One pupil dilated, one is normal / small - help!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Traci and Boomer, May 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Traci and Boomer

Traci and Boomer Well-Known Member

Is this an emergency? My Mom's cat Francis has this right now. She says one pupil was dilated and the other tiny, then over time the tiny one got to normal size. She called me (yeah, I'm an expert) She says he seems fine. He's eaten, napped, wants to be pet and is grooming. I told her to call her vet to ask if this sounds serious but she says no one is available. She's afraid if she calls an ER vet that they'll say to bring him in and charge her a huge fee. Any advice? I'll try to google it too but it's a weird subject to google.

2. Hillary & Maui (GA)

Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

no advice, hope you get answers soon.

3. traceyg

traceyg Member

Hi, it could be a number of things. The cat needs to go to the vet but most likely not at this moment. If could be high blood pressure, could be a bruise on the eye. It could be an inner ear infection. It could be Horner's Syndrome. My suzie had this problem. Most of the time it is something they can do something about if you don't wait around and get him to the vet. However you don't need to run there at this moment. It is not that unusual but it is usually a syptom of something else that is goin on in the body. Treat it like a cold. Don't panic but get the cat to the vet as soon as you can. Hope that helps

4. Traci and Boomer

Thanks! She called a vet she knows and was told to bring him in tomorrow as long as he's acting normal right now. I've looked into it a little and it doesn't sound good...it could be a lot of things. Incidentally the cat in question is Francis, the cat that FDMB helped go OTJ thru me posting here for Mom when she didn't have the internet. I told her to test his eye for light sensitivity to see if it closed - I read that online.

5. traceyg