Tina & Sammy
Member Since 2010
Hi everyone,
Sami and I haven't been here for quite some time, but lately Sami has had a bout of High Glucose, I believe at least in part due to the illness and passing of another feline family member.
Anyways, I am nervous about shooting tonight. Over the last couple of days I haven't been extremely happy with Sami's numbers and this morning she was back up to 600. I went against protocol and gave her 1 full unit this morning because her numbers were so high and the half unit didn't seem to be doing enough. And I test often. But now she has dropped from 597 AMPS to 161 (+11).
I am feeding her now and I really do have an hour before I need to give the PM shot, and I know her sugar will rise after eating, but I am nervous about giving a half unit.
Here are how her numbers went today:
AMPS 597
+2 - 502
+4 - 441
+6 - 345
+8 - 306
+10 - 216
+11 - 161
No matter what, I will get up several times over night to test, but I won't be able to test as often tomorrow during the day because I will be at work.
What do you recommend? The few times over the last 4 years that Sami has needed insulin she has gotten two shots and has regulated naturally and was again OTJ. This bout has been going on since 1/9, but there were about 5 days in there that we stopped insulin because we thought she was going too low. So technically since 1/9 she has only been on insulin 10 days during this time and on 1/12/15 she went from 500 PMPS to 90 at AMPS the following morning, I didn't shoot that morning, but then she spiked back up to 525 on the evening of 1/13/15, which is why we pulled back on the insulin. Because we figured she went lower during the day when I couldn't test because I was at work.
Here is a copy of her spreadsheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Al6Ca0hrotiedEI4MnVfRGhUd3NESDdNMms1c0swblE&usp=sharing
Sami and I haven't been here for quite some time, but lately Sami has had a bout of High Glucose, I believe at least in part due to the illness and passing of another feline family member.
Anyways, I am nervous about shooting tonight. Over the last couple of days I haven't been extremely happy with Sami's numbers and this morning she was back up to 600. I went against protocol and gave her 1 full unit this morning because her numbers were so high and the half unit didn't seem to be doing enough. And I test often. But now she has dropped from 597 AMPS to 161 (+11).
I am feeding her now and I really do have an hour before I need to give the PM shot, and I know her sugar will rise after eating, but I am nervous about giving a half unit.
Here are how her numbers went today:
AMPS 597
+2 - 502
+4 - 441
+6 - 345
+8 - 306
+10 - 216
+11 - 161
No matter what, I will get up several times over night to test, but I won't be able to test as often tomorrow during the day because I will be at work.
What do you recommend? The few times over the last 4 years that Sami has needed insulin she has gotten two shots and has regulated naturally and was again OTJ. This bout has been going on since 1/9, but there were about 5 days in there that we stopped insulin because we thought she was going too low. So technically since 1/9 she has only been on insulin 10 days during this time and on 1/12/15 she went from 500 PMPS to 90 at AMPS the following morning, I didn't shoot that morning, but then she spiked back up to 525 on the evening of 1/13/15, which is why we pulled back on the insulin. Because we figured she went lower during the day when I couldn't test because I was at work.
Here is a copy of her spreadsheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Al6Ca0hrotiedEI4MnVfRGhUd3NESDdNMms1c0swblE&usp=sharing