I try to make it pleasant as I check them and then rub them with a kitty massage on their shoulders :)

What are you feeding at present? How often and how much?
Honestly in my opinion, I would pretty much be feeding on demand until things level out and you are well and truly clear of ketones.

There are some tips to get this insulin to work better for you. I know you folks in the UK have a tough time convincing the vets to change it up. Here is a link with some helpful ideas about food timing, dose changes etc to help caninsulin work most effectively.
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=302

Caninsulin is actually giving you guys quite a shallow curve..meaning that the preshots are not screaming high in the 400s and your nadir is not dropping a long way down from there. This is a good thing. It makes me feel personally, you are very close to the dose you need right now.
I would really consider that change up to 3.5 before the preshot levels rise up anymore.

Nadir/peak is often abut 4-6 hours after the insulin has been given as you were seeing at the vets office.

As his pancreas hangs in lower levels under say 220 and has a chance to heal, you may need to adjust the dose downwards, but always be mindful that ketones are in his history and please always let the board know when asking for advice, what you guys have gone through. We support you differently with DKA history than the basic 'start low and go slow method'.

I usually suggest a "do not shoot" number of about 180 for a new member with caninsulin. Therefore if you have a lower than usual prehsot and it is under 180, wait to give insulin, or reduce the dose.
However, I would discuss this with your vet as well and get his input about what is comfortable for you. I would think a little lower "do not shoot " level may be necessary for you guys like 160, or even 140, but you would want to reduce the dose first.
Just a heads up there.

The insulin goes in, lowers the blood glucose, peaks, then runs out and the levels go back up. This pendulum swing is what we deal with every 12 hours and try create as gentle a swing as possible. How you get there is the finetuning you are doing now. It does get easier..promise :)

Please keep asking questions, read through the faqs and return to them and....
**** test before every single preshot, within thirty minutes of food and injection, and spot checkas you can- along with your vigilant daily ketone testing.
You have been through hell , DKA is so awful, and still have your baby with you, which is a huge testament to both you and your vet.
Now lets help you understand all this so you can have your kitty back to a thriving happy member of your family.

Do you have any questions from all that? :)
Does this make sense?

Kimmee
 
I also wanted to add....

If you make the testing as calm as possible, play a little classical music for a while first so you are feeling calm as well or whatever works... ( I know it sounds funny but these things help :) ) and then talk to Mithras, tell him what you are doing and why and make a huge fuss when you are done with a low carb treat everytime, he will learn to associate this time as a bonding time with you that helps him feel better and that he gets treats from.

I used to sing to Abby , telling her what I was doing and why. It helped.

The burrito towel wrap works well for some, others need to poke the ear and then catch the blood in their fingernail before the cat loses patience and takes off.
I used a tongue depressor. I would brush abby with it calmly, then hold it behind her ear for the poke and then grab the blood drop with it to stick the test strip in, Abby hated the test strip and meter up to her ear. I freehanded with a lancet, no clicking pens would work either.
I had some great moments where my walls would end up splattered wth teeny drops after she shook her head to avoid the meter..sigh....lol.
Holding onto the ear firmly for a few seconds helps to lessen any soreness and bruising as well as preventing a paint makeover.

Hang in there.... :) One day soon you will be helping new members as well with all you are learning and sharing your stories.

Kimmee
 
hi carmen
just popped in hee to see if you were posting ,as sue gave you my telephone number i believe and i wanted to see what was going on!
first of all, i must say that you do seem t have a good handle on the bascs - it is so difficlt at first to get your mind round everythng. but as we say here, try to keep calm and breathe, and thngs do become easier.

also - sue suggests here that you ask me about caninsulin - please nte that i do not use it. i do nt have a diabetic cat. i came to this board when my precious boy tom becam poorly and was eventually diagosed with a conditio called acromegaly, whic was very hard to treat and not related to pancreatic fluctuations. diabetes symptoms were just one way the disease manifests and although i did use insulin, im afraid my experiences would not help you at the moment. i lost tom to kidney failure on 8 march 2008 - nearly three years ago :cry: and if there is one good thing to have come from the experience it is that i feel privileged to have met some wonderful people n fdmb who are amazngly kind and helpful

so going back to caninsulin - i know this is the insulin 'of choice' for many uk vets, but it is not ideal as it has a quck onset and short duration, ie the insulin takes effect quickly and is used up quickly. we used to prefer pzi but i understand that there are prblems getting hold of it these days. i think you just have to work with your vet and the suggestins given here and see how the insulin works fr yu over a period of time. one day is not necessarily a reflection of an insulin's effect, there are oter factors - food eaten, stress etcv - whichall play a part. a curve - several readings done at reglar intervals throughut a day - will give yu a good idea though of how the insulin works in your kitty, and will give yu the info yu need to adjust dose etc

i apoogise if i am repeating what others have said but as you can see my typng s terrible because i have a wrist injry whch akes using the keyboard or spending much time online v difficult. and while i cant better the practical advice given by others ere, i am at the end of the phe and happy to talk to you if you need a bit f moral support from anoter uk-er or if you have a crisis of any kind. i cant proimise to help but i can try.

best of luck
diana - in surrey, uk
 
Hi Carmen
I wanted to post earlier but couldn't log on at work as I needed my password and couldn't remember! :?

I haven't used Caninsulin, but looked after Pheobe for several years (she had acromegaly so big big doses) and now, care for her brother Murphy who has decided to be diabetic as well (but on small, small doses)! We use PZI and will be for a little while yet, which is slightly different to Caninsulin, but I just wanted to say that if you just feel like a chat about things, then please don't hesitate to let me know. I'll send you a PM with my number. (Saturdays, or Friday or Monday eves are usually best).

Its great that you're home testing. I think I've been lucky with Murphy, and Pheobe too, but I remember the struggles in the first few days with Pheobe she was totally wild, Murphy however has been different, I think its just because I'm more relaxed with him (he also gets those kitty massages! :). You really will be able to test in your sleep soon and I'm sure Mithras will calm down as well...

BTW - It would be useful to know what you are feeding, - that can make a major difference.

I hope you and Mithras are doing well. And don't forget if you need that chat!

Steph
xx
 
THANK U EVERYONE!! XX

Mith is back up at 4u x 2. im still leaving food out for him, which is prob pushing his blood up during the day, but better safe than sorry. he's on wet food only BUT since his lows, its biscuits which im leaving out when i go to work, he seems to go for that and ignore meat when his blood is low - and he's never liked biscuits so that says something! his levels are still all over -- and i understand the caninsulin argument, it does seem to be an aggressive, but short lived insulin. but im not going to take him off it yet - he's going back to the vets for another curve in a week - be interesting what that shows. his last fructosamine came back at 468 or something, which was better than last time but still only 'fair' hence another curve. i am home testing - the problem isnt so much wriggling, ie, i dont need a kitty buritto (he'd freak out at that) its just that he will not keep his head or ears still, poor little boy. and he always gets a thrive treat (100% dried chicken or fish lumps) which is is obsessed with -- so hopefully one day, he'll link the two! but for now he's a god weight (4.2k - he had dropped to 3.4!) but still drinking a LOT and peeing, but touch wood, the higher insulin is keeping the nasty K's away...

REALLY appreciate all your support :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
It sounds like you are relaxing more and feeling more confident.

If he bleeds and moves away, you can get the drop of blood on your fingernail and test it there.

His numbers are still all over the place. It would be great if you could get a +5 either during the am or pm cycle daily and a curve at home will also help you see how the insulin is working. Next day off, try for a number every 2 hours or so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top